We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

625 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 602: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Always superb value for money here. The paper mill pub is right on the doorstep- very good. Breakfast is basic with a more limited choice but it is ok. Yrain links to London Euston are over the road at Aspley st. Only 30 mins to Central London.

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Hemel Henstead for the second time to visit Harry Potter Studios which is only 10 mins drive away. There is also a station opposite which you can get a train to London in under 30 mins. It is a nice and friendly hotel very clean and service is very good with a free Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin S
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at HI express as a family and booked 2 rooms, which were next door to each other. Rooms were immaculate and spacious, staff really helpful and provided great knowledge of the area. We went to Harry Potter Studios, and the hotel is perfect to go there whether it be by car or train as train station directly opposite.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deb M
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel to be near the Roald Dahl museum and children's gallery. Didn't realise when booking that it was so close to the Grand Union Canal. The hotel was clean and pleasant, and the staff were helpful. Breakfast was the usual express selection, and a delicious start to a busy day. We used it as our touring base... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel was brilliant. We were a fifteen minute drive away from the Warner Brothers Studio Tour which is what we went for. But its right beside a beautiful canal and a few lovely restaurant choices. Rooms were perfect. Breakfast wasn't the best but it did the job. Free wifi!

Helpful?
Thank Uiscebawn
DeputyGM2013, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review, I was so happy to read that you found our location brilliant and that we were not far from Harry Potter, which I hope you enjoyed. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed the surrounding area and the canal, and that the rooms were perfect. I was sorry to see that... More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night. Check in was fine, nothing outstanding. Room was comfortable and clean. Did not hear any noise from neighbouring rooms which was great. Service at dinner was rude and menu choice lacking although other local places to eat. Popped out at 9pm for 10 mins and came back and couldn't find a space despite there being lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank cranny_ni
Jason R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for leaving a review about your stay us. I was pleased to read your room was comfortable and clean and you were not disturbed from neighbouring guests. I was very sorry to read that the dinner service was poor and parking was a struggle when you returned. I will be sharing your feedback with the team... More 

Wicklow
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was fine, standard fayre for Holiday Inn. Check in was quick and painless. The system of registering your car was quick and straightforward. We had a street facing room and it was noisy early on the Monday morning with traffic. Other than that, it was fine.

Helpful?
Thank badgergirl24
DeputyGM2013, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I was pleased to see that you found the check in quick and that registering your car was straightforward. I hope that if you are in the area again you will stay with us and if you e mail info@expresshemel.co.uk in advance of your arrival we will do our best to allocate you... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Picked my gf up from Heathrow and stayed here for one night on way to Peak district. Few points: - rooms need a deep clean - parking needs to be extended. Arrived 10pm and car park full so parked over night in pub - breakfast worst I've ever had in a Holiday Inn. Bland and tasteless and coffee is disgusting.... More 

Helpful?
Thank John M
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived early and staff went out of their way to find a room that was ready and swap it for ours. They went out above and beyond ensuring an enjoyable hassle free stay would recommend to anyone room was clean and tidy free wifi meant free unlimited wifi

Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
DeputyGM2013, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was so happy to see your 5* review, it was so pleasing to see that when you arrived early the staff went out of their way to find you a room so that you could check in early. I was so happy to see that the stay was hassle free, that the room was tidy and clean... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel very clean in a great spot with Good restaurants in the area only one complaint and that was the guy who was behind the desk every time Hubby asked him something everything was to hard if you don't like being in customer service he shouldn't work there other than that all the other staff were very helpful

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DeputyGM2013, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I was happy to see that you found the hotel clean and in a great location, and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the eateries in the area. I was disappointed to read that one of our team was not as friendly and as helpful as the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 stars 655 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead hotel, a short drive from local businesses and 2 minutes' walk from Apsley train station. The inviting Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is just 10 minutes by car from the handy A4251, M1 and M25. You can take off from London Luton Airport, 25 minutes' drive away, and reach central London in 30 minutes by train from nearby Apsley station. We offer free parking onsite and you can set yourself up for the day with a Continental breakfast buffet with selected hot items in our comfortable Great Room. Book a meeting for 40 in one of our 4 meeting rooms and stay online with complimentary wireless Internet. We're 10 minutes' drive from local companies on Maylands Avenue and Breakspear Way. You can take to the slopes at the The Snow Centre in 5 minutes. Under-18s stay for free when sharing with their parents in one of Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead's welcoming Family rooms. Spend a relaxing evening with friends over drinks or dinner in the Great Room lounge or simply relax in your inviting Guest room with complimentary tea and coffee and your choice of pillows. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Address: Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: $74 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay