We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal George Hotel

Traveler (186)
360
Panoramas (54)
Room & Suite (154)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
1,034Reviews
395Photos
6Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 433
  • 339
  • 150
  • 65
  • 47
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We just had a one night stay at the Royal George in Birdlip and can highly recommend it. The room was very good, clean, modern and the bed very comfortable. We had a great evening meal in the bar area and the breakfast in the morning was excellent.
Read more
Response from Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Royal George Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review, sounds like we got everything spot on and we looked after you well. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Joanne
Read more
Some TLC required. The bed board is completely worn (yes), shower curtains were a thing of the last century. Understaffed ( as usual in managed hotels) made us wait too long. I am almost sure management will react, better if they spend their time keeping hotel up to date. Maybe
Read more
Response from Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Royal George Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your feedback, our headboards are under review for refurbishment and our maintenance team are working through refreshing the rooms, I hope you will stop again to see an improvement. Kind regards Joanne
Read more
We were guests at a friends wedding at this really good venue. The room allocated for the service was perfect for our group. Photos were taken in the grounds around the gazebo. The food at the reception was excellent; well presented and delicious. Staff were friendly and
Read more
Response from Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Royal George Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for such a lovely review, this is so great to hear that we made everything perfect for Kevin and Claire to celebrate their special day and that all there guest enjoyed it too. I will pass you kind comments on, especially to the chefs. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Joanne
Read more
I booked a room online direct with Old English hotels, and chose the best deal price, and not the flexible price. Unfortunately due to illness in the family, I rang the hotel and asked to book on a different night, and was told that I would have to pay for the night I did not
Read more
Response from Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Royal George Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for you feedback I’m sorry that are not happy with Greenekings booking policy , all our guests have a choice of a non refundable rate or a flexible rate. As you mentioned you decided to chose the best deal price, so that was the gamble you took if you wasn’t able to arrive , previously if a guest isn’t going to arrive they claim it on there travel insurance. I have looked into your booking and I’m aware it was the morning of the day you was due to stay, I’m sorry you was unable to stay, however my receptionist was just doing her job and following company procedures. Kind regards Joanne
Read more
We were served with a delicious list of items for our evening meal; when they came shortly after ordering, they were nice and hot. The waitress, Serena, checked on us and ensured that we were well fed and watered. Great on price! Breakfast was on the house thanks to our
Read more
Response from Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Royal George Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Wow thank you so much for a lovely review, I know Serena and Rebecca will be really pleased to hear they contributed to your great stay. I hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Joanne
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$65 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel royal george
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsBirdlip
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing