We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Grove Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Grove Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,628 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,598: English reviews
Start your review of The Grove Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our 16th Year Anniversary Getaway... We booked ahead of time for this getaway special at The Grove Hotel, Watford. We arrived Friday 17th, February, 2017. We were given a VIP welcoming and check in was really smooth. The room was very nice and was well done up. Breakfast was at the Glass House Restaurant and was buffet. Very, very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freddy23450
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A wonderful weekend of country walks, pampering, excellent menus and wonderful cocktails. Afternoon tea is a treat and I would recommend this venue to anyone who wants to get away from London business craziness for a relaxing weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleendelmar73
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I went here for a two day conference, and so my comments relate specifically to how I found the venue from a conference perspective. The bedroom was large, comfortable, well appointed and clean. The bathroom was a good size, with a great shower, fluffy towels and Espa products too. We made use of the conference facilities, which were well organised,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RSP71
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed 2 nights and it was great, the glasshouse for the buffet is a must do at lunch or dinner with a stroll around the grounds afterwards. A must stay hotel in North London. The golf course is well worth a round but get a buggy as it is a little steep in places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saundersfoot2012
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Grove on a Saturday evening and attended a works function. The room was great and spacious and the hotel bar had a great atmosphere! We had a beautiful sit down meal during the function and couldn't fault the food at all. Would highly recommend this Hotel and look forward to visiting again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian G
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent weekend stay here with us at The Grove. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and will pass on this feedback to our Chefs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

First, the good: the grounds and the building are beautiful, room spacious and tastefully decorated, staff smiley and helpful. Food delicious. But for this level of hotel, this should be a given. Now on to the not impressed part. * Cleanliness: Found hair on the wall in my bathroom that wasn't mine. (!!!) I think this is the worst offence...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank erika2205
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the gardens, found the rooms spacious, the food delicious and the staff helpful, however I'm concerned that you were unhappy with certain aspects of your stay. You can rest assured that your comments have been taken...

A TripAdvisor Member
Bangor, N Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Quality all round. Spacious rooms. Spacious grounds. Very friendly and helpful staff. High standard mass produced food for a business event. Only downside was intermittent wifi. Would return again in the better weather to enjoy grounds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent business stay at The Grove. I am delighted to hear that you were impressed with the standard of our food. I'm sorry that the wi-fi was a bit temperamental, it's not something we usually have an issue with. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When I first arrived at The Grove I was a little confused at where the entrance was, but no sooner had I stopped to look at a sign, than a member of staff appeared & advised me, followed with 'I can park your car for you whilst you check-in if you like?'. This level of service was consistent throughout, doors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us, I'm glad our staff made your stay a memorable one. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Grove in the future.

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel in the middle of the countryside, just outside London. The main building and the rooms have a business look&feel. Not very fascinating, but some of the restaurants in the park are much more cozy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank efrontini74
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us, it is always good to receive feedback from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a busy start to the year we decided to treat ourselves to some relaxation at this stunning hotel. We ate at both the Glasshouse and The Stables for an evening meal. The staff were always welcoming and attentive . The food was delicious but the beer battered fish and chips at the Stables was outstanding. My husband was particularly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda Z
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent relaxing break with us. We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals at both the Glasshouse and The Stables, and that your husband found the Golf Staff to be very helpful. We look forward to welcoming you both back to The Grove in...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

442 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (424)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (192)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
1.2 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
672 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
1,977 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.2 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
3.4 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Price Range: $280 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel UK/Hertfordshire, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Grove Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Grove Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The Grove offers private suites in the grounds.”
 of 5 bubbles kathleendelmar73, 5 days ago | Read review
“Golf course facing”
 of 5 bubbles saundersfoot2012, 6 days ago | Read review
“View on the gardens. Avoid view on the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles efrontini74, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Mansion Rooms and upgrade as much as you can afford!”
 of 5 bubbles kezlondon, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“basic rooms are fine especially if on 2nd floor overlooking car park at that level you only see trees.”
 of 5 bubbles larad307, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question