We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ely

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ely
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 532: English reviews
Start your review of The Ely
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I recently had lunch with a friend at the Ely. As a wheelchair user I'm always looking for places with good access. The Ely is in my opinion fantastic. There is disabled car parking spaces next to the entrance. Once inside the pub the space between tables allow easy access. I also discovered they have a RADAR KEY accessible toilet,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank domssross
Norwich
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice place, good rooms and very comfortable. restaurant very good too and not too expensive. Place has got real charm and the service is excellent. They even worked hard and found my receipt after I lost it a month later!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petesmithhome
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Chose to come here to eat as saw their burger deal on Facebook. Didn't book but got a table in the bar no problem. The whole place looks amazing after a recent refurb, very welcoming. Son had the burger, my daughter and I chose off the lunch menu and all 3 of us were very happy with our choices. Veggie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodyfanFleet
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to Ely last night (18/02/17) for a meal with friends, we were so disappointed, we had to send it back as it wasn't hot, we had a sizzler when they brought our food back out to us it was watered down, they added hot water to it, so couldn't eat it, they washed away the flavour, we have had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cutbill
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Attended a friends birthday party in the function room...great time had by all. Stayed in the hotel...rooms had just been refurbished and still had a slight smell of new paint. Great room, friendly staff and a good hearty breakfast included in the price. Would stay again without hesitation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CapitalBathory
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Out with a friend and her dog. Dogs are allowed here so it would be a good stop off after a walk on Yateley Common. Fairly standard pub-chain sort of place. Lots of space, nice open fire, large screen telly showing BBC news. Food ordered at bar, service friendly enough. gf options not highlighted on menu - I imagine there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

7 of us went for a lunch to celebrate a birthday. The food was adequate; soggy sandwiches and watery soup but decent mains for those who ventured. The desserts were ample and all was well priced. The service was a little indifferent throughout, it was hard to actually get the bill. The waitress argued the toss over a mix-up in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 552,051
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was ok but the service was the worst I've experienced. The staff were very pleasant but obviously overworked. We visited on a Sunday afternoon and it was busy but there is no excuse to have to wait a long time to order, two choices to be unavailable, then wait over three quarters of an hour to be served....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
Tim_George1, General Manager at The Ely, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I do apologise for the issues that you had on your visit to us and that the service you recived was not up to standard. Please feel free to contact me by email at 5249@greeneking.co.uk to discuss the issues that you have raised further.

Yateley
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Could do with a lesson or two in customer service. Poor quality steak and was told "a sirloin is a tough cut" when the steak we ordered was chewy. Ok so the steak was cooked medium well but i manage to cook sirloin at home and its still tender. Management wouldnt even to talk to us about it and just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBuffYateley
Tim_George1, Manager at The Ely, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I do apologise that the issues that you had on your visit to us were not dealt with properly. Please feel free to contact me by email at 5249@greeneking.co.uk to discuss the issues that you have raised further.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you to the team at the Ely for a great night on Saturday 28 01 17 we booked the Hampshire Suite for my wife's Birthday party and everything went extremely well we had the in house dico who was great this a great place if you are looking to book any event we found the hole team easy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew Susie A
Tim_George1, Manager at The Ely, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, and I am glad that the event you held here for your wife's birthday went according to plan and you enjoyed your evening with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yateley
0.7 mi away
The Casa Hotel
The Casa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yateley
585 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Sandhurst Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
639 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#1 of 4 in Fleet
610 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crowthorne
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Ely Hotel Restaurant
The Ely Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Ely

Address: (A 30 London Road | Blackwater, Camberley, Yateley GU17 9LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Yateley
Price Range: $92 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ely 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Ely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ely Hotel Yateley
Ely Hotel Yateley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Ely staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Essex, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Wool, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Ely staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“No preference all rooms much the same”
 of 5 bubbles rengd, Dec 3, 2016 | Read review
“We were on the ground floor room 15 with a view of the front of the Coach Inn...very pleasant”
 of 5 bubbles kathleen_meads, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid ground floor rooms on the right hand side of the building in the summer.”
 of 5 bubbles elizabetht846, Sep 21, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the back appear to be good!”
 of 5 bubbles DevonCountryBumkins, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
“If you can't manage stairs, request a ground floor room as there are only stairs between the ground floor and the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles ClaireK783, Jun 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question