We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 553: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Spent a lovely evening here recently. Arriving in the early evening with screaming 2 year old in hand, I had booked the wrong date but the reception staff were able to rectify this and provide a beautiful room in the stable. The breakfast the following morning provided great variety, quickly made and tasted great. The staff in the restaurant were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bbrook1
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Spent two nights at the Red Lion. We were greeted by a nice gentleman on reception who explained everything very well and clearly to us, including the car parking procedure. Room was lovely size with all the usual facilities for Old English Inns. Staff at breakfast (Gillian) were excellent as were the evening serving staff, who went above and beyond...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herts1963
Portsmouth
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have decided not to lunch any more at the Red Lion due the cost of parking. Very bad move on Green Kings part. £1.50 as you enter the car park which will be taken off your food bill and then £1.50 for every hour spent there. If you only have a coffee or non alcoholic drink then no refund.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helpwithhols
Rada de Moraira, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

My single room had a four foot bed which was very comfortable. Hairdryers in every room and adequate bathroom if a little dated. Warm and cosy. The staff at both reception and breakfast were very attentive and the eggs benedict were to die for! The hotel received and printed out my British Airways boarding car without fuss or charge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is our 4th visit to this hotel and the first time we've stayed in the stable and I must say our room was absolutely lovely, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and the bed was so comfortable. The staff are really friendly and helpful especially the two ladies at breakfast! We have stayed at many old English Inns and this is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hannybec
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi hannybec, Thank you for this great review. As you said our hotel is located in an excellent position to explore and I am extremely happy that we have exceeded your expectations. I will pass on your positive feedback to the team. Regards, Nick

Arcene, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ths was the second time we have stayed here, on booking i was told that our room would be in The Annex, which didn't sound so good. We had arrived on an early flight but were able to get into the room at 11:30 and it was really excellent witha really comfortable double bed. I would ask specifically to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our annex bedrooms are our newest bedrooms that were built in September and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in them. Thank you so much for taking your time to write this excellent review. Regards, Nick

Havant, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was lovely but they have that awful Parking Eye system installed in the car park now and because of that we will never use them again. We did not realise it was there it was only installed on Friday okay there are signs but when your regulars like us you tend not to see them just hope we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hashtag01
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi hashtag01, First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time and write a review. I do apologize that you have lost faith in us due to the new car parking arrangements. We have done this new system to increase the security of our car park and to make sure that you feel happier in leaving...

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food was adequate, but wait from time of order was 48 mins until food arrived. This was particularly disappointing as the restaurant was only around 50% occupied. I was also concerned to find half a burnt wooden skewer in my meal, which I didn't identify until I had taken a mouthful of food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogbwall
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi rogbwall, I do apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. We do tend to get quite busy certain days of the week and we try to prepare food as fast as possible while keeping up our standards. I will definitely investigate why you ended up with a burnt wooden skewer in your meal and I will most certainly pass...

Essex
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Twin bed room. Bathroom cleaning standards poor. Hairs found in bath. Build up of dirt debris and lime scale around the taps. Coffee/tea offer worse than Premier Inn. No storage for clothes except hanging space. No suitcase stand or table. Reception staff not very accommodating. Recommend you stay in Premier Inn instead.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 261Tina
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 261Tina, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologise that you didn't enjoy your stay. Please be assured I will look into your comments with the housekeeping and reception staff. Regards, Nick

Titchfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here on an early Friday evening and it was heaving which is always a good sign. We opted for the meal deal menu and others in our party opted for the main menu. Huge choice. Food was fresh and the bean chili tasted lovely. Clotted ice cream was delicious. Friendly service too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maddiePortsmouth
Nick M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi maddiePortsmouth, Thank you for this excellent review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. Our chefs take great pride in preparing all the food and they will appreciate your positive feedback. Regards, Nick

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fareham hotels
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
3.8 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
887 reviews
1.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
0.2 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Fareham
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roundabout Hotel
The Roundabout Hotel
#7 of 7 in Fareham
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Red Lion Hotel Restaurant
Red Lion Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: East Street | Junction 11 off M27 motorway, Fareham PO16 0BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Price Range: $79 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Fareham, Hampshire
Red Lion Fareham
Fareham Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“my room 3 was on the ground floor overlooking a small garden and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles sandrasB1387QY, 1 week ago | Read review
“Choose the Annex ,rooms are on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisH315, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“most rooms face the rear or side of the property, was not disturbed by trafficNo lift but staff happy to help transport luggage upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 150pauline, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 63-64 good”
 of 5 bubbles Hickling, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“Ours was on the second floor, very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles raypoole, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay