We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Expedia.com$166*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,231: English reviews
Start your review of Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
 Click to rate
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived for a three day break in April to play golf at a course that I had heard of, but not played. First impressions was the size of the place when arriving, and following a coffee, the attentiveness of the staff. Golf course was intimidating and needed a lot of thought before playing your shot, although I scored 31 points...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed in a pod overnight. These are on site near to the gym with a separate toilet and shower block. The pod itself was comfortable, well equipped and warm, slight downside is locating the lights! There are 2 small spot lights over the bed with switches on, no central switch, involves climbing on the bed to find the switch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joredders16
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. All comments are appreciated as they help us to improve the guest journey. I shall pass on your thoughts to the appropriate departments. We use these reviews in our continuing training programs. Glamping is a real experience....we are very proud of our Eco-Pod village. It is used year round. The lights inside the...

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was here for a golf weekend recently and had heared from,my fellow golfers that this was a decent venue. My room was ok , typical mid range hotel room.... perfectly adequate. My disappointments were the evening meals ... there was no choice beyond a cavery both nights with exactly the same meats both nights , the starter was either...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelmoore458
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and comments. I shall forward these on to the relevant departments. We do have a variety of menus on offer in the Kings Restaurant. As you were here on a Golf Package, you would have had a 2 course carvery. If you had wanted we could have done a supplement to another menu. Please...

Warmington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at OT for one night prior to a golf day with my old school friends. The room was very good, with decent wi fi and a comfortable bed, if a bit of a hike from reception. Room service fish and chips was fine. Breakfast was the usual large hotel fare but good. However, the food for the golf group...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Big_Blue_Traveller
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. With respect to the food served, that was all pre-ordered, so that is up to your organizer. We do have a large amount of items from which to choose for group dining. We hope you will return and enjoy our award wining Spa. It...

Kalkan, Turkey
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited Old Thorns for a spa day as a treat for two of my family members at a cost of £95 per person; this included use of the spa, a spa treatment worth £30 and lunch in the restaurant. Sadly the day proved to be very disappointing with facilities not working properly, a lack of sunbeds available in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Donna, We appreciate your review and comments. I am unsure of the package you were on. Below is our Day Spa Package which included the items you expressed. All the treatments are 25 min. which is our standard. We do offer luxury treatments which are for much longer and priced accordingly: Classic Spa Day A great way to share...

sheffield
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fabulous hotel, outstanding clean room and bathroom. Excellent breakfasts in beautiful surroundings. Staff could not have been more helpful. Would have been useful to know the hotel is in a separate building as I did not have a coat and it was pouring down. Would highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaretspps
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Thank you for your review and comments. We really appreciate your thoughts. I shall make sure the Team know of this review. We hope to see you here soon.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fabulous Hotel, Amazing confortable rooms, delicious food all very reasonably priced and beautiful location. We attended a friends wedding and it was a wonderful day no complaints, bar staff capable and helpful at all times. Our stay included breakfast there was plenty of choice and delicious, well worth the stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbieedoo
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Debbie, Thank you for your very kind review and comments. We really appreciate it. I shall make sure the departments are aware of you thoughts. We are pleased we were able to help make such a special day very memorable for you and your friends.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good golf course with fabulous views. The most helpful and friendly staff you're likely to meet across the whole complex. The carvery was very good with plenty of options. The waitress "Eryka" was funny and engaging but never rude or overstepping the Mark. Over the weekend (Fri-Sun) the hotel was full, multiple weddings and parties but the place never felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3000MM
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We really appreciate your comments and review! How very kind of you. I shall make sure the departments and staff mentioned are informed. We look forward to seeing you back with us to enjoy more golf.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely amazing place! Great course, friendly helpful staff everywhere. Nice rooms, good food, a freaking Starbucks, pool tables, massive screens, a freaking champagne bar liveried in purple velvet. If a well known danish lager did golf trips, they'd hold them here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Nick, Thank you for your review and comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you very soon!

Emsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely surprise on arrival at the Old Thorns......never been before, not sure what it would be like. What a lovely place! Fully recommend going there as a treat. We had a Carvery, food was so tasty. Carvery £12.95 per head, unlike some places....only one visit for that price but to be honest one visit is plenty! You can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Ruth, Thank you so much for your review and kind works. We appreciate all comments. I shall make sure the Team knows of your thoughts. We hope to see you with us very soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

262 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (244)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
21.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,037 reviews
22.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,075 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
8.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Price Range: $122 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Greater London, United Kingdom
Ringwood, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All equally fabulous”
debbieedoo, 1 week ago | Read review
“breakfast early before the wedding parties awake!”
3000MM, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Large bedrooms with a lift to the first floor. No ramp at the front door.”
SueDTetbury, Apr 3, 2017 | Read review
“Avoid, if possible, rooms in the "recently refurbished" wing which can be a long walk, with bad views.”
tigress2015, Mar 24, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with view.”
ANNI753, Mar 22, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$166* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com$166
Priceline$165
Hotwire.com$166
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates