We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fountain Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Fountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Fountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 24, 2016

We stopped here for lunch and loved the refurbishment since we were last here. The place is a lot brighter inside and had a good feel to it. Lunch menu was varied and well presented. The only small criticism would be that the baguettes had been too well heated and the top was too hard to eat we didn't stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lumleys_11
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 10, 2016

We called in for lunch and we were impressed by the refurbishment.The staff were lovely and the food was of excellent quality and value for money.The burgers were the best I've had for a long time.Judging by how busy the Fountain was on a Wednesday lunchtime this place is popular with locals and visitors.Well worth a visit. We didn't stay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diana J
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Alan and Michelle.

Reviewed March 8, 2016 via mobile

I'm one of a group of 7 guys that have just been on a mountain biking weekend. We wanted to ride the trails at the Forest of Dean trail centre. This Inn was local... approx 3 miles from the trail centre. We arrived at the trail centre at lunchtime Friday. It was a very wet, muddy affair. And when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJElsdon
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 8, 2016

We had a 3 night break in March and we can only speak highly of the pub. The room was clean and comfortable and the food was good quality pub food. (It was fully booked on both the Friday & Saturday) The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stop there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john f
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 26, 2016

An excellent, family-run pub with B&B accommodation. The room was comfortable, clean and affordable. The pub (and restaurant) was welcoming and the food - especially the Sunday carvery was of a high quality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 25, 2016

Good food on offer, but not an extensive menu, particularly for children to choose from. Prices have risen over the last few years, but the quality and service have remained the same. A good alternative to Whitemead for visitors to the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1970karen
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Fountain Inn. We're really sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the quality and service, but please don't let that stop you returning - as you can see from our other reviews your's was not a typical experience and we would welcome the opportunity to demonstrate the...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 7, 2016

I visited this pub for lunch during the Christmas holidays, and was very impressed. It was welcoming, and our food was excellent. I chose the home-made lasagne, and it proved to be about the best I've ever tasted! My friends had other dishes, and certainly weren't disappointed. Couple this with good beer and a comfortable, homely atmosphere, and I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roylav
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fountain Inn. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the future . Alan and Michelle.

redjelly10
Reviewed December 11, 2015

I went for a prebooked Christmas meal with some friends. The food was delicious, however we were not warned before hand of a group that apparantly use this pub for one weekend a year..the weekend we chose. They arrived about thirty strong and proceeded to sing sea shanties for at least four hours with no break. I understand the pub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redjelly10
AlanPowell, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your Christmas meal with us. Let me begin by offering my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced due to another group singing in the bar, which adjoins the dining room. The folk singers come every year, but it became apparent only on the afternoon of your booking that they...

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 2, 2015

Booked in for one night stop over on our way to Cardiff for the Rugby. A lovely friendly atmosphere, great food (and drink) in the pub and very comfy room. They also serve a range of gluten free foods. A real find!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliet S
AlanPowell, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, glad to hear you had a good time and enjoyed our gluten free menu, we understand how difficult it can be to find places to eat when you have food intolerances so make a real effort to make eating with confidence as easy as possible. Hope to see you again, best wishes Michelle Powell

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 28, 2015

This is a lovely place. It is clean and the beds are comfortable. Ensuite was good, no bath in our room, but I prefer showering. The staff are incredibly friendly. The attached bar and restaurant are great. Food is delicious and plentiful (make sure you are hungry). The ales are well kept.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LudLyn
AlanPowell, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, glad you enjoyed your stay, best wishes, Michelle Powell

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkend
110.4 mi away
Deanfield Bed & Breakfast
110.4 mi away
Whitemead Forest Park
Whitemead Forest Park
#1 of 2 in Parkend
429 reviews
110.4 mi away
Edale House
Edale House
#4 of 4 in Parkend
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Malt Shovel Inn
Malt Shovel Inn
#1 of 1 in Ruardean
51 reviews
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Award winning village inn, well known locally for its excellent meals and real ales. We are located in the heart of the Forest of Dean, less than one mile from RSPB Nagshead, and less than three miles from the cycle centre - making this an ideal base for exploring the surrounding countryside. All rooms are 4 star rated, en-suite and furnished to a high standard. Accommodation is offered in a variety of twin, double and family rooms. All prices include full English Breakfast and our staff will be happy to advise you on local tourist attractions and places of interest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Address: Fountain Way | Forest of Dean, Parkend GL15 4JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Parkend
Price Range: $61 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Inn Parkend, Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 1 I'm told has the strongest wifi signal compared to the rest.”
 of 5 bubbles frasere2017, Feb 2, 2017 | Read review
“there is a ground floor room with reserved/ disabled parking right outside”
 of 5 bubbles 557ljl, Jul 10, 2016 | Read review
“All good but better on the ground floor if you have mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles RodMayall, Jun 20, 2016 | Read review
“Direct access to outside, and disability aids in two ground floor rooms. Ideal for dog-owners.”
 of 5 bubbles charliee159, Nov 24, 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms have wi-fi and others are outside range - if important - check.”
 of 5 bubbles 383simonp, Aug 22, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question