We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 300: English reviews
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location just a short walk from the high street etc. Nicely presented bar & restaurant areas, friendly helpful front desk. Competent, polite bar & waiting staff. Good buffet style breakfast full English & continental selections. Expect around £100 a night for a family room with breakfast. Free parking.

Helpful?
Thank steveandsuzie
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed overnight here as my cousins 30th was just down the road. From the outside the hotel doesn't look the best, more like an old people's home but don't let that put you off. Checking in was nice and the reception was welcoming. The hotel looks to have had a lot of money spent on the inside: the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott S
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had to book a suite as no standard rooms available. Hottest day of the year and the suite has no air conditioning. Staff provided a small fan. The king bed is two singles pushed together. Attitude of manager is awful. Value for money poor. Avoid.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
D W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Keech Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review. We do not advertise the Duplex Suites as having Air Conditioning. The size of the bed is in fact a Super King Size Bed and made up of 2 beds zip-link together. Which are designed for hotels and usually we get compliments on such. Whilst I... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chelmsford hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent four nights here with a group of friends and throughly enjoyed it. Hotel exterior has you fearing the worst but once you enter you are greeted by very pleasant, modern decor and very attentive staff. Has a lovely bar/restaurant area and the staff are all great. Food was good in the restaurant and the bar prices were about what... More 

Helpful?
Thank StevieP79
RotherhamSilverrback
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A group of us stayed at the hotel which was described as 'modest' and from the outside it didn't look anything special. Well just goes to show that you shouldn't judge a book by it's cover. Very nice hotel. Contemporary decor, very well maintained. Spacious room with everything you need, comfortable bed, nice TV, drink making facitily etc. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank RotherhamSilverback
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night while we were visiting for FriendsFest. The rooms were big and installed with sky which was a good surprise. The only problem was the room was so hot, with the weather being good and the hairdryer going off, it felt like a small sauna. You can walk into town which may be a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Velda W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awful rooms. no proper beds. Don't think of this hotel. Have stayed in several hotels and this was the worst. Fan provided was very noisy and rooms smelly. .... Only good point was the location as it is close to the city. But not worth the money they charge for a room

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Abhu S
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for five nights The hotel, staff, parking, cleanliness, and service was good. comfortable bed, central to all our needs. BUT the breakfast was poor !!! The hot breakfast was cold and tasteless. The cold breakfast was basic and the meat\cheese tasted of bananas they were all in the same cabinet. At £11.95 for a full English it... More 

Helpful?
Thank 658gaily
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms for my in laws and husband and I. In a funny location but still only 10-15 min walk to town. We arrived and the room stank of feet so got moved after having to prove to the receptionist that it smelt! The room was spacious but very tatty. Shower awful, tiles falling off and no air con... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz R
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016

Excellent prompt service, friendly staff who remember you, good food and nothing is to much trouble for them. Rooms are large and airy and always with plenty of tea and coffee available Good location for work and also main shopping centres within easy walking distance. Plenty of restaurants and eating places around the area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Newbury96
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 13 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 13 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
2.6 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Check in to Chelmsford! The Atlantic Hotel is a modern, stylish place to stay. Comfortable accommodation comes as standard here, with spacious, attractive rooms offering full en-suite facilities just minutes from the town centre. Easily accessible by train and car, the Atlantic Hotel is also close to the Cathedral and University, while London can be reached with the minimum of fuss. You'll enjoy privacy as well as convenience here, and our staff will do everything in their power to make you comfortable. Speaking of comfort, our three feature New York' apartment suites offer something a little different for those who choose to stay in one. Pop Art in our corridors completes the contemporary look and feel in this relaxing hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel

Address: New Street, Chelmsford CM1 1PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Price Range: $87 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelmsford
Chelmsford Best Western
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel Chelmsford, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay