We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Chalk Farm Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Chalk Farm Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chalk Farm is a very special place, parking is free,This resturant supports Adults with learning disabilities. The setting is very interesting original ,LOVLEY low ceilings and oak beams. The menu is very good,and prices Only £14 for a 3 course meal. Rachel was a great host, I think it is fantastic to support the resturant . The Food was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cliff W
Rachael B, General Manager at Chalk Farm Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review Cliff - I am really pleased that you and your family had such a lovely time. I look forward to seeing you again, Warmest Regards, Rachael

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 16, 2016

This venue is a real treat for special occasions, lunches, evening meals or for a lovely stay in beautiful surroundings. Family wedding 3 weeks ago could not have been better! The wonderful staff create a truly spectacular environment to enjoy a celebration with a real personal touch. Feel so lucky to have found this treasure! The Chalk Farm Hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sw12399
Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

The location for the hotel was excellent. It had lovely gardens but was quite disappointing inside. We stayed in a room with my family, 2 children and husband. In our room there was a double bed and a single which was great for our family size. On check out we were charged an additional £20 per child as we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smuch09
beckiewiggy, Director of Sales at Chalk Farm Hotel, responded to this review

To start I thank you for your kind words regarding the staff but I am so sorry to read your review and to hear you are still unhappy with our pricing policy but as i explained in my personal email to you in response to your complaint our tariff sets out quite clearly how we charge for accommodation, all our...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

At relatively short notice, we decided to host a party here for my husband's 60th birthday. From our first visit when we met Becky to discuss our requirements, we knew we had found the perfect venue. The house and gardens are beautiful and Becky and her team were attentive and very flexible...nothing was too much trouble. Friends and family all...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pauline S
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Warm welcome awaits the visitors to this lovely old fashioned place situated on the edge of South Downs. Come and go as you please always being sure of a comfortable restful night. Convenient for those who enjoy walking or if the seaside is more to your taste, the Seafront and newly opened Pier are a short bus ride. Not our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank NorthernIrelandJoan
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 20, 2016

My daughter walked into Chalk Farm and decided instantly it was the perfect venue for her wedding. One year later she had the most perfect wedding thanks to the fantastic staff. Becky the wedding planner was outstanding the whole day, stage managing the event from start to finish. She was professional but so friendly she felt like part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alibaldwin2016
Southampton
Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Chalk Farm a couple of times now... A lovely quaint hotel right at the bottom of the downs with amazing views... The staff are the most accommodating I have experienced so far and the food is fantastic... There's an awesome little pub less than a minute walk away which often has live music... A must stay place for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bluenoseSouthampton
Bath
Reviewed August 23, 2015

Several of us stayed here to attend a friend's wedding held nearby. It is a lovely old building with an Orwellian theme playing on Orwell's links to the village. Our room was well appointed and comfortable and breakfast was excellent with a good vegetarian option. The really lovely thing about this hotel is that it is a training establishment for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlcombeLady
Reviewed July 10, 2015

Having lived in Willingdon all my life I only stumbled upon Chalk Farm for the first time for a Christening party, I fell in love with it there and then. The setting, the hotel, the staff, everything about it is beautiful. When we set a date for our wedding we didn't even bother looking around anywhere else because no-where could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luke Noble K
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

Put up two of our business visitors here one night in June as Eastbourne busy due to tennis. Both said they were grateful it was only one night. Breakfast also not available til 9am so really inconvenient for anyone wanting to get to work, or even get going at a reasonable time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willingdon
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel
Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel
#13 of 42 in Eastbourne
407 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Town Centre Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
3.0 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Chalk Farm Hotel

Address: Coopers Hill, Willingdon, Eastbourne BN20 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne > Willingdon
Price Range: $83 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalk Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalk Farm Hotel Willingdon, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chalk Farm Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Doesn't matter which room you get - we were above front door facing road and still totally silent inside.”
 of 5 bubbles NorthernIrelandJoan, Oct 24, 2014 | Read review
“Cannot comment on hotel quality as was just there for a wedding.”
 of 5 bubbles 383JulieS, Sep 10, 2013 | Read review
“All rooms are good but my favourite is room 8. Overlooks the front garden, plenty of space and a fab new bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles 266margaretb, May 13, 2013 | Read review
“Most are really good with some lovely views of the downs or garden.”
 of 5 bubbles JacquelineC752, Apr 28, 2013 | Read review
“Small number of rooms but all seemed to be overlooking gardens or the South Downs”
 of 5 bubbles Suercornwall, Jul 24, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay