We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Special Offer
BOOK BEST HALF BOARD RATE
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for a weekend with National Holidays one week ago. Have nothing but praise for this lovely hotel - all the staff were very friendly and efficient - the food was excellent (compliments to the Chef) and our Room (No.16) was lovely. Must compliment our lovely driver Noel who we all felt totally safe with - he is a star!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen D
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We came on the off chance as a last minute whim, and have not regretted it for a moment. If you are a country type at hear the cotswold area is lovely . The hotel is a mile from Berkely in sizeable grounds in a rural location, and belongs to The Bay Hotel group. It isn’t”posh” but it is professionally... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your 'last minute' holiday and we are very grateful that you are happy to recommend us to other guests. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Solihull
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Spent two days at this hotel in January. One of the better Bay Hotels we have stayed in. We paid for a supieror room and it was lovely, very spacious. Food was very good with a good choice. Entertainment good but felt a bit sorry for the acts as there were not many people in the room but we had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ossieSolihull
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

A lovely review. we look forward to seeing you again and thankyou for recommending us. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a Shearings 5 day break. Despite the weather being not of the best this early holiday was made very enjoyable by a combination of "Good Well Run Hotel," "Well Planned Trips", and an "Excellent Driver". Very pleasant staff all round, and a nice clean wall decorated warm room. Entertainment was of a good standard, the only downside... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Hullah
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, its great to get some good feedback regarding the buffet style breakfast as it is currently being trialled. Glad you enjoyed the real ale having just replied to a review which said it was undrinkable its good to know that is not the case. I will pass on your comments to all the staff including... More 

England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned on Friday from midweek break with Shearings. We booked by phone with Shearings as I`m disabled to request a ground floor room and shower. The bookings lady was extremely helpfull and ensured my needs were met. The coach was very comfortable and Alan the driver could`nt have been more informative with local knowledge of the area making every... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank S5688PMpaul
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful review and so lovely to see staff individually named, thank you, I will pass on your praise to all concerned. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

excellent hotel with friendly and attentive staff .Meals were all very good with lots of choice and a veggie option.self service breakfast. Our room was very quiet on the ground floor. The Shearings driver , Alan , I can single out for special praise as informative,friendly, and never put a foot wrong as a driver,taking/returning my partners wheelchair from the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank stuart c
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am really pleased you enjoyed all aspects on your holiday. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Hessle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a hectic Christmas with the Family and Grandchildren we booked our First National Holiday Trip. The 4 days at the Prince of Wales Hotel were excellent overall the entire trip could not have been better except the weather which no one has control over. The hotel we knew was out on a limb but for the price paid and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Pleased you had a relaxing break after your hectic time and enjoyed your stay here, you made reference to the bar closing at 11pm, as you say a lot of the guests disappeared after the evening meal so it would not be practical or viable for bar staff to stay on later than 11pm and drinks cannot be served by... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights on a National coach holiday. The hotel is lovely and clean and the staff were pleasant. Our room was comfortable but the shower pressure could have been better. The food was excellent, there was a choice of three or four dishes at the evening meal which was hot and well presented. Unfortunately there is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am pleased you had a pleasant stay, not sure if there was a problem with the real ale when you were here because it is usually excellent beer from a great local brewery. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Morecambe
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took a 5 day coach holiday with Shearings, this is by far the best hotel we have had with Sheaings. Alan the coach driver was very well informed about the area and gave a dialog as he drove around. There was a coach trip every day to some very pleasant places.The only draw back to this hotel is the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bare-cple
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are slightly isolated but try to make up for it by looking after everyone during their stay, judging by your review we have achieved that which is excellent to hear. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great room, wonderful food, excellent service. This is my second visit and standards have not slipped, which in this day and age is surprising. Congratulations to Melanie and her team for their tireless efforts!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob G
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

A wonderful review, we look forward to seeing you for a third visit. I will pass your praise on to my hardworking little team. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel
5.0 mi away
Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel
21.4 mi away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
3.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
22.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 20 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay