We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Saracens Head Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Saracens Head Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 232: English reviews
Kilmaurs, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed 3 nights and attended a wedding locally. Fantastic hotel with a beautiful room - boutique style with many original and quirky features. Great breakfast, atmosphere and staff who were so helpful and welcoming. Live music venue with a quaint market town to explore during the day. We will be back 😃

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joolz0608
London
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I can see from the other TripAdvisor reviews that the Saracen's Head divides opinion. Not surprising. There are some things about it which warrant five stars; others that suggest three or less. This was our second visit, and we'll go again, but a little bit of improvement would make the world of difference. It's a really nice, historic but modernised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lovely place with fantastic staff. Myself and my wife had a three course meal which was well cooked with large portions. The staff were attentive but not over bearing, always there when they were needed but in the back ground the rest of the time. We had the charcuterie starter and this was nice to munch through while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ItfcRules
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Saracen's Head in Dunmow as we were having dinner locally and didn't want to drive. We stayed in room 9, which was a good size, overlooking the car park. The bathroom was perfectly clean and although it was a little bit tired looking, with a slightly damaged bath and some discoloured grout, the fluffy towels and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G134Smith
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I were shown the special £10 lunch menu. We had to wait as the dishes we had chosen had to be cooked. We had the beef and onion pie. The meal was piping hot when it came. The mash potato and vegetables were well cooked. The pie's main ingredient seem to be mainly carrot. We finished off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place was a joy. From the helpful reception guy to the massive comfortable bed in a courtyard outbuilding. We arrived late(ish) and were sent off to the courtyard where we let ourselves into a huge room with beautiful beams and loads of space. It was pretty much straight to sleep after a quick half an hour of TV and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 0TBC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved my stay here. Staff are attentive, friendly and the room i stayed in was v. clean. Had a great dinner too. I stayed here for business - its a 20 min car journey from stansted airport will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bee W
Sarah B, Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Bee, Thank you for taking your time to review our beautiful Hotel. We would love to see you back down here again soon. Hope you had a safe flight. Regards, Manager.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel whilst visiting some family for a siblings birthday party. I'm not a fan of chain hotels so I thought that the Saracens Head would suit our preferences better. After viewing the photos online and searching through their website, I decided to call and book a room. The girl on reception was so polite and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia_palmer
Sarah B, Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Anastasia, Thank you for taking your time to write such a lovely review. As a family-run business we really strive to go above and beyond to welcome our guests and ensure their stay is of a very high-standard - so hearing your feedback and knowing we are achieving it makes it all the more worth it :) For taking your...

bedford
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I will never stay there ever again even if you paid me! On arrival, the dates my company had booked me were wrong but the girl on the desk was polite and friendly and amended them. But then it took almost 10 minutes for the poor girl...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michaelanesbitt1436
Sarah B, Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Michael, Unfortunately you have reviewed the wrong Saracens Head Hotel as there is another Saracens Head locally which is not affiliated with us. The description that you have given does not match any of our rooms and we have not had any late night parties since before Christmas. If you are back in the area soon we would love to...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights, room was ok, bathroom only acceptable. Room was comfy and quite, with a kettle, tea and coffee. Initially biscuits but they did not replenish..... room was knocked around in places but ok, bathroom on the other hand was dated and not very special. Floor looked grubby and sink unit was all knocked around. Room window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MGtourer
Sarah B, Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hello MGrouter, Thank you for your review. We have just gone under new management and very excited to announce that one of the new changes we are making is to renovate the bathrooms over the next two months. I am very sorry to hear of your nail - that is awful and we would've been more than happy to assist...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Dunmow
8.9 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
232 reviews
24.6 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,565 reviews
12.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
371 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This grade II listed building once a traditional coaching inn, set in the historical market town of Great Dunmow, has been fully restored and re-furbished back to a beautiful bar, restaurant and hotel. Find us just off the A120 – we’re about 6 miles from both and only 12 minutes from Stansted Airport. Our menus are thoughtfully created and changed with each season.Free WIFI to all guests and visitors. Enjoy superb food prepared using the freshest local ingredients, with timeless classics and innovative specials. Everything is cooked to order using as much local produce as our head chef can buy, and served in stylish, relaxed and modern surroundings. Our Sunday roast is fast becoming legendary and is served all day. Join us any time for great food and drink and warm, friendly service.We have 31 en-suite rooms each with room service, free wifi and a delicious breakfast served in the morning. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Hotel

Address: High Street, Great Dunmow CM6 1AG, England (Formerly Saracens Head Hotel Great Dunmow)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Dunmow
Price Range: $71 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saracens Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saracens Head Hotel Great Dunmow, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Saracens Head Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The hotel is on the main road. I assume there would be traffic noise at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles harrym890, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Junior suites are incredible rooms with great space”
 of 5 bubbles 949beew, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Courtyard rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles T9186AAjohnh, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask to be in the main hotel and not outside in winter”
 of 5 bubbles JuneG142, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“I only went to eat.”
 of 5 bubbles mickchicken, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question