We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Southend on Sea

0.6 miles from Southend-on-Sea center
    Enter dates to see best deals
    Check In Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    More options
    View Deals
    We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
    1 room 2 adults 0 children
    View Deals
    Close 
    Chichester Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2JY, England
    Special Offer
    From £29
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language
    Showing 253: English reviews
    Start your review of Travelodge Southend on Sea
     Click to rate
    Banbury, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very spacious for my family and was also very comfortable. There was very little noise from outside considering it is located right in the centre of town. There was also little noise from other guests in the hotel.

    Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank 670caraw
    Derby, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Reception stank dirty carpets and also horrible service no clean water to drink and room was freezing. Noisy location too too much noise outside not a good stay at all. Could not use the vending machine as it does not accept the new £5 note just needed to buy some water and no change at reception either

    Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank amandasD1991GZ
    TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

    We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience at our Southend on Sea Travelodge but we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review. We would like to hear more about your stay, therefore may we kindly request you contact us via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank...

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    Good Travelodge with very friendly staff nice and clean couldn't fault it for the price. Going back staying again in may for 4 nights. Well positioned for everything in Southend. Little bit of noise heard but didn't disturb us at all.

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Jamesashy
    TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

    We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our Southend on Sea Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn that during your stay your room was clean. We're happy to note that our hotel team were friendly and helpful throughout your stay and that the location was ideal for you; we will be...

    Stogursey, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Basic, but you get what you pay for, and therefore good value. No facilities in the actual hotel, but plenty of nearby establishments for breakfast etc etc. Actual location very down market though. Staff friendly.

    Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Jimbobgubbins
    TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team. at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

    We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one. Your feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be passed to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again...

    London, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Never experienced awful service like this before. Travelodge had a hold of my money (and still do), even tho we have paid for our stay. Their card machine declined my card, even though I had enought money on it, and when I opened my bank the money were gone. The lady at the desk told us we still had not...

    Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank T7631MG
    TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

    Thank you for submitting your review of our Southend on Sea Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting...

    Hastings, United Kingdom
    Reviewed January 12, 2017

    I needed to stay overnight and the hotel was clean and tidy, the hot water was hot. the staff were friendly and helpful, and able to direct me to my next day's destination. Excellent value for price paid. Recommended.

    Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank bernardcH3233IU
    Essex, United Kingdom
    Reviewed December 27, 2016

    its not the greatest of hotels equally i guess it isn't the worst however if i could stay elsewhere I would. Its not the greatest on cleanliness as I had to clean shower myself before using, perhaps staff need further training. Noise pollution due to location which i did not mind however some people might. also be prepared for the...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Aubern-x
    TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

    Thank you for taking the time to review our Southend on Sea Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on...

    Essex, United Kingdom
    Reviewed December 20, 2016

    The hotel is in a central location, basic and clean. Janet on reception was very nice, as was the other member of staff who's name i didnt catch. The front rooms are on a bust road, but really didnt hear much noise at all.

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Dean H
    TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

    Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We want all our guests to enjoy their time with us and we are really pleased to learn that this was achieved and that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and the service from our staff. It is also our aim to offer accommodation in convenient locations and we...

    Canvey Island, United Kingdom
    Reviewed December 19, 2016

    Hotel offered me exactly what we wanted, great price, good customer service, clean and tidy room and very quiet. we will definitely use hotel again. Hotel location was ideal for my purpose and the room offered everything that I needed

    Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank leepQ7467WY
    Chelmsford, United Kingdom
    Reviewed December 11, 2016

    Close to all areas but Travelodge sign was not correctly working. However security was good and the rooms were really nice 😁. Tea and coffee wasn't refilled in room but room was clean. Bed was comfortable, pillows comfortable. Reception staff were friendly.

    Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank O5937PKsusand
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    30 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All Traveler Photos (20)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (6)
    Viewed
    Hotel & Grounds (4)
    Viewed
    Dining (1)
    Viewed
    Other (9)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All Management Photos (10)
    Viewed
    Hotel & Grounds (2)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (4)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (4)
    Check In Check Out
    Hotels you might also like...
    Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
    1.0 mi away
    Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
    Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
    #1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
    623 reviews
    0.4 mi away
    Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
    Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
    #12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
    1,110 reviews
    1.9 mi away
    Holiday Inn Southend
    Holiday Inn Southend
    #6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
    698 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    0.2 mi away
    The Last Post
    The Last Post
    #4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
    251 reviews
    0.6 mi away
    Westcliff Hotel
    Westcliff Hotel
    #2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
    547 reviews
    1.5 mi away
    Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Amenities

    About the property
    • Non-Smoking Hotel
    • Wheelchair access
    Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Accessible rooms
    Internet
    • Paid Wifi
    • Paid Internet

    Additional Information about Travelodge Southend on Sea

    Address: Chichester Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2JY, England
    Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
    Amenities:
    Wheelchair access
    Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Southend on Sea 2*
    Number of rooms: 56
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Travelodge Southend on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    Also Known As:
    Travelodge Southend On Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
    Southend On Sea Travelodge
    Southend-On-Sea Travel Lodge
    Travel Lodge Southend-On-Sea
    Travelodge Southend On Sea Southend-On-Sea, Essex
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
    Claim Your Listing

    Questions & Answers

    Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Southend on Sea staff and other travelers.
    8 questions
    Ask a question
    Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Southend on Sea staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    “Ask for a quiet room - just incase its one of those odd nights.”
     of 5 bubbles Howard-Liverpool, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
    “Front or back makes no difference - both noisy from about 0530 onwards so no lie in.”
     of 5 bubbles 390carlt, Sep 10, 2016 | Read review
    “Go elsewhere!”
     of 5 bubbles AlanHathaway, Aug 20, 2016 | Read review
    “Proper cleaning of the bed required!. Soiled and dirty sheet I found with hair in the bed disgusting.”
     of 5 bubbles zappy2014, Aug 5, 2016 | Read review
    “Be aware of the doors making noise when closing on their own.”
     of 5 bubbles 745samp, Jul 31, 2016 | Read review
    5 of 5
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question