We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

587 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 582: English reviews
Start your review of Red Lion Hotel
 Click to rate
Plymouth
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Unfortunately the two hours parking I paid wasn't enough to cover the length of time it took for our meal with the WI to be served - service was excessively slow and I was horrified to receive a £100 fine! Not impressed with the reaction of hotel staff when I went in to complain. Why didn't staff remind us about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal due to forgetting to pay for sufficient parking time. I would like to point out that as a big group (36 people), the service can be expected to be a bit slower than usual, but as a regularly returning group, I am sure you were aware of the pressure...

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Be very careful when using the car park. I had lunch with a disabled friend and local WI. There were a lot of us but they did take quite a while to serve us and we over ran the parking ticket. I explained the what had happened and was told that I would have to pay if I went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maureenbloomer
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Maureenbloomer, Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you have got a parking fine. However our parking signs clearly state the procedures to be followed. If going over the time, you can always go to the machine to top it up before you leave. This eliminates the need to watch the clock throughout your meal. I can...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great free parking. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Quant old coaching stop hotel. Avoid the rooms over the bar and restaurant area though. Noise comes through and is annoying. Fareham is a nice place with many other great places to eat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amiddlgr
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Amiddlgr, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you again. Regards, Nick

Reviewed 1 week ago

A nice clean hotel in a good location. Sadly English Old English Pubs have recently changed their bar policy, it now closes to residents at the same time as members of the public. I think I will be avoiding Old English Pubs in the future!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PunkheadJammo
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi PunkheadJammo, I am glad you found the hotel clean and in a great location. Our policy has not changed regarding our bar's closing times. We stop serving at 11pm for residents and non-residents Monday thru Saturday. On Sunday it is 10:30pm. Different hotels in our company have different closing times, depending on the business. Thank you for the review....

Longfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was no radiator or heated towel rail in the bathroom. On arrival, the radiator in the bedroom was turned off and the window was open so the room was cold when we needed to shower and dress for a party. The room (21) was average. Friends in room 20 had booked a superior room but said there was nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HartleyMags
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi HartleyMags, I am sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations. I do apologize for your room being cold on your arrival. Please be assured that I will pass on your comments to the housekeeping staff. Regarding the parking arrangement, as you said there are multiple signs outside clearly instructing overnight residents to enter their registration at...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was down in southampton for a job interview and wanted a place to lay my head for a decent night sleep prior to the interview. I arrived and was welcomed to the Red Lion. My first impressions were that it was a nice warm comfortable hotel and once i went up to my room the initial feeling was confirmed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cef1987
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cef1987, What a fantastic review! Thank your for taking your time to write it. Regards, Nick

Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited here in January for a meal with friends after a funeral. We had to pay to park the car - getting soaking wet in the process as it was pouring with rain and sleet, and we had to enter our number plate details in a poorly lit and uncovered car park....in a hotel!! The 2 hour parking cost...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan I
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jan, I am sorry to hear about your issues with the car park. Just like any other car park in the country you buy certain time periods to park. If you go over, you will be fined. This can be topped up if you think you went over your time. The ticket issued by the machine is time stamped,...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a really great meal here. Service impeccable with a smile, comfortable seating and lovely atmosphere. Recommend the crusted cod and the sticky toffee pudding was gorgeous. Went with a group of 10 and all meals were voted good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julia562015
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Julia, I am glad you and your group enjoyed your meals with us. Thank you for this fantastic review. Regards, Nick

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is a new parking system in place which makes this very undesirable. On the evening our group went the food was good but service was slow. I paid to park for 2 hours which was ample for a 2 course meal. However because servicei was slow, and by the time I ushered passengers with limited mobility to the the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna P
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Anna, Thank you for reviewing us. I am sorry that you felt the service was slow. However the ticket issued by the parking machine does have a timestamp on it. If you go over the time you can top it up before you drive your car out. If in doubt our reception staff could have helped you with it...

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We needed a b&b in/near Fareham, Hants, at short notice and the first one that appeared on the search engine was The Red Lion at a good price. It was fate. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon to a warm, clean hotel room, then went for a walk in Fareham centre. Later that evening we had a good meal and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thank you for this excellent review. Hope to see you again. Regards, Nick

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fareham hotels
1.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
3.8 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
929 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
0.3 mi away
The Roundabout Hotel
The Roundabout Hotel
#7 of 7 in Fareham
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fareham
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Red Lion Hotel Restaurant
Red Lion Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: East Street | Junction 11 off M27 motorway, Fareham PO16 0BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Price Range: $78 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Fareham, Hampshire
Red Lion Fareham
Fareham Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Rotherham, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
25 days ago
Southampton, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ground floor we had a double bed and single and was very roomy too”
 of 5 bubbles chez185, Jan 18, 2017 | Read review
“Use OldEnglish website to get discount voucher Jan-Mar”
 of 5 bubbles LeslieF514, Jan 12, 2017 | Read review
“Room 42, nice & spacious.”
  • Clean, comfortable & quiet.
 of 5 bubbles 605mikef, Jan 2, 2017 | Read review
“The new rooms are very good.”
 of 5 bubbles JamyHampshire, Jan 1, 2017 | Read review
“Superior room worth the extra room 20 v.good”
 of 5 bubbles pat_geoffwilkinson, Jan 1, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question