We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,398: English reviews
swansea
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Arrived late morning, shown to our room which was clean but dated and well worn. The bathroom needed attention. We were lucky enough to be able to have spa treatments with Chloe which was excellent. The relaxation room is the best we have been to. We had our evening meal in the restaurant which was very nice and the service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nellSwansea
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

a large number of us stayed here for a corporate event. many us of found the rooms were far too hot and slept with windows and door open. good to have the pool on site but didnt have time to try it. note no way of getting any cash on site. had to drive out to tipree, 10 minutes drove...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AC00ke1
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just returned home after a two night stay here. The Hotel is lovely set in the middle of nowhere. We were visiting relatives in Maldon so was ideal for us. The reception staff were very welcoming especially as my husband is a spire elite member . Our room was spacious and the bed huge ! Very comfortable. We were however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candis T
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

May I first of all thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes as your preferred destination on this occasion and we appreciate you taking the opportunity to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that your stay was impacted by noise disturbance caused by other guests and children in the early hours...

Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved this place! The rooms really were perfect, I visited with my mum and we had a huge double bed each :) The swimming pool was a bit cold but the Jacuzzi was very nice. We had lunch in the bar and that was lovely, then had buffet dinner in the restaurant which was also very nice. Also loved breakfast!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgiajc
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort - Five Lakes and I am delighted that both you and your mum enjoyed your stay with us, having an overall enjoyable experience. I am unable to identify our Reception Associate who you found to be helpful and welcoming however, I have already passed...

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Shocking lighting around resort. Couldn't find room. Check in took £50 deposit when booking in when they shouldn't have. Room is okay. Better than a travel lodge but nothing special that warrants the cost. Food (at our charity event) was poor. There was more plate on view than food. Profiteroles were shocking. Bordering on frozen from being in fridge too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your recent visit, although it is disappointing that you felt your experience was not the one you were hoping for as expressed in your posting. The £50 deposit to which you refer to would have been a pre-authorisation. Pre-authorisation of credit cards as check in is a procedure used by hotels throughout the UK and...

Liverpool
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights recently. Absolutely lovely hotel super king beds in lovely spacious rooms I was in 118, view wasn't much however food was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough for you especially the breakfast staff. My only complaint if there had to be one is it has no transport links at all so it taxis or car...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johndunn5707
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes and award us an outstanding five stars. I am delighted that your visit was such an enjoyable occasion for you in all respects and I can assure you that all our team will be delighted that your stay...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a terribly long drive in the rain I got parked up, grabbed my bags and went to the reception desk to check in. I found out my booking was for the day after I arrived. Oh dear! The hotel was very busy, it was after 1900 and I really didn't fancy more driving and finding somewhere to stay. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dr_Waugh
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I can appreciate the disappointment you initially felt to learn that your booking was for a different day, so I am delighted that Abi, our Reception Supervisor, was instrumental in turning around what could have been a complete disaster to a positive experience for you. It is also fantastic to know that your room service...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay here. Only stayed for the night. All the staff were friendly. We had a room with 2 double beds and they were very soft and comfy! Even had a minibar (empty) that we could put drinks in. Bathroom was equipped with toiletries and the shower was very powerful! The food I have to say,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Simone O
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. I am pleased to read that you had a great time with us and all elements of your stay were enjoyable for you, particularly your accommodate and your dining experience, I can assure you my team will be delighted to hear...

yorkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza for one night as we were attending a surprise birthday party been held there. Beautiful hotel with picturesque grounds. The room was modern with probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in at a hotel. The staff were polite and helpful.Would definatley recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank no1nurse
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for letting us know that your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes was such an enjoyable experience for you. The comfort of our beds is often commented upon and I am pleased that you too found your bed to be so very comfortable and obviously a great night's sleep is key to...

Mersea Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fantastic day and evening at this venue in which our friends daughter got married and had their reception their. The hotel staff looking after their wedding were really on the ball, and the surroundings just perfect for todays modern wedding. We all thought the food was excellent, my only comment would be the drink prices were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MerseaRay
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. I am delighted to read that your recent experience at Five Lakes met and exceeded your expectations in all areas. Our team will always do their level best to ensure that our guests have a memorable and enjoyable experience, so...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

432 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (328)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (167)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolleshunt Knights
5.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
491 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
13.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
569 reviews
17.4 mi away
Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Five Lakes Hotel, Golf, Country Club and Spa is a 4 star hotel offering some of the finest and most extensive health, leisure and sports facilities in the area. Set in 320 acres the 194 en-suite bedrooms overlook the attractive countryside and each is spacious and comfortably furnished. There is a choice of restaurants and bars. Leisure facilities include a luxury spa, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and well-equipped gym. Golfers will enjoy the two 18-hole courses. Only an hour from London, and Stansted Airport, the hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Address: Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Tolleshunt Knights
Price Range: $86 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester 5 Lakes
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Hotel Tolleshunt Knights
Five Lakes Hotel Country
Five Lakes Resort Country
Five Lakes Hotel Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay in the hotel and not the chalets (which is what reception call them, personally I think 'apartments' would be more classy).”
 of 5 bubbles jackiew455, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“did not stay over night”
 of 5 bubbles MerseaRay, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Close to spa are”
 of 5 bubbles carmelr2013, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Avoid the Village!”
 of 5 bubbles LondonKinsey, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The village rooms are quiet and comfortable but definitely eat out”
 of 5 bubbles 878ahmedr, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay