We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 344: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Staff were friendly, parking is safe, restaurants are near by and the room was all we needed. Not far from the centre of Chelmsford either and a great location to explore Essex, or get to London.

Helpful?
Thank ged s
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Poor. Checked in late and found toilet in room disgusting. We got another room and in this one there was no shower curtain. Staff not well informed or good at PR No cooked breakfast Positive 12 noon check out

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank rogerbT3384PA
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We understand that your overall experience was not exceptional and we do apologise for this. Please rest assured your feedback enables us to improve the service we offer and our hotel will be made aware of your comments. We hope that there will be another occasion to welcome you as our guest and restore... More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked in for 1 night and it was instantly apparent that the room was very poorly ventilated and had no air conditioning. There was a portable fan provided, but the layout of the room and only 3 plug sockets in the room meant that we could not position the fan close enough to us to feel any breeze - plus,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Alison L
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really sorry to hear that the room temperature affected your stay with us. We strive to make our customers as comfortable as possible, fans are offered for our guests and we are taking measures to ensure our rooms are cooler. In any case we would like to apologise... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chelmsford hotels

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's on a very busy roundabout but when you shut the window you can't hear a thing. Trouble is the room is too warm - no a/c but a fan. Bed hard but comfy. Pillows good. Very clean. Staff nice. Car park £7.50 for 24 hours. Cheaper than premier inn and as good

Helpful?
1 Thank Cricketdad
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All staff were extremely helpful no matter what the query, they were pleasant and interested in you. The room was fairly basic. I personally would have liked a drawer in the table and an extractor fan on the bathroom. But, everything else was there and if not staff were willing to help. The lodge is situated near the city centre... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eve E
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was the second time this month I have visited the hotel, and both times have been fantastic. The first thing that that hit me was how friendly the hotel staff were including the cleaners, always smiling and saying good morning! On both visits I was on the second floor, and each time my room was always spotlessly clean. However... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack M
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The beds were harder than we are used to and we found that £3 for 24 hours of wifi was kinda expensive as we couldn't use it 24 hours a day, especially on a student budget. As it is situated on a roundabout, it was very noise during the day and at night, but the hotel itself was quite.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank sarahhF1549TL
March, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is on the most busy roundabout in Essex, and the window did not shut! It was noisy! I will not willing stay there again, but if I have to I will request a room at the back and I will not settle for any thing less!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 416gildab
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Chelmsford Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your comments... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The worst 2 nights sleep I've had in a long time. Our room was like a sauna and unfortunately there is no air conditioning throughout the hotel. We had one tiny window which would only open a few inches due to a safety cable, but we couldn't even leave this open because the noise from the motorway outside was even... More 

Helpful?
Thank nikijamesbell
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that the room temperature spoiled your stay with us. We strive to make our customers as comfortable as possible and we would like to apologise if on this occasion we were not able to offer you a good night's sleep. Thanks again, we... More 

Wickford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The bed was comfortable but other guests was loud and shouting in the corridors late at night and the food is not 24 hours the first night I stayed was good but the second night was bad and the second lift was out of order and the vending machine was not working too.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear that you found our new Dream bed to be comfortable. We’re sorry to hear that your experience with us was affected by noise. If customers are causing noise that may disrupt other guests we do ensure that we politely ask them to lower the noise levels. We strive to provide a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
1.0 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 13 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 13 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 13 in Chelmsford
3.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel

Address: 128 - 136 Parkway | Army & Navy Roundabout, Chelmsford CM2 7PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Price Range: $59 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay