We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Southend

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Southend
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

633 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 607: English reviews
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Room had a good view of runway, was an executive room but was just a standard style room really and the £15 extras were a few little bottles of shampoo, a kit Kat and one water, no bathrobes as described. It was for our 20th wedding anniversary so we ordered champagne for our room for 11:00 pm, this was ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank clare4204
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute as my flight was going to be late arriving. The rate was great! The hotel is a very short walk around the corner from London Southend Airport (the train station is directly across the street from the airport). The staff was very welcoming. The hotel itself is stunning! My double room was spacious enough to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ntangbl
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight prior to early take off. Check in was friendly but can't understand why our credit card details needed to be taken again, since we gave this information on line when making the booking. Seems a duplication and wastes time. Room was clean and perfectly adequate for a night's stay . Our room was quite near to the lifts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bigworldsmallwallet
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bar was a bit pricey,rooms were cleaned at odd times of the day.only plus side was the friendley staff and good breakfast.Food bar snacks etc were very pricey £5 just for a sandwich im sure they would get more customers if they charged sensible prices

Helpful?
Thank bazar2410
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks for your comments and suggestion. The 1935 roof top restaurant is the only roof top restaurant and bar in Essex. It is AA accredited restaurant in a 4* property. We try to offer our products at competitive prices and try our best to cater through different offers such as 2 courses, bar menu and many more. Sorry... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a birthday party to attend locally and stayed here overnight. Nice air-conditioning in the rooms, basic and modern. Downside was having to pay for parking. Should be free for customers. they discount it to £7:50. great choice of breakfast everything you could ask for and friendly efficient staff. Would have got full marks if it had the free parking.

Helpful?
Thank Gary C
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear Sir I hope we supported the purpose of your visit. I am very pleased to know that service , friendliness, efficiency, modern rooms and as much you can eat full English breakfast impressed you. I apologize about the parking issue. The parking works in conjunction with south end airport. All the other matters of safety and security come into... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited reception to arrange a future stay and to arrange a small family gathering at the hotel. Dealt with by Amy ( hope that is the correct spelling) who was very nice and extremely helpful. She gave a brilliant first impression of the hotel. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Rod B
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

I am very pleased that Amy was able to deal with the situation. Amy is one of our team members who goes over and above to exceed the customer expectation. We are really proud of her. We look forward to see you and your family at the hotel. Many thanks for your comments. Regards More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely new hotel and spotlessly clean. Very friendly staff and a nice restaurant overlooking the runway at Southend airport. The only complaint was the room was too hot with air con off and too cold with it on and noisy which made it difficult to sleep. Overall though a nice hotel and convenient for the airport which is a 4... More 

Helpful?
Thank HELEN S
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for your comments . I apologize that air conditioning was not up to your standards. Our reception is manned 24/7; any issues can be raised by dialing 0. We are very efficient in resolving most of problems and if we aren't able to do so we offer our guest a different room. However we... More 

Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I fault this hotel was amazing, considering it's just a standard hotel, our rooms were lovely & the decor was beautiful. We loved the rooftop bar, we was watching the planes land & we had a few starters from the restaurant and they were lovely & the staff were very polite and smiley! Defo recommend this hotel!

Helpful?
Thank jadechris123
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Many thanks for the positive feed back you have given us regarding the service, friendliness of the team , amenities , security and room size. I am glad you enjoyed the starters in our 1935 roof top restaurant & bar , the only one in the whole of Essex. Once again thank you for the positive feed back,I'll make sure... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here in July. The location is right next to the airport and train station. The reception was well staffed with helpful staff. The room was very clean and well appointed. I had an evening meal in the restaurant. I cannot rate high enough how good this meal was, it was of a standard I would expect in a top... More 

Helpful?
Thank grom894
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Many thanks for the positive feed back you have given us regarding the service, friendliness of the team , amenities , and room. I am glad you enjoyed the cocktails in our 1935 roof top restaurant & bar , the only one in the whole of Essex. Once again thank you for the positive feed back,I'll make sure I'll take... More 

Cheriton Bishop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice hotel, it's relatively new with very comfortable, clean and up to date rooms. Breakfasts fine, lovely bar area. Staff warm and welcoming, I have been here several times and would not hesitate to use again.

Helpful?
Thank skelington
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear guest I'm so glad each time you come to Holiday Inn South end and we live up to your expectations. I will take the comments to the team and I am sure they will be chuffed. We look forward to serve you again Many thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

268 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (121)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 18 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#2 of 18 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#5 of 18 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 4 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: $83 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southend 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay