We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Royal Oak

Church Street, Kington HR5 3BE, England (Formerly The Swan Inn)
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kington
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Royal Oak
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

10 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 10: English reviews
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

the brief menu still has plenty of variety and food to suit all. There are many innovative touches (we loved the shallot onion rings) and modern presentation applied to well-cooked food. The beer, gins and wine were good also. we enjoyed all 3 courses. All in an interestingly laid out setting with modern tables but a relaxed range of settees... More 

Helpful?
Thank dodge47
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed March 2014 for one night unfortunately. Overall a pretty terrible place to stay, mold in the coffee machine sachet receptacle, half finished paint jobs, unbelievable junk room, old tyres in car park, half built/demolished shed, ash trays outside full of water and cigarette ends, broken fencing in car park, virtually no cereals at breakfast (old and nearly empty containers),... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James T
SEAN B, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Well thankyou for your review. AS you were made aware on arrival we were in the middle of moving so things may not be as they should of which we apologised and can only apologise again. Previous reviews do not add up to the experience that you suffered..again we apologise for the dreadful stay you had but if WE had... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kington hotels

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Please be aware that this establishment is not a pub anymore, but a tea room which shuts around 6pm which still has the old pub bar serving up to 3 real ales. If you arrive when it is dark you may find no lights on and the entrance to the car park may be blocked with the owner's car which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita1967
SEAN B, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are sorry we were so disappointing for you we do not like our guest shaving a bad experience , however as a KGB budget holiday and fairly new to the scheme we do like to have feedback from our residents, yes we do have a problem expecially when we are busy most weeks with B... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I Went to the swan inn for a business trip, it was January so very cold but when I returned from work a warm fire was lit and I was able to relax in front of it with a cup of tea from a little china cup and saucer which was a nice touch, as we're the fairy lights and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissaaaaaaa1979
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in December on a particularly cold weekend, unfortunately heating wasn't working, but as were very busy and returned in the early morning after attending a family occasion, was too late to inform anyone. Despite the cold had a very comfy bed, and a restful nights sleep, room overlooked a lovely Kington Street, and was very peaceful. Having breakfast in... More 

Helpful?
Thank hairdy
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

An excellent family run hotel, in a central location in Kington. The rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable. The food was great and a choice of 3 real ales:-) Would stay there again no problems:-) You are made to feel very welcome.

Helpful?
Thank aberwelsh
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have been thinking long and hard about how to rate this place and I suppose I have decided to be harsh in some respects......... Firstly do not be put off by the fact I have only rated it 3 out of 5. There are very specific reasons for me doing so and I will explain. However I would like... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Darren S
Ledbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I booked a room here as I was attending a wedding in the town. I booked a double room and it was lovely the bed was really comfy and it had a good sized en-suite. In fact when we were let down by another hotel in town, myself and 10 of my colleagues were welcomed for lunch even though it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma R
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The welcome we recieved started with the first phone call to Lynne. During the whole booking and confirmation there was no doubt that we'd be well looked after. Our husbands were walking the Offa's Dyke path for Charity and we had decided to intercept them for a night, taking the children to give them a lift and spur them on.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pebbles P
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This was a curious pub / B&B on a recent cycle tour. The rooms are fine although some of the common parts are a bit tired. Unfortunately when we arrived we were rather cold and our room had it's window wide open with no way of turning the heating on (it was under 10 degrees). We were given an electric... More 

Helpful?
Thank DKirton
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#4 of 12 in Kington
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bench Mark B&B
The Bench Mark B&B
#3 of 12 in Kington
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Firs Cottage Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Newburn Farm
#10 of 12 in Kington
4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
17th Century Inn and Bistro, ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Church Street, Kington HR5 3BE, England (Formerly The Swan Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Price Range: $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Kington, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing