We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 548: English reviews
Vilafranca del Penedes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Cannot really rate the hotel as never got to stay! Arrived at 11.20pm only to find that I was "Out boarded" as my room (despite being booked as part of a large corporate booking) had been given to someone else. Was somewhat speechless and was placed elsewhere at no cost but it took time to sort and, given a local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eleanor b
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Eleanor B, thank you for your feedback. I am really sorry we were unable to fullfill your reservation with us, unfortunately this was caused by an error with our reservations team honouring an extended guests stay. Typically this situation does not normally arise as it is not in the interests of the hotel and generally deemed poor practice. We...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good location if you're travelling, easy, no hassle. But pretty unexciting and expensive. The bar and restaurant seemed ok but the music was loud so I didn't bother. Breakfast was pricey so I went to the M&S and the cafe at the garage across the way for half the price. The room was clean and reasonably comfortable but the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne001_12
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Anne001_12, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you were not completely satisified with some aspects of your time here. Hopefully the music issue was rectified at the time. We are continually updating our rooms and bathrooms so that all guests receive the same standards. We do hope that...

Ellon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on business for four nights. Room was clean and tidy. Bed was very comfy. Had dinner at the bar for three nights and the food was tasty. Breakfast was fab, great choice of both cooked and continental.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brymills
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Brymills, thank you for your 4* review of our hotel after a recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that everything met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Located just off the m1 junction, it's reasonably convenient. A nice looking hotel with pleasant staff and large rooms. Unfortunately we had a very small double bed with a hard mattress and flat, hard pillows so sleep was not easy. The bar area was quite small and cold, the restaurant was very cold so didn't enjoy eating there. Food in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Jane T, thank you for feedback after a recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied during your time with us especially with the mattress and also the food. This is not up to our normal high standards and again I apologise. However I trust that the team were able to resolve...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night on 14th Nov with work, attended course at the hotel the following day. My arrival was late, approx 10:30pm due to a 3 hour drive after work. I confirmed my late arrival with the hotel earlier in the day via email to which I got a response saying that a note was put on my reservation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Mark L, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that your experience on check in was not up to our usual high standard and for this we apologise. I can appreciate you were not impressed after a long day and just wanted to check in quickly and easily which should...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly staff, good breakfast, dont know about dinner. rooms are a little bit outdated but clean and ok. nothing fancy but surely nothing bad either. good choice for a short business stay. nothing in the neighborhood, need to take a taxi or bring your own car if you want to ga anywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard Z
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Richard Z, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay. I am pleased to read that everything met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

A nice hotel. The reception, bar and restaurant area has recently been refurbished. There are plenty of areas for discussion and areas for quiet relaxing. The restaurant food is good, hearty and reasonably priced. The rooms are good, but showing their age, but they are clean, comfortable and the beds are nice and firm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulWilkinsUK
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear PaulWilkinsUK, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time here and found everything to your satisfaction including our newly refurbished areas. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 2, 2016

We stayed here overnight when travelling on a National Holiday trip to London. The staff were friendly, the hotel was very modern, clean and looked like it had recently had a refit. The evening meal and breakfast were excellent with a variety of choice. Bar prices are what they are, it is London after all but a lovely relaxing place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda H
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Amanda H, thank you for your comments after a recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that your enjoyed your time here and that the staff looked after you well. I apologise that you had a problem with a leaking bath but trust that this was resolved at the time by maintenance. We hope to see you...

Parcent, Spain
Reviewed November 1, 2016

A short drive from Hemel Hempstead but very convenient for the motorway. We stayed one night and it was probably the best accommodation we had on our weeks road trip. The main areas are light and have a feeling of space. All the staff we met were friendly and professional. The room was as you would expect and the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_Pain
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Nigel_Pain, thank you for your feedback after a recent visit. I am pleased that everything met your expectations and that you found our hotel accommodation the best during your trip. We do apologise that you were disappointed with the eggs at breakfast, this is not up to our normal high standard and we will follow up with the chefs....

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

My Husband & I stayed for one night after attending a party here on a Saturday night . We were very pleased with our stay . We had a friendly welcome . The Room was of a High standard & was lovely . Before the Party we went to the Bar & My Husband asked the Man behind the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neilk407
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Neilk407, thank you so much for your feedback after a recent stay. We are pleased to read that everything met your satisfaction and that you were well looked after by our teams. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future and we look forward to welcome you back. Kind regards

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
667 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
686 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
522 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#7 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: $83 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Preston, United Kingdom
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“A back room as it is on a busy dual carriageway”
 of 5 bubbles amandahT3015UG, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“ALWAYS CHECK YOUR BILL and avoid any room on the lower ground floor - especially room 28”
 of 5 bubbles mmccnn, Oct 2, 2016 | Read review
“All good standard”
 of 5 bubbles FrankieDP, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“Speak with susie!!”
 of 5 bubbles M8766AVtony, Sep 1, 2016 | Read review
“Above reception”
 of 5 bubbles dannydanchev1, Jul 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay