We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bear Hotel

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (223)
Room & Suite (113)
Dining (6)

About

#4 of 4 hotels in Havant
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Billiards
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
71Somewhat walkable
Grade: 71 out of 100
43Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
756Reviews
3Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 86
  • 193
  • 180
  • 121
  • 176
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed in this family run hotel during our Goodwood visit. Location close to the railwaystation and we had a room with a bed... but that was about it. Old rooms, curtains half broken, toilet not flushing proper... breakfast was OK but think diner menu came from the microwave.. but OK: Good for Goodwood... otherwise..
Read more
Response from Ben W, General Manager at The Bear Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your response.
Read more
I had to think about the title...the hotel is truly awful, I had to award one point,if I could have given a minus point;I would have...The counter is; the staff (bar one) were very nice and helpful and the breakfast was good.
Read more
Response from Ben W, General Manager at The Bear Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to feedback
Read more
Far more expensive than last year. Poor old Bear is very torn, battered and threadbare. Plug didn't fit sink. Huge bath, no shower. Many flies in breakfast room. No lift. Quite a task to haul heavy suitcase up all the windy stairs with torn carpet and broken banisters. Staff seem embarrassed to be here. Come on, Greene King. £92 for this is a real rip-off! Just refurbish this proud old Bear for your loyal staff and customers. It's way overdue.....
Read more
Response from Ben W, General Manager at The Bear Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Gregory Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Greeneking operate a healthy re-investment budget and hopefully we will part of that very soon.
Read more
Greatly in need of pulling down. Toilet didn't flush properly. Room was dirty and dilapidated. Rude staff, two of whom had a conversation while we waited to check out. Got told off for putting used breakfast plates which had not been collected on another table, 'making another table dirty'. The bar is awful, had to put up with locals talking about their exploits in brothels, using viagra and then discussing a young woman's chest, across the road in very loud voices. The whole thing was awful. Never again!!! I know it only cost £70 but I would pay that amount not to stay there. Our friends stayed at Premier Inn and paid a lot less with far better facilities.
Read more
Response from Ben W, General Manager at The Bear Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. I shall review the operational issues with the staff concerned. I can only apologise for the occupants of the bar.
Read more
Nice big room, on top floor overlooking the carpark at the rear, we asked for a quiet part of the hotel. Nice large comfortable bed, some of the furniture looked tired. Large bathroom, old suite but all worked, extractor fan didn't though. The bedside lights didn't work, but there was a switch for the main light at the bedside. Good selection for hot & cold breakfast, although some of our cooked was not hot and one item missing, it was rectified quickly and tasted wonderful.
Read more
Response from Ben W, General Manager at The Bear Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. I hope that we see you again soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$62 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bear hotel havant
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHavant
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing