We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,291: English reviews
Derby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stopped there as it was cheaper than the local holiday inn express. The reception area lacked natural daylight. Receptionist and staff were good. The rooms were average for a Crowne Plaza compared with other ones which I've used in the past. Wifi signal was strong throughout the building and the grounds were well maintained. No room upgrade for platinum IHG... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin B
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes and I have taken on board your critique as this helps us understand the guest experience. Meanwhile, I am sorry that on this occasion you were not offered an upgrade however, I am sure you are aware this is always dependent on availability. It is... More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Great hotel for weddings as has many rooms which are clean and modern There are many large areas to meet with lovely outside areas and 2 golf courses Service is good and food ok The hotel is a bit off the beaten track but set in the beautiful Essex countryside It has an indoor swimming pool and a spar The... More 

Helpful?
Thank clive k
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes and I appreciate your thoughtful review and personal insight into our hotel. It is fantastic to know that you are a regular guest to the hotel and therefore, your continuing patronage is very much appreciated. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Such a relaxing day with the girls lovely face massage lovely lady too think I actually fell asleep. Food nice good selection of hot and cold food. staff attentive and helpful. Nice relaxing friendly atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank chuckles_10
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

I am delighted that your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes was a wonderful, relaxing experience for you. My team are pleased that we met and perhaps exceeded your expectations. Looking forward to seeing you in the future. With kind regards More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed for two nights (Sun/Mon) for a training course being held at the hotel on the Mon/Tue. As an IHG Reward holder I have stayed in Crowne Plaza Hotels before so there was no second thought to book here as I'm used to their high standards. There is plenty of parking and the entrance and reception area to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dunney14
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor community following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. I appreciate you highlighting where we could improve and obviously going forward; your constructive feedback has already been discussed with the team and they will review and implement any improvements. Meanwhile, overall, I... More 

London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hotel has had a refurbishment since i last stayed, the room was clean and tidy with all the required amenities. I came for a spa day/night with a few girl friends. Unfortunately the Spa was a bit of a let down for us! The pool area looks like it's not been maintained for a while and is a real... More 

Helpful?
Thank FFJMGRT
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for continuing to choose Five Lakes as your preferred hotel destination. I am pleased that your accommodation, your dining experience were very positive and enjoyable elements of your visit for you and your friends. However, your feedback concerning the leisure club facilities is noted and I am sorry that you felt disappointed however, your candid feedback has already... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
538 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a lovely rural location. The room we had was spacious with 2 double beds. the leisure facilities were good with a nice big and warm and deep pool. The breakfast was good. We would certainly stop here again but probably make it a longer stay to enjoy the facilities a bit more.

Helpful?
Thank Tony_and_Kay
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to our hotel, Five Lakes. I am delighted to know that your stay was a lovely experience for you, so much so that you hope to return in the future. Thank you also for your award of five stars - this is fantastic.... More 

london
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked a spa package for myself and a friend. Hotel looks lovely on arrival. Room was not ready until 4.30 despite 3pm being check in, told they are very busy. The swimming pool allows children, I guess as its part of the hotel but if you come here for a spa break its not relaxing, a child had been sick... More 

Helpful?
Thank shoegal29
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. May I first of all apologise that you were unable to check into your accommodation until later and due to the anonymity of this page, I am unable to determine why. However, this is quite likely... More 

Travelers are raving about these Tolleshunt Knights hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a top class hotel. The rooms were decorated in a very soothing style, spa & pool were clean and tranquil. There is an onsite restaurant which serves food I only ate breakfast & it was cooked to perfection with gill English & continental options. The bar also served snacks & hot food - but if a long wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susie0712
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

How wonderful to receive your fantastic feedback along with your five star rating too - thank you. My Food & Beverage Manager and Executive Chef will be delighted to know that your dining experience at breakfast and also in Bar Lacu was most enjoyable. Finally, I am glad that you were able to dance the night away in our Pulse... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for my partners birthday. Had a lovely room though was surprised there was no air conditioning. Visited the Spa which was very pleasant, did not stay long in the swimming pool though as was half filled with children. Am a Starbucks addict so was over the moon with the Starbucks bar - just as good as any high... More 

Helpful?
Thank ABCJ16
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

It was so kind of you to take the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes and despite some issues that you have specifically referred to, it is clear to me that you had an enjoyable time with us. Meanwhile, I can assure you we take our... More 

Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been staying here regularly over the last few months for 3 or 4 days at a time. Stayed in room 146 and my colleague stayed in 144. It was near to the spa if you want to use those facilities but we found it was good for the gyms. Air con works well in that area and you get fast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting and continuing to choose Five Lakes as your preferred hotel destination. I am pleased to read that overall you are enjoying your time with us and making full use of the facilities. I have taken on board your comments about the noise disturbance you have described and have already passed this information to my Head... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

357 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (253)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Other (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (104)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolleshunt Knights
5.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
13.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
17.4 mi away
Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
9.0 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
14.9 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Five Lakes Hotel, Golf, Country Club and Spa is a 4 star hotel offering some of the finest and most extensive health, leisure and sports facilities in the area. Set in 320 acres the 194 en-suite bedrooms overlook the attractive countryside and each is spacious and comfortably furnished. There is a choice of restaurants and bars. Leisure facilities include a luxury spa, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and well-equipped gym. Golfers will enjoy the two 18-hole courses. Only an hour from London, and Stansted Airport, the hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Address: Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Tolleshunt Knights
Price Range: $102 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Hotel Tolleshunt Knights
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester 5 Lakes
Five Lakes Hotel Country
Five Lakes Resort Country
Five Lakes Hotel Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay