We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Hart

06/05/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
White Hart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 171: English reviews
Start your review of White Hart
 Click to rate
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

White Hart was in a central location for the shops and restaurants in the centre. The pub does have an onsite car park however it's a first come first served basis. Luckily when we arrived someone was leaving so managed to get a parking space. There are car parks close to the hotel however pay and display and you'd have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolav1973
White H, General Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Valued Guest, Many thanks for your review, we strive for the best service and atmosphere so we pleased you enjoyed your stay, I have shared your comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back if you do visit again. Please contact us at whitehart.andover@marstons.co.uk if you have any further feedback that would have made this 4...

Gateshead_tyne_&_Wear
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night on route back home. The reception desk was not manned, had to wait for a member of staff from the bar to check us in. Our room was upstairs along various carpeted corridors and steps. The room was large but very stuffy, bathroom was large with a step in the bath shower. The long curtains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_Andy
White H, General Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Valued Guest, Many thanks for your review, as a former coaching inn dating back to the 15th Century we are not like a modern, purpose built hotel, which is what the majority of our guests find to be out biggest charm. With regards to the reception there is a sign stating to pop over to the bar if the desk...

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel for a couple of years for the BTCC Thruxton racing weekend, won't be back though. The standards at this establishment seem to have dropped through the floor. On arrival the reception is not manned, a member of the bar staff has to come out to check you in, fine if the bar is not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wightrobin
White H, General Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Valued Guest, Thanks for taking the time to review, we are sorry your visit fell short for you and wish you had discussed with us during your stay, the fault with your radiator has now been reported, with regards to the reception there is a sign stating to pop over to the bar if the desk is unmanned, but we...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I don't often find that I write a negative review and I'd like to think this one is more to give some constructive criticism - you do get what you pay for and again, I get that but what let this place down seemed to be areas of attention to detail that I'm sure could be dealt with. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marilla W
White H, General Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Valued Guest, Many thanks for your review, as a former coaching inn dating back to the 15th Century maintenance is a huge undertaking done on a rolling basis - some items such as an overhaul of all the light fittings to LED are currently underway, this is now completed, signs were in place explaining a few bulbs were remaining out...

Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 21, 2017

Breaking journey on route to visit friends. Very old buildings but with a lot of character. Room clean and very large. Very friendly staff and nothing is too much trouble for them. Mark ( General Manager) and Connor ( duty manager ) are a credit to Marstons and made our stay most pleasurable. Meals in bar are of good quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
White H, General Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Valued Guest, Many thanks for your review, we strive for the best service and atmosphere so we are over the moon we hit the mark for you, I have shared your comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back if you do visit again. Kind Regards Mark Leech MBII | General Manager

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

We decided to stop over in Andover on the way to the Isle of Wight. This hotel is well placed in the town centre and typical of an old building with its fabulous winding and uneven stairs. Our room was at the furthest point but it wasn't a problem at all. The room was large and clean but the ensuite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomcat401
White H, General Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Valued Guest, Many thanks for your review, we strive to give our inn guests a great, free breakfast every day and are often rated highly for it so it is disappointing when we miss the mark for a guest - I have shared your comments with our Kitchen Team, Should you wish to discuss your stay further do not hesitate...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 6, 2017

Very busy town centre pub / hotel run by Marstons - which didn't quite live up to Marstons stated commitment to ensuring everything is perfect. The room was clean-ish but really not clean enough - behind the bed on a step ledge was very thick grey dust rolling around and there was a suspect stain on the valance. But at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greylady16
White H, General Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Valued Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review, With regards to your bedroom issues we will discuss this with the housekeeping team as this is not what we would expect - our apologies. For information we do have all new replacement beds (mostly super-king) on our way this month so watch this space. Should you wish to discuss...

Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

The building is very old with allot of character. Very friendly landlord and staff. The room was functioning not many extras but for the great price I did not expect too much. Breakfast was very good. The place is always very busy with lots of people eating in the evenings . Evening meals are good with a wide choice. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
White H, General Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Valued Guest, Many thanks for your review, we have shared your review with the team and we look forward to your return visit. Kind Regards Mark Leech MBII | General Manager

Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 30, 2017

On site parking was a premium at this Hotel, first come first served, there were quite a few disappointed people turning up. The room was clean, tidy and spacious, however in the bathroom was an out of date sausage roll on the window ledge. Which suggests that the cleaners had not done a thorough job. As the room also didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pj0nah
White H, General Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Valued Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review, we do advise our car parking is limited and on a first come, first served basis due to the historic nature of our bulding, however there are several public car parks within a 2 minute walk. With regards to your added extra I will discuss with the housekeeping team as...

Ivybridge
Reviewed March 19, 2017

I like oldie world pubs and this is one, ok it is a bit worn and kind of slightly run down but it does have a few good points, these are its friendly approach and it does a good full English breakfast. When you first enter the White Hart your heart sinks a little as it is badly in need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BasilIvybridge
White H, General Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Valued Guest, Thank you for your balanced review, we are pencilled in for some refurbishment works over the next 18 months but we are really glad you could see past that and acknowledge the service the team give - this is our overall aim. We would love to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Mark Leech MBII |...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
06/05/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andover
0.1 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#2 of 8 in Andover
229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Andover Hotel
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Andover
Quality Hotel Andover
#8 of 8 in Andover
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
616 reviews
7.1 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,074 reviews
3.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Hart is an impressive building with history dating to the time of Charles I, with 22 querky rooms reflecting the age of the property each with their own appeal and character. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Hart

Address: 12 Bridge Street, Andover SP10 1BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover
Price Range: $64 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Andover
White Hart Hotel Andover
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from White Hart staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
West Witton, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from White Hart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“very stuffy rooms maybe cooler at the front of the hotel”
Barbara_Andy, 1 week ago | Read review
“Room 18 is awful”
Wightrobin, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Go high up the building on a busy Friday night if you want a quiet sleep however they do go quiet from about 11.00 ish”
greylady16, Apr 6, 2017 | Read review
“Ask to see 1or2 rooms then choose.”
yorktriper, Dec 24, 2016 | Read review
“unsure I haven't stayed but friends have and was considered to be OK”
stephenc827, Dec 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
LateRooms.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline$108
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates