We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Hart Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
White Hart Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 320: English reviews
Coventry
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Second stay in a month. Breakfast poor on both occasions with parts of it cold. Room comfortable but very hot and road noise. Evening dinner was excellent which is the entire 2 stars here. Worst of all used my debit card from the first visit to charge the room fee to my account despite my company paying the bill. Supposed... More 

Helpful?
Thank darrenmurphy67
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The family descended and we sought a location for Sunday Lunch - how lucky to find The White Hart right on my doorstep. An attractive local bar/restaurant/hotel with bags of character and friendly helpful staff. We had a drink in the bar and then moved through to the dining room, we were shown to a table quickly. We placed our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark V
Harwich, Essex
Level Contributor
205 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading some reviews on here I was a bit worried about what we'd find, me & a friend stayed here for 1 night in Nov. 16 and we really liked it. The main hotel is a lovely old building & has a newer bit out the back over the car park, which is where our room was. Our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank whitbyabi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very poor on every level. No one on reception to check us in. No one to help with luggage up to 3rd floor. No lift. Lunch consisting of soup and a sandwich took 1 and a half hours to come. They forgot to bring the drinks which eventually arrived after the soup. English breakfast next morning was luke warm. Bacon... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandy g

Travelers are raving about these Braintree hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came to The White Hart for a wedding . Having been told there was car parking there wasn't and was told we could park in Sainsbury's car park and pay and display . On eventually arriving there was nobody at reception to check us in so we had to go a find someone which took time !! Our room... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Janie R
wallsend
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2016

Spent 3 nights old hotel with charm nice stay friendly staff only downside no heating in room seen the manager who sorted it out with a couple of heaters enjoyed our stay at white hart hotel would stay again

Helpful?
Thank SteveWallsend
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you had a lovely stay and the issue with your heating was rectified for you, we hope to see you again. Craig More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Didnt stay in the hotel. Ate in the restaurant which was really nice. Visited a friend & we generally always eat here as always enjoy the meals & service & this visit did not disappoint. They did however run out of my favourite beef & ale pie but chose the chicken pie instead which was equally nice. The bakewell tart... More 

Helpful?
Thank kent2270
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you had a great meal with us and we didn't disappoint, we hope to see you again for more of the same! Craig More 

Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2016

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel August 2915 3 nights & October 2016, in this short time it had gone down hill. The staff are amazing the young lady who checked us in Abby very helpfull she went out way to make us comfortable, the heat was not working in the old part so we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie C
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased the team made your stay pleasant and will of course take on board all the comments in your review and rectify where possible. We do hope you will visit again soon. Craig More 

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

When we first got there at 8.30pm had to wait to book in as no staff around 5 mins later someone came ( found out later it was manager) Went to room which was very nice but freezing found a heater and plugged in got ready to go down for something to eat. Found own table as no staff around... More 

Helpful?
Thank JenRay227
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your experience was very varied, but am pleased to hear that the breakfast service you received was great. Your review will be shared with the team to ensure the same standards are adhered to throughout the day. Craig More 

Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2016 via mobile

Came for dinner with my partner and 3 children and were greeted by jamie ann, she really went out of her way to entertain my children even though she was quite busy she had them totally mesmerised with her tales of santa and his reindeers! She really could not do enough for them and they are desperate to go back... More 

Helpful?
Thank bk313131
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and that Jamie Ann was exceptional, your review will be shared with her and I know she will be thrilled with her personal mention. Craig More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree (Freeport Village) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coggeshall
289 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
109 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: Bocking End, Braintree CM7 9AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree
Price Range: $69 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Braintree
White Hart Hotel Braintree, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from White Hart Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from White Hart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms not overlooking the outside patio (and drinks area) will be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles sbillingham2, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
“Our room was in the old part of the hotel so might be better in the newer part.”
 of 5 bubbles bobby291, Jun 10, 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 is first floor front: A good view up the main road, but equally a good view in from the street . . .”
 of 5 bubbles donj125, Jun 1, 2016 | Read review
“If you are forced to stay, aim for the older areas of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 702kirstenh, May 31, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the newer part out the back away from the kitchen exhaust fan”
 of 5 bubbles 993KenS, May 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay