We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Bell Hotel Epping

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Bell Hotel Epping
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 341: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are very old fashioned and basic however we only stayed here for 1 night whilst attending an event near the Olympic stadium. Its not too far from the train station - but probably too far too walk. We stayed upstairs and it was very old and tired and in need of redecoration however when walking through the downstairs corridor,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ALIH186337
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights in one of the superior rooms as we were attending a wedding. The bride and groom recommended this hotel as it was close to the venue. Our room was nice. It was spacious and cleaned every day. There was a fridge in the room which came in handy if we wanted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate S
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked online to stay one night as attending a wedding. On arrival, about 8 very scruffy men were sat outside smoking, they looked very much like migrants. They leered at me, and followed my every move from car or reception , I felt very uncomfortable and when I asked the receptionist they were quickly ushered down the corridor into... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn281

Travelers are raving about these Epping hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Past its best to say the least. The room smelt of damp,the cups were not clean as you can see. Couldn't turn the hot tap on in the sink. The hotel whole place is very tiered and not very clean. Fortunately the bed was clean and comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank 11864
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The above is the best thing I could possibly say about this hotel. It had an ok room. Cannot complain about that. I booked the hotel on late rooms, on check in the receptionist attempted to charge me more than the booking fee. He could not make eye contact and I could not hear what he is talking about. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed this weekend our first time here, as we were attending a wedding, first impression I didnt quite like the look it was a bit drab. Walking into the reception the girl there didnt welcome us and seemed quite unhappy and made us feel a bit awkward like we shouldnt be there. We had had rooms booked for us... More 

Helpful?
Thank jgardner272016
Vijay S, Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Our Check Inn time is 1400 hours and we can not guarantee a room before the check inn time. Guest's are able to request for a room for an early arrival and the hotel will accommodate your request if possible. To be able to check in earlier the hotel charges an... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Did my booking through laterooms when I arrived at the hotel they couldn't find the booking and they had no more of the twin rooms available so they upgraded us to family rooms.Although the rooms were fairly clean it was very basic and dated the shower was either freezing or scalding and very difficult to control so didn't manage to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Omg! Just phoned this hotel for a potential room booking. The person that answered the phone was so rude. I asked him why it was cheaper to go through booking.com and he told me he had people in front of him that needed serving!!! He then started to argue with me! Will NOT be using this hotel!

Helpful?
Thank WendyandBarrie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel. We booked online and read nothing on the website about a deposit but when we arrived we were informed we needed to pay £100 deposit as well as the £70 for our room. I asked when the money would be paid back and was told the very next day when we checked... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank sofeywofey
Vijay S, Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We have advertised on all online travel agency website that hotel will need a pre-authorization. If you do not have a credit / debit card which can b pre-authorised then only we request for a deposit of £100.00. More 

west midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

my brother and I stayed there for one night at the end of July. We were a bit apprehensive as we had not been there before..but it was really good. Our twin room was very clean and very well equipped...The downsides were...we arrived about 9.30in the evening and we waited about 15 minutes at reception before anyone came to book... More 

Helpful?
Thank margaretWestMidlands
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
0.0 mi away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
3.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The character of the countryside is never far away here and neither are the bright lights of London! Business and pleasure meet personality-packed accommodation here, so be our guest! Free Parking, Free Wi-fi, London underground, 32" LED TV and all Non-Smoking En-suite rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel Epping

Address: Bell Common High Road | Greater London, Epping CM16 4DG, England (Formerly Epping Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Price Range: $76 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel Epping 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Bell Hotel Epping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Epping
The Bell Hotel Epping Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay