We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Master Builder's House Hotel

Hotels.com$189*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/14/2017 05/15/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Master Builder\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

862 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Master Builder's House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 857: English reviews
Portlaoise, Ireland
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed one night still this lovely bolt hole for a wedding reception being held in the hotel. All of the rooms are individual and combine comfort and style. The food was fabulous and the service was friendly and attentive.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TMHS_13
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and that you enjoyed your time with us and the wonderful wedding reception.

Thatcham, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Beautiful setting and luxury room. We've just returned from a lovely night away, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food superb. I was able to eat most of the menu and gluten free bread was provided. The smoked pigeon breast was excellent. We also loved the generous extras in the room a lot of which were locally sourced...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah C
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that there was a good choice of gluten free items for you to choose from on the menu.

Ninfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 9, 2014

It was good to see 'lighter options' offered at lunch time. We had the Yachtsman's fish cake served with house 'slaw' and tartare sauce. It was £7.50 - the full version was £11 something. However this seemed really expensive for one fishcake and a miniscule amount of 'slaw' which was essentially just a few leaves with a dollop of tartare...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JofNinfield
Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 7, 2014

After reading some of the reviews on here, I was a little cynical about staying here. I can honestly say that these poor reviews are completely unfounded. The room was lovely, the staff very polite and helpful, the food astonishing and the surroundings beautiful. Other than a little bit of confusion with our order at breakfast, our stay was faultless....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sam A
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Lorca, Spain
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Having looked at the website I booked their room Husar at the end of January for a one night stay on 7th April. On the 3rd April at 19:45 I received an email saying "Hello Jane, Unfortunately the room you requested "Husar" is not available however we have allocated you a lovely Luxury room with lovely views. We look forward...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank rowhurst99
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am very sorry about this mix up, which should never have happened. Huge apologies.

Clevedon, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 3, 2014

A quick getaway as we had to use up a Red Letter Day experience, and boy were we surprised. The rooms are a little querky, you felt at times as though you were going back in time. The staff were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. Friendly chatty and willing to go the extra mile. The open fires were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike504119
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and we are looking forward to seeing you again already!

Surrey
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed one night for a short overnight break in the quiet countryside. A warm welcome from a very friendly and attentive staff. Great room with very colourful decoration - room 21 has great views over the river. The hotel is built around one of the old ship builders' cottages and so some of the rooms and corridors have that...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ElmerDee
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Bucklers Hard is such a lovely village with the amazing history that you refer to. The hotel used to be the house of Henry Adams, the Master Shipbuilder. I hope you come back to see us soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We booked for one night on the way back from visiting friends in Devon. The hotel is on a gorgeous position with amazing views of the river, we spent an hour or so walking along the rather soggy river bank with a severe case of yacht envy. Everyone is really friendly and helpful and breakfast in bed a real treat....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Licqui2011
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Yes, we get that Yacht envy rather often I'm afraid...beautiful boats of all descriptions coming down the Beaulieu River. Thank you for your review and I'm very pleased you had a good time with us.

Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I recently visited for lunch for my birthday and live locally in the area. I absolutely love this place, I have been to this pub so many times and really do love it but was really disappointed recently. It was on a Sunday and quite busy but I have seen it busier. Food order came out wrong twice and in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lrf2014
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Regrettably we were abnormally busy this day on an August level and I apologise that we didn't live up to normal standards.

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked a couple of midweek nights at this hotel. It is in a beautiful position with lovely river views. The room was very cosy, had some lovely local produce in the room and a great sized bath. All the staff were very friendly, we ate dinner twice in the restaurant and once in the bar and 2 breakfasts, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicky G
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. The hotel is such a nice venue for a mid week break and we often have very good offers at such times. I am pleased about your restaurant and bar experience. We hope to see you back here soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

239 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (185)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
05/14/2017 05/15/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
1.9 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,116 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
752 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,653 reviews
6.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,554 reviews
6.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With its stunning location in the New Forest overlooking the Beaulieu River, this historic hotel at Buckler's Hard offers a relaxing stay of quirky but affordable luxury. Tuck into a pint and a snack in the Yachtsman's Bar & Gardens, or treat yourself to a sumptuous meal in the Riverside Restaurant. Most importantly, relax and enjoy every minute of your time with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Master Builder's House Hotel

Address: Bucklers Hard, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Price Range: $121 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Master Builder's House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Master Builder's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Master Builders Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Master Builder's House Hotel staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Master Builder's House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a river view”
855gregp, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Dog rooms are of a very good quality. Dogs can be taken into breakfast and the bar area but not the main restaurant. Make enquiries.”
NicolaLevett, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Our room was in the Henry Adams wing , very short walk away from the main areas so nice and quiet.”
LikeholidaysOxford, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The upstairs rooms in the Henry Adams wing, whilst not over-spacious, are beautifully presented and peaceful.”
orinocokid, Mar 25, 2017 | Read review
“We took physically impaired parents.Our fault as forgot to inquire about bathrooms. Shower was in bath.”
bobj297, Mar 6, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$189* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$189
TripAdvisor$188
Expedia.com$189
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates