We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Manchester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,421: English reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Who's Morgan - more later.... The hotel is a bit tired but bang in the middle of the Quays and a spit from Old Trafford - it's always going to be busy. My bedroom was nice but unfortunately I had to take the stairs to get there as the lift was 'out of order' I found the staff very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Smudla
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Carpet in room was very very threadbare with huge patches of carpet with no carpet tufts on at all and just the carpet backing visible. Room dated but clean.Receptionist staff said that they were aware of this problem and that some rooms were being upgraded. Was not impressed by this attitude or response. Room was very hot but could open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Wi-Fi was a no show for 2 days straight despite the "engineers working very hard on fixing this". The hotel restaurant was too expensive to dine in so we opted to go to the local tesco express and some restaurants nearby, proved a lot cheaper! Otherwise, the bed was comfy, the room had a nice view but I didn't appreciate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lajonquillenoire
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel was booked through a corporate site and the room rate included the evening meal, if I have to stay here again I would avoid that rate and if I couldn't then I would forgo the meal it was that bad. There is a Wetherspoons a few minutes walk away and even on a bad day they wouldn't be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roadking12
London
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Oh dear. If you're looking for a 70's throwback which hasn't been invested in since the Sweeney was on TV then you've found the right place. My previous experience of Copthorne mistakenly lead me to think this would be a nice hotel. Big error on my part. In fairness, friendly and efficient check-in. Nothing good apart from that unfortunately. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brushsalesman
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed there as part of a stag weekend, organised through a company. Firstly, if I had have been a guest at the hotel, I would not have been impressed that they had let a stag party stay. Upon arrival the lifts were not working. I didn't mind, but many people with suitcases (including many elderly people) were clearly struggling....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IAmTylerDurden
Tim C, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear Guest I apologise sincerely about the problems that you encountered Please be assured that all of your comments will be discussed amongst the team and if apprppriate, corrective action will be taken. Kind regards Tim Cadman General Manager

Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel staff were friendly, and the room very clean and comfortable. Breakfast a bit chaotic, but perhaps because too many people went at the same time and the staffing levels were inadequate. The area is handy for getting into the city centre and is quite close to the Metro stop. There are also places to eat fairly close by.The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 787JAYW
Barrow-in-furness
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for one night in May so as to be within easy reach of Old Trafford for the England cricket game (for which it is a good location). Unfortunately, this is the only good point about the hotel, the lift was out of order, which wasn't a problem for us, but pity any disabled guests who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GailNeil11
Tim C, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. I am genuinely sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. I appreciate that the hotel is dated and tired however the team work very hard to ensure everyone has a warm welcome. This month sees work start on refurbishing the fourth floor bedrooms and I do...

england
Reviewed May 28, 2014

very good value quality hotel within walking distance of both cricket and football venues at Old Trafford and the restaurants and attractions of Salford Quays , very polite and friendly staff , yes i would stay here again .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevin197580
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My partner and I were lucky enough to stay at your hotel on 23rd May . We normally stay city centre however as Paul Heaton Jacki Abbott concert was at The Lowry we thought would give you a try. It was a brilliant decision . From the moment we walked in we were made welcome.Nothing was too much trouble and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank singsarah23
Tim C, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for giving us a five star review, and your comments are a pleasure to read. The team do work hard to make everybody welcome and I will make sure that your review gets put onto the team notice board. We don't always get it right and the Company does need to spend some money...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

281 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (260)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Price Range: $72 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel Manchester staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Manchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“New toilet seats from IKEA would only set you back 75 pounds per room ;) Try it????”
 of 5 bubbles xavierl801, 6 days ago | Read review
“Anywhere away from the Hen Partied!”
 of 5 bubbles 523sarau, 1 week ago | Read review
“Go for club if you can overlooking the Water.”
 of 5 bubbles Chairman1010, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the quays. We were on ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles carolynnej192, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“"Ask for refurbish rooms with a Quay view very pleasant"”
 of 5 bubbles mikebW7349OG, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question