We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in room 204. It started with being greeted at Reception by a lovely young lady , not quite sure how to spell her name, i believe it is Aizler. She ensured we had everything. Her customer service, her friendly personality and fantastic attitude is what would make me return to this hotel. Lovely room, not the biggest bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank NatalieSymone
ipswich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have just returned home from a weekend break at Crown Plaza Five Lakes and i feel i must warn other would be guests. On arrival we were duly impressed with the beautiful reception area and the check in was quick and the service Polite. I was however surprised to find that we had been put over in one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank redheadbird
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

It is appreciated that you have taken time out to review your recent visit to Five Lakes and I am sorry to read that after a positive check-in, there were some disappointing challenges for you. A standard room at the hotel can be situated in the main building or located in the Village complex and I am sorry that you... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Had an over night stay with my parter and have to say we will be back here again! Really big and clean bedrooms (air con a bit noisy by didn't bother us too much) used the spa facilities as well and that was amazing really relaxing, only criticism I've got is that we got no information about the hotel on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Five Lakes. I am delighted to know that you were happy with your accommodation and enjoyed using the spa and its facilities and found this to be relaxing. As part of our normal procedure at check-in, all guests... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been here 3 times now, once with my daughter, once with my sisters and now with my sister in laws. Have enjoyed it all 3 times. The rooms are really nice and have tea & coffee facilities in the room as well as a small fridge. The bathroom is a bit dated but ok with a bath and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shazi X
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to critique your recent visit to Five Lakes and I am very pleased to know that you have stayed with us several times with family members – and your loyalty is greatly appreciated. I am delighted that you found all things to be perfect for you during stay and when dining, your dietary requirements... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Once again 10/10 for a really great fun & value spa brake, we've had the best time, from the really warm welcome from the lovely Joe who remembered us last time (we are a bubbly bunch!) he went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our stay this time as well, also all the lovely ladies in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz C
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your delightful feedback following your spa break with us at Five Lakes. I am delighted to read that everything about your stay was perfect for you all. Thank you for specifically referring to Joey and Katie; they will both be thrilled to be mentioned by you here on Trip advisor as this recognition means so... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this golfing hotel for a weekend with a few friends and their kids. Kids ages ranged from 3 - 14, (10 kids in total!). The hotel grounds are great but we didn't get to see much as it was raining. Check-in and check out was fast, and service was very good. Free wifi is available in the rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamestpendletom
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

May I thank you for choosing Five Lakes Hotel as your preferred hotel destination to spend time with family, friends and children. Yes indeed, the hotel boasts so many fantastic facilities – there is always something for everybody, no matter what age group and I am delighted that you all had such a great time with us. Thank you again... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The perfect venue for a spa day or weekend break. There was a slight mix up with treatment times and difficulty trying to get through on the phone, however the staff dealt with this efficiently and very professionally on arrival. The treatments were to a very high standard, extremely relaxing and enjoyable as were the spa facilities including the pool,... More 

Helpful?
Thank _F00d_f4n4tic
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor, following your visit to Five Lakes. I am pleased to read that despite the mix up you refer to, this was quickly resolved to your satisfaction and I thank you for your understanding and patience. My Spa Manager, will be delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for a special family celebration. We booked interconnecting rooms which were very spacious and comfortable. We were upgraded to a suite the next day due to excessive cigarette smoke coming through the vents. The spa was nice but dated and lacked ambience. Breakfast was good and evening dinner was well presented.

Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your visit to Five Lakes and I am pleased to read that initially your accommodation was particularly pleasing for you. However, it is regretted that another guest chose to smoke in their room and consequently, the smoked seeped into your accommodation from the air vents, which must have been most unpleasant. However, as soon as... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Is so easy when you find a place like this and you know where to go back and enjoy. The best thing about this Resort is the area,when I was there it was cold but for the nice weather is just perfect.Our room was big enough for 2 adults and 2 children. I would like to say a big THANK... More 

Helpful?
Thank GeorgianaChifu
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing your visit to Five Lakes when you visited in October. I am delighted that your accommodating met your expectations and was perfect for your family. Your favourable comments regarding our team members working in housekeeping and the bars are gratefully received - you can be assured that I have already passed your positive feedback... More 

Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

here are my e mails i had to send to management whilst there... Hello my name is Debbie Kerr and I checked into Crowne Plaza Five Lakes today at 14.30ish. The room I was given was not satisfactory, on entry the left hand side walls paintwork was all peeling away and very unsightly as was wall next to bed ........ More 

Helpful?
Thank debbiedougal64
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

It is disappointing to read your review following your visit to Five Lakes and we offer once again our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. However, despite our best efforts to remedy the issues you had at the time and following emails between us, we are aware that you have now dealt with our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Tolleshunt Knights hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

266 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (182)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolleshunt Knights
5.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
13.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
14.1 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
17.4 mi away
Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#