We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,492: English reviews
Start your review of Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
 Click to rate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We only booked the day before so I did not really get much of a chance to do any research on the place. Driving into the spa, the grounds are very pleasant to look at, so first impressions are good. There were two people on reception at 3pm when we checked out. She was a very cold person and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cambsgirl48
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

What the hotel lacked in facilities they made up for in great customer service. From Calin in main reception to Eddie in the swimming pool! All staff looked to be doing their best to make us feel welcome. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenapenn
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Did a one night three round golf break with my brother. Hotel was brilliant room was spacious and the deal we got was fantastic. Check in was so easy and the lady there couldn't do enough super helpful. All staff were so helpful and even though most were I'd guess Eastern European then did a sterling job. Food came as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
Adriana Santoro H, Hotel Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. We are delighted that your visit met and possibly exceeded your expectations; your comments regarding are team are also most welcome indeed, as is your particular mention of our Golf Pro - thank you. Based on your experience, we do hope we will have the...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at the crown plaza for a night with 2 friends. Was expecting to have a lovely relaxing spa weekend but it wasn't, children screaming and running around every where, I have my own children and was hoping to avoid the madness of children but I was surrounded by it . It's basically a hotel with a tiny swimming pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosy S
Adriana Santoro H, Hotel Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We are a Resort venue and cater for families and spa guests. Whilst we appreciate your feedback; we sincerely hope we will see you again and would recommend returning outside of the school holidays. Best wishes.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel facilities are excellent , the room was fantastic and spacious and comfortable, the breakfast food was excellent , staff are helpful and polite. Now the restaurant , we were seated at 7.30 pm and were finally served desert around 10.30 pm. Obviously there are not enough staff to cook the food and serve the tables. On our table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Adriana Santoro H, Hotel Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon in order to delver the standards that we pride ourselves on. With kind regards

Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a great weekend here. The golf was ok, greens and fairways could probably do with some attention but none the less still two great courses to play! The twin rooms have massive beds in them and are really comfortable with great pillows. The rooms are very quiet due to its location and very dark from the black out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren R
Adriana Santoro H, Hotel Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are delighted that overall your visit was a most enjoyable one. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. With kind regards

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Review Appalling service in restaurant Saturday evening. Ear splitting noise levels, very echo-y surroundings, the staff had difficulty hearing our orders. Dreadful delays in service, we were a party of 8 and at no time did we eat a course together. Cold starters arrived before hot ones, 3 starters arrived and were finished before the rest arrived. Main courses equally...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Linds2015
Adriana Santoro H, Hotel Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. As you will be aware by now, we have communicated directly with you. We are sorry that your visit did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Kind regards

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I treated my wife and daughter to a spa day with there friends , on arrival while waiting for treatments , there was no drinks available as coffee machine broke down , only offer us water , which was very bad , the staff didnt seem to care when we complained ,as we waited 2 and half hours while our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alan l
Adriana Santoro H, Hotel Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. Our apologies if you felt your visit did not meet your expectations and you experienced some inconvenience. I can confirm that your Spa Day comprised of a mini-treatment, lunch in the restaurant and use of the hotel’s leisure facilities, I am sorry if you did not feel it was...

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my partner have stayed here many times.. Every time we want a night away its always this hotel that draws us back. Staff are very accommodating and nothing is to much trouble. We did have one complaint which was sorted out quickly. 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MCampbell78
Adriana Santoro H, Hotel Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for continuing to choose Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes, we appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. Our team will always do their level best to ensure our guests have an enjoyable time, so thank you for commenting so positively. Looking forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I thought I would treat my Fiancé to a nice relaxing break at this Spa Hotel...unfortunately it didn't go to plan. First impression was good as we walked into the reception area but it all went downhill from there. Lunch was ok but served luke warm and was very expensive. I had a full body massage which was great I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JDansie
Adriana Santoro H, Hotel Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. I am sorry that your spa experience did not meet your expectations. As you have experienced Five Lakes is not an exclusive spa resort but rather a four-star hotel with a variety of facilities. However, we...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

453 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (349)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (179)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolleshunt Knights
5.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
520 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
17.4 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
721 reviews
13.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
389 reviews
9.0 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Five Lakes Hotel, Golf, Country Club and Spa is a 4 star hotel offering some of the finest and most extensive health, leisure and sports facilities in the area. Set in 320 acres the 194 en-suite bedrooms overlook the attractive countryside and each is spacious and comfortably furnished. There is a choice of restaurants and bars. Leisure facilities include a luxury spa, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and well-equipped gym. Golfers will enjoy the two 18-hole courses. Only an hour from London, and Stansted Airport, the hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Address: Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Tolleshunt Knights
Price Range: $87 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Hotel Tolleshunt Knights
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester 5 Lakes
Five Lakes Hotel Country
Five Lakes Resort Country
Five Lakes Hotel Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay in the Village rooms”
johnpJ8531OR, 5 days ago | Read review
“Don't book here”
Linds2015, 6 days ago | Read review
“request a golf course view, it beats the car park or the terraces”
JamesT992, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Didn't see rooms in main building but the villas were excellent.”
JohnE519, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms are quiet and should have good views as the hotel is surrounded in lovely grounds except a carpark of course.”
stevepX4875PU, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question