We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Best Western to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 298: English reviews
Stoke Mandeville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

stayed at this hotel for the first time-good location and nice hotel and restaurant-good food and service-drinks pricey-£5.20 a pint. rooms were ok but I stayed during the very hot period and no air con in rooms-couldn't open window as road noise was bad.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank taffy2409
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I would like to start by thanking you for your positive comments, however I feel it is a little harsh to criticise us for not having air conditioning in the bedrooms when we are only a three star hotel and have never said that we do. We offer a... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got married in London and had a Reception at Tower Bridge as Mandy has been in love with the Bridge since she was a girl. We wanted to celebrate near home with friends and family and looked for a venue. We found a perfect venue when we went to a wedding fair at the hotel. Initially Mary and then... More 

Helpful?
Thank MandynNick
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and congratulations on your recent wedding. I am pleased that you and all of your guests enjoyed your reception and their time at the hotel. I will make sure your lovely words are passed on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future. Jason... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
867 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Used this hotel many times this time for a big party couldn't thank the friendly staff enough the service was outstanding and the hotel manager is one of the best . The facilities we were given were ideal for the event and we will keep using the hotel which has easy access from the a12. Some of the guests stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martino B
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your most recent visit to Ivy Hill. I am pleased that you all enjoyed your celebrations with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Jason Bartella Managing Director More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was ok but nothing special, kettle was broken and no trouser press or iron in room.Nowhere in bathroom to put toilet bag, very small. Breakfast was very good and staff were helpful.unfortunately I left my iPad charger in room so I phoned hotel and they said they had found it. I asked if they would post it back and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol B
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you only felt the room was only ok, having been refurbished just a few years ago most people like them and the facilities they offer, had you mentioned during your visit that we were items not working correctly in the room we could... More 

Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

When we arrived we were pleased with the appearance of the hotel and grounds however, we had to wait for 20 minutes in the lounge bar until the official 3 PM check in time and then had an easy check-in. One of the reception staff took our case up to the room, to our delight as there is no lift.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mjw44
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

I look after a couple with learning disabilities and a couple of weeks ago was their 5th wedding anniversary. Last minute a member of staff and I decided to book them afternoon tea somewhere. We called around so many places and kept being told "to short notice" when we called the ivy hill we were told no problem. When we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank brysonfamily
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent visit to Ivy Hill. I am pleased we were able to accommodate your couple and that you were all well looked after by the team. Please pass on our congratulations for their anniversary and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Jason Bartella Managing Director More 

Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

This Best Western is a really well presented hotel with beautifully kept grounds. The rooms are clean crisp and fresh the staff are friendly, polite and really well presented as are all the public areas a real credit to Best Western. The one area that I feel that needs some thought perhaps from the management is their attitude towards customer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Boxerdogs1
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us and I am pleased that in the main you enjoyed your visit. I have spoken to the team in the restaurant and reminded them that if customers are unhappy with the items they ordered they should be replaced, I can only apologise that this was not done during your... More 

bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

On arrival staff were polite and helpful. At the restaurant staff were extremely amenable. It had the benefit of free wifi which was available in all areas of the hotel and room. A must for me. I had a great sleep as the bed was wonderfully comfortable and the breakfast was equally good.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area. Jason Bartella Managing Director More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Me and my family took my mum for a special birthday surprise. The tea which was served was good at first but when refilled the tea was colourless and tasteless as the pot had been filled up with water without putting anymore teabags in the pot. The sandwiches which did not look like sandwiches were 3 slices of bread with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigelgarwood67
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your visit for Afternoon Tea. I was disappointed to read your comments so asked the manager to investigate the points you raised. There were definitely fresh tea bags in the second pot of tea, it probably hadn't brewed for long enough or needed a stir. The sandwiches we serve are open sandwiches and this... More 

Wassenberg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night on business! Arrived a little early but reception staff were very helpful and efficient and allocated me a room! Room very clean indeed and lovely size! Had an evening meal in the restaurant and can honestly say food was amazing! Breakfast also very good and a good start to the day! Must say one of the nicest... More 

Helpful?
Thank 123spurs
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed the facilities and were well looked after, I will pass your lovely comments on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area. Jason Bartella Managing Director More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
4.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
3.4 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 13 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 13 in Chelmsford
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel

Address: Writtle Road | Margaretting, Chelmsford CM4 0EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Price Range: $129 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelmsford
Chelmsford Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel Chelmsford, Essex
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chelmsford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay