We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Southend

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Southend
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 592: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in an executive room which was spacious and spotless. Sadly no view over the airport as the windows are frosted. Probably to stop people seeing in, I do not know. However, it did stop any aircraft noise so a very quiet room. We ate in the restaurant and there was plenty of choice. My starter was potted ham... More 

Helpful?
Thank Josephine H
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay in one of our sound proof room. I'm also very pleased to know that your dining experience at the 1935 roof top bar and restaurant , the only roof top restaurant & bar in entire Essex was to satisfaction. However I do apologies that you... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staying in Southend for the weekend and wanted to stay somewhere special. The Holiday Inn is quite a new, modern hotel and seemed to be the best option for us in the region. Our stay was perfect, nothing too much trouble for the lovely staff. Our room was on the third floor and had a corner position, an executive king.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Excellent food very good service staff very attentive we were not rushed and the menu was brilliant i have never tasted beef like it having beef and ale pie ----- lovely and as for the cheese board enough for sharing and wonderful selection of different cheeses Well done Holiday Inn and Staff

Helpful?
Thank tiddi2015
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Holiday Inn's location at Southend Airport is of course first and foremost functional. However, this hotel goes further in that they welcome people to this lovely and varied area of Essex. Southend is a truly nice place to enjoy a few days of leisure and fun! The Holiday Inn ticks all the expected boxes... clean, comfortable, modern, attractive decor, super... More 

Helpful?
Thank spirazzi
Rohit S, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

What a fantastic read and I thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay and the top rating. We are delighted that your stay was wonderful and that we created a joyful memories. Regards, Rohit More 

Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfect location for a pre holiday hotel with runway views! (Soundproof windows) Just a 5 min walk to the terminal building. Customer service is brilliant. Lovely breakfast with good choice but could be a little hotter. The room is luxurious, very modern and clean in all areas. Comfortable too. Opposite a retail park with a McDonald's. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank overingmatthew
Rohit S, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a positive review. I am pleased to know that we provided you with brilliant customer service. We aim to give each guest a brilliant stay at Holiday Inn South-end . As a part of continuous improvement I will take the breakfast feedback to chef and improve on it. Finally , I will make sure to... More 

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night before flying from Southend Airport and it was a perfect location, easy to find and you could barely hear the airport. The restaurant on the top floor has a fabulous view and the food is good. The beds are the largest I have ever seen in a hotel of this level and are very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
Rohit S, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Many thanks for the positive feed back you have given us regarding the bed size and comfort, amenities , car park facilities and security. I so pleased to hear that you had a great dining experiance in our 1935 roof top restaurant & bar , the only one in the whole of Essex. Once again thank you for the positive... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Shame breakfast finished at 9.30?? But you can have Chips or garlic bread , I found that rather strange? Most places you can have breakfast until 10am Very disappointed. Not everyone wants it so early. I know it's a buffet style so what would be a problem keeping it open later?

Helpful?
Thank Archiebaldy
Rohit S, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - I'm sorry to know that you weren't able to avail our breakfast service due to breakfast closing timings. However wanted to keep you informed that breakfast is also available through room service until 11am during the week days and midday at weekends Thank you for your honest feedback.... More 

UK- South East
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As others have said, the hotel is modern and is in good decorative order throughout. The rooms are both spacious and have all the amenities you should require for a short stay, rooms overlooking the airport are great with perfect soundproofing! I often have problems with Holiday Inn beds being too bouncy and those that dip in the middle, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank ollie1990
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear guest We really appreciate your genuine feedback. Firstly let me thank you for giving us appreciation for customer service , room size and amenities. I apologies that we have let you down at the restaurant & bar front. I have raised your concerns with the restaurant team and the reception team. The team is very sorry that they weren't... More 

Pencoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed here for one night at end july. very close to airport but noise minimal. Staff all very helpful, hotel clean and well run. Bit on expensive side but for hotel airport to be expected. would definately stay again

Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. Me and my team are very delight to know that you had a great stay at Holiday Inn South end airport. We look forward to serve you again Many thanks More 

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is clean, modern, and the staff is courteous Restaurant is excellent. We stayed ten days. The property is a five minute walk from South End Airport and the train station. The train runs every twenty minutes, 26 pounds to Liverpool station in London. Best UK hotel I've ever used. Everything was in perfect repair. Hair dryer in the room,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Boomer2_11
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam We really appreciate the positive comments you have mentioned. We will let the hotel team know about the comments. We will keep up our standards and we look forward to serve you again. Many thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

261 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (140)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 18 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#2 of 18 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#5 of 18 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 4 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: $94 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southend 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay