We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
The White Hart High Street Winchester, Stockbridge SO20 6HF England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$140
Tripadvisor$140
Hotels.com
Priceline
Travelocity$140
Official Site$139
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (95)
Dining (22)
Room & Suite (15)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stockbridge
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
The White Hart, in Stockbridge, serves up fine fresh food and drink, cosy real fires for a warm welcome and 14 charming bedrooms for a blissful country escape. Available for private parties, drinks receptions and business meetings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese, Romanian
698Reviews0Q+A89Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 374
  • 180
  • 77
  • 40
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Frenchfay wrote a review Mar 5
Horsham, United Kingdom409 contributions218 helpful votes
Half way point to meet with good friends for a long awaitingcatch up. Our rooms on the ground floor were extremely comfortable and clean. Staff exceptionally welcoming, food really good. The weekend went too quickly , always a sign of a good time !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Hart Stockbridge, General Manager at The White Hart Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Frenchfay, thank you very much for leaving your feedback following your recent visit to us, we are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay in our carefully designed bedrooms, and that you found our menu to be varied and the food delicious. We are also glad that our staff were so friendly and helpful throughout your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back again to Stockbridge soon. Best wishes, Paul & the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lorraine a wrote a review Mar 5
21 contributions7 helpful votes
A lovely weekend with good friends in a welcoming and comfortable Inn. Friendly and efficient check in. As requested, we had 2 ground floor rooms which were ideally neighbouring. The rooms were spotless and tastefully decorated, with the added bonus of a fridge, which did NOT disturb our sleep. One of the rooms was larger with comfortable sofas, allowing both couples to rendezvous for a chat . Parking was close to the rooms, a real bonus. We ate both nights in the pub and enjoyed well cooked pub grub. The bar/waiting staff were a credit to the management, great personalities and efficient. It's in a wonderful location at the top of the high street. Plenty of walks nearby along the river Test. The only teeny suggestion, more loo rolls in the rooms!!! Though the staff quickly gave us extra when asked!! All in all, a lovely stay and will hopefully return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Excellent parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Hart Stockbridge, General Manager at The White Hart Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Dear lorraine, thank you very much for leaving a 5 star review following your recent stay with us, we are so pleased that your both of your rooms were so comfortable, spacious and well-designed, with several additional features that made your stay even more enjoyable. We are also glad that you found both of your evening meals to be so delicious, and our staff to be so efficient and friendly. We are very lucky to be located in such beautiful surroundings, and hope to welcome you back again to Stockbridge soon for another enjoyable stay. Best wishes, Paul & the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacksonsinbrighton wrote a review Jan 2023
Brighton, United Kingdom441 contributions126 helpful votes
We stayed one night to meet and catch up with friends halfway. Spent late afternoon and all evening in the bar, very comfy, warm with excellent food and drink. So nice to just walk upstairs to our rooms, they where very comfy, beautifully decorated, an amazing to stay in such an old building and wonderfully quiet. The Breakfast choices cover everything and it was all very tasty. Thank you for a great weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Lunch time was very busy, worth booking a table.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from White Hart Stockbridge, General Manager at The White Hart Inn
Responded Jan 27, 2023
Dear Richard J, thank you very much for leaving a 5 star review following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable afternoon and evening in our bar area, and enjoyed the range of delicious food and drinks available. We are so glad that you enjoyed our luxurious, carefully designed bedrooms, and the unique, historical nature of all of the rooms, as well as our selection of delicious complimentary breakfasts. We hope to welcome you back again to Stockbridge soon, best wishes Paul & the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shaz g wrote a review Jan 2023
United Kingdom17 contributions34 helpful votes
Lovely cosy Inn and service and food we're fantastic, staff really welcomed us and you can see the effort made by all. Our room was on, first impressions lovely but once spending time there, we noticed quite a few flaws. The extra heaters provided were great but totally overloaded the room with criss-cross wires everywhere, including lamp wires etc just moving a few things would have hidden these and made the aesthetic so much nicer. The bathroom was damp and had lots of cobwebs, especially behind the door. The shower had an awful smell and filled the tray with water so much so that i had to turn it off so as not to flood the room. On closer inspection, the trap was absolutely filthy and clogged with black gunge! Under the bed was also not hoovered and we found an empty water bottle and receipts from previous guests under there. Saying all this, we would stay again as the staff and food made up for it, just not in that room.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Great free parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Hart Stockbridge, General Manager at The White Hart Inn
Responded Jan 27, 2023
Dear 705shazg, thank you very much for leaving your feedback following your stay with us, we are so pleased that you experienced such warm and friendly service from our staff, and that you found your food to be so enjoyable. We are very sorry that our housekeeping was not up to standard on this occasion, and would love to welcome you back at a future date to provide a much improved experience. Best wishes, Paul & the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark W wrote a review Jan 2023
8 contributions12 helpful votes
Went here today for a roast. 9 of us in total, 2 families meeting half way. When we arrived no attention, pleasantries anything from the staff. Eventually got seated...waited and no menu's or drinks orders. I went to the bar to ask if we could get them and spoke to the world's moodiest teenager. Waitress comes and takes drinks orders but doesn't bring kids drinks...I can live with all of that but the roasts were a complete joke. We all ordered them, the menu paints this lovely picture of what we were going to receive but what we all got was anything but. I ordered roast pork at £17..... I literally had 3 of the smallest roast (barely) potatoes you'll ever see. No cauliflower cheeses as advertised, no crackling as advertised, no apple sauce as advertised, cold Yorkshires, tiny piece or pork, quarter of a carrot. Utter utter garbage. Same with everyone else. The stingiest portions, you have to see it to believe it. Dry turkey, tough beef, minimal gravy, pig in blanket with no blanket and the stuffing...my god what even was that? Certainly not homemade! The place wasn't even that busy (I know why now). Wouldn't be surprised to see this place on Ramsey's Kitchen Nightmares. When a country pub in a village in Hampshire cant knock out a roast you know you have problems. Manager was suitably embarrassed but I got the feeling he had had this before. Quite rightly he refunded us 50% of our meal and drinks, just as well as we were going to walk without paying it was that bad. Chef obviously is incompetent or lazy or both. What chef serves food cold and not as per the menu. We left and went to another pub up in the village. Beggars belief how you can run a country pub/restaurant when the food is that bad. Maybe we hit it on a bad day but unforgiveable in my view and we deffo won't be going back. In summary, Poor Service, Cold Food, Stingy Portions, Over Priced. If I had paid £10 in the Dog & Duck for that I would have complained. #GARBAGE
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Service
Room Tip: Get another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Hart Stockbridge, General Manager at The White Hart Inn
Responded Jan 27, 2023
Dear markwU2042IV, thank you very much for leaving your feedback, we are very sorry that you did not have an enjoyable meal with us. We were extremely surprised that you felt this way as we were coming to the end of a busy Sunday service with no complaints when you arrived, and as you have mentioned, the issues that you raised were swiftly dealt with on the day. We would like to take this chance to apologise again and hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Paul & the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris J wrote a review Nov 2022
Lymington, United Kingdom73 contributions89 helpful votes
We stayed at The White Hart overnight and booked dinner in their resturant. Everything that you would expect to be included in room was present along with some very nice free touches. Parking is free and easy and although open to the public noise was not an issue. We very much enjoyed our evening meal and found it reasonably priced. All in all we would definitely return should we visit Stockbridge again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Hart Stockbridge, General Manager at The White Hart Inn
Responded Dec 10, 2022
Dear tsruhsa, thank you very much for leaving a five star review following your stay with us, we are so pleased that you had such a comfortable night in one of our carefully designed bedrooms, and that you enjoyed the complimentary additions included in all of our rooms. We are also glad that you had a delicious evening meal in our inviting restaurant, and look forward to welcoming you back again to Stockbridge soon. Best wishes, Paul & the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ANTHONY K wrote a review Nov 2022
7 contributions6 helpful votes
Booked last minute, so got an unbelievable deal for dinner, bed and breakfast! Super hugh room with kingsize bed, nice/original touches in the room, well designed. Great evening meal on Sunday night, good choices of food, beer and wine. The breakfast was excellent....very pleasant staff....all in all wouldn't hesitate to recommend...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Hart Stockbridge, General Manager at The White Hart Inn
Responded Dec 10, 2022
Dear anthonykT1834PH, thank you very much for leaving a five star review following your stay with us, we are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable experience in one of our unique bedrooms, and enjoyed all of the personal touches that are made to each room. We are also glad that you had such a delicious evening meal and a selection of drinks from our carefully chosen menu, and that our staff were friendly and helpful throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Stockbridge soon, best wishes Paul & the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary Strickland-Smith wrote a review Oct 2022
Gosport, United Kingdom58 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
Last minute night away, and this hotel did not fail. At the top of the high street so within walking distance of the local amenities. Staff welcoming and food / breakfast was great. Look forward to returning in December and then be able to sit in front of the roaring fire with a nice glass of wine …
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Hart Stockbridge, General Manager at The White Hart Inn
Responded Dec 10, 2022
Dear G_Strickland_Smith, thank you very much for leaving a five star review following your stay with us, we are so pleased that our hotel and restaurant lived up to expectations, and that you found the location to be ideal for your trip. We are so glad that you had such delicious food throughout your stay with us, and that our staff were so friendly and accommodating, and look forward to welcoming you back again to Stockbridge soon. Best wishes, Paul & the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michele S wrote a review Oct 2022
Deal, United Kingdom25 contributions5 helpful votes
friendly staff, lovely location, just popped in for some food on the off chance while walking past. Good Service Nice fish & chips, would of liked a few more chips mind you. Hehe I would definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Hart Stockbridge, General Manager at The White Hart Inn
Responded Oct 14, 2022
Dear michelesE3261EW, thank you very much for leaving your feedback following your recent visit to us, we are so glad you enjoyed your meal and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope to welome you back again soon, best wishes Paul & all the Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fernando O wrote a review Sep 2022
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom58 contributions40 helpful votes
I would definitely recommend staying were. I stayed in Thea room on the back annex, that are new, butcharacterful and quite trendy. Room was very well equipped with good size TV, DAB radio, Nespresso coffee maker, Dyson blade-less Fan with remote, hairdryer, a tiny fridge, iron & board, very nice bathroom with excellent shower & good toiletries. Good parking next to the rooms. Nice, friendly staff and good service. Breakfast menu had good choice, I had a full English, that had excellent bacon, the rest was OK. My only complaint was that the tiny fridge in my room was a bit noisy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Call ahead to confirm check in times, if you are planning to check in late
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Hart Stockbridge, General Manager at The White Hart Inn
Responded Oct 10, 2022
Dear Fernando O, thank you very much for leaving you feedback following your recent stay with us, we are so glad you enjoyed the newly built room that you stayed in, and found it to be uniquely designed and more than well equipped with all the necessary amenities. We do explain in the welcome note that all the fridges in the rooms can be turned off if you find them to be too noisy. We are so pleased you enjoyed one of our delicious breakfasts with us and found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future. Best wishes, Paul & all the Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the white hart hotel stockbridge
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireStockbridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WHITE HART INN $99 ($̶1̶1̶2̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews - Stockbridge, England

Frequently Asked Questions about The White Hart Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The White Hart Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Little Whisky Shop (0.2 miles), Isla's Bar, The Little Whisky Shop (0.2 miles), and Stockbridge Wildlife and History Walk (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The White Hart Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The White Hart Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The White Hart Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The White Hart Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Prego Dining & Deli, The Greyhound on the Test, and The Three Cups Inn.
Is The White Hart Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Stockbridge.
Are pets allowed at The White Hart Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The White Hart Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Portuguese, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to The White Hart Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Danebury Iron Age Hill Fort (2.4 miles).
Is The White Hart Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.