We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Hart Hotel

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
White Hart Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for White Hart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 350: English reviews
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 29, 2016

We have eaten here a couple of times a few years back, my mother in law decided to book a table for Saturday evening. Just hours before going I read the reviews on here and was shocked at the awful reviews. We decided to give it a go anyway and got there for 6.45pm. When we walked in the door...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jolou525
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you didn't even get a chance to dine with us in the end, we do hope you will visit us again. Regards Jamie

Essex UK
Reviewed February 28, 2016

Four friends meeting here for dinner last night, I had telephoned beforehand to confirm a booking made several weeks before. No return of call. Our friends and I had difficulty parking on the premises. We had to drive around to find parking. Hardly anyone in restaurant, strange for a Saturday evening. We ordered our main food to be told most...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jackiewhiteman
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As the newly appointed manager at The White Hart, I can assure you I am doing everything I can to fix the issues here. As I am sure you can understand, this doesn't happen overnight so please do bear with us. We do hope you will visit again. Regards Jamie

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 21, 2016

Why have, what appeared to be, a great varied drinks menu when at least 75% of it wasn't available? Arriving on a Friday early evening, meeting several friends for birthday drink after work (council offices) when the mystery of the drinks menu started. Wanting a nice bottle of fizzy I proceeded to order a bottle of Verve for the birthday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ljcuk01
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry for the experience you had here at The White Hart, we appreciate your comments and will take them on board. Regards Jamie

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 21, 2016

A waisted oppotunity which the management can't grasped. Too under staffed and poor quality food. The staff that are working there do their best to cater to everyone, but it's so obvious that they are at full stretch. Not enough bar staff full stop !!! And in need of a new chief or maybe more staff is needed there too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian E
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As the new manager here at The White Hart, I can assure you that my team and I are doing the best we can to get the place back to where it should be. Bear with us, and please do visit again soon. Regards Jamie

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

We arrived late as we had been on the road all day, only to wait 10 minutes at reception. Finally we grabbed someone and they explained that the chalkboard that said 'please go to the bar' had been stolen. We were also informed that if we wanted food it was a 1hr25min wait. We were shown to our rooms. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 982Louise
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay was not the best it could be, your review will be shared with the team to ensure that these issues do not arise again. Regards Jamie

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 14, 2016

We stayed for a romantic evening away from the children for valentines. The room was at the top of the building so a few stairs to travel up (no lift). It was a family room so a bit larger and had plenty of space for my husband and I. It was clean and cozy and welcoming. The period features of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diddyb13
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your room and the period features of the hotel, your comment with regards to service and food will be shared with the team to ensure that these standards match those of our rooms. Regards Jamie

Loughton, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 14, 2016 via mobile

Hi all. Went here for valentines dinner and stay. Starter was ok, we then waited over an hour for our main andCould not eat the food had to send it back. Did not have any dinner in the end poorly cooked mains. We left the dining area and went to the bar. They clearly didn't have enough staff to run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adamsarfas
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you didn't have an enjoyable stay with us, I can assure you that all of your comments will be taken on board and the issues rectified as soon as possible. Regards Jamie

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 3, 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights on business in February. I have to commend the hotel/pub on their staff - I saw a number of them during my stay and every single one of them were pleasant, polite and very helpful. I must agree with some other reviewers though - there didn't seem to be enough of them on at any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CeBea
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of your constructive criticisms and will take them on board in order to improve The White Hart, I do hope you will visit again soon. As the newly appointed manager here, I am striving to bring the place back to where it should be. Regards Jamie

Essex
Reviewed January 31, 2016

We went to the white hart on a Saturday evening for a meal. It wasn't a special occasion, just a meal in the bar to make a change. This wasn't our first visit as we live locally and we have in the past always had a fairly positive experience, but this was really bad. First impression was not good as...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lepaul
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your dinner was not enjoyable for you at The White Hart, as the new manager here i appreciate all of the feedback given and am working hard to get The White Hart back on top form again. I do hope you will visit again. Regards Jamie

Chesterfield
Reviewed January 29, 2016 via mobile

Had 2 stays at this hotel the first visit in 2015 wasn't great but passable the second visit January 2016 was appalling to say the least. We were there for 3 nights b & b. The radiator in our bedroom wasn't working so they put 2 fan heaters in which were adequate but not very professional. The worst thing of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lirsty1
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay with us was not enjoyable. We did have some issues with the heating throughout the hotel which has now been fixed and i can only apologise for. With regards to the breakfast tables, i will address this with the team. We do hope you will try us again. Regards...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
5.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coggeshall
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
130 reviews
6.1 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
303 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#3 of 3 in Feering
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: Bocking End, Braintree CM7 9AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree
Price Range: $74 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Braintree
White Hart Hotel Braintree, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from White Hart Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from White Hart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for one when booking”
TNT438, 2 days ago | Read review
“Did not stay”
jennyj804, 1 week ago | Read review
“Rooms in new block are quiet bat dated. Ask for a room with bath if you prefer to a shower”
luluKent, Mar 4, 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room in the old part of the building if you can”
skullfunkerry, Dec 20, 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms in old part of building if possible”
jonathant2014, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question