We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Roebuck Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Wych Cross 1, Forest Row RH185JL, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Roebuck Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 409: English reviews
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Probably the best hotel of our 16 night tour of the south-east. We stayed four nights in a spotlessly clean room. The food was excellent, the service very attentive without being overpowering and the beer was good as well, a matter often overlooked by hotels with their main attention on accommodation and food. The location, although on a busy road,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken F
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a pleasant stay in this rather tired hotel, after insisting on a room change but it has certainly see better days décor wise. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room clean and plenty of hot water, which was appreciated. Although in the front of the building we were not disturbed by road noise. We ate in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Freebob14
Brighton And Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was ok... Nothing to shout about.. Floor and chairs were dirty.. Hunters chicken was ridiculously small and the chocolate brownie flowerpot was more thimble size than flowerpot size.. I mentioned this to staff and she didn't seem to care and didn't want to listen to my complaint... Overall service was poor.. Portions were small and customer service non existent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tarajp P
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tarajp P, Thank you for your recent review. I am really sorry your experience with us was not up to expectations, the issues you kindly highlighted have been taken on board and will be addressed. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca More 

Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a night in this hotel late in the evening in desperation after walking out of a B and B establishment in the village (should of read the reviews on said establishment!!). Staff were more than helpful and sympathetic to my plight. The 3 course set menu represented tremendous value for money using quality ingredients, and breakfast was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank richard03102016
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear richard03102016, Thank you so much for your review on our hotel and we hope you will visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca More 

Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When I saw the hotel was so close to the A22 I imagined that I would not be able to sleep for the trafffic noise. Once in, the triple glazed room to the side and rear of the property, I can honestly say, I heard no noise to disturb me. The food is what you imagine for a 'chain' catering... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine G
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine G, Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear your experience with us was enjoyable and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca More 

Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second visit to this hotel , the first being some six years ago and nothing seemed to have changed. The whole place feels very homely and welcoming. Yes the rooms and corridors are a bit tired in places but nevertheless pretty clean. The bed was comfortable and the view from the window of the deer grazing in... More 

Helpful?
Thank pensioner62
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pensioner62, Thank you for your kind review on our hotel and we hope to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca More 

Banstead
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found the staff at the Roebuck to be extremely rude. I asked for two small lemonades for my children and I had a diet coke and I commented that it seemed expensive at over £8 and I asked how much the very small lemonades were and I was told they were £2.45 each! I said, my goodness they are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eymet2010
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eymet2010, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on us and for such constructive comments. I am really sorry for the issues you have kindly highlighted, they have been taken on board and addressed. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca More 

York UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a party of 7 attending a family wedding nearby. We all ate at the hotel on the first night, food was fine as was the service. My wife and I stayed on for 2 more nights and I can heartily recommend the cooked breakfasts and the bar menu! Our room was clean if a little tired and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yorkie46
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yorkie46, Thank you very much for reviewing your experience with us and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca More 

Sussex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having lived in Sussex for many years we had never been to this hotel. Now we have moved far away and we realise what we have missed. We have decided that the Roebuck is definitely the hotel to stay in for our return visits. Every member of staff was very friendly and effiicent and could not have been more helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank K N
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear K N, What a lovely review! Thank you very much for your nice comments , is great to hear you had a good experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

+-Stayed here for 3 nights, wish it could have been longer. The staff were very welcoming and extremely hard working. Always met you with a smile and friendly disposition. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was very clean and comfortable and the shower was brilliant - lovely to have a shower with great water pressure, so often in hotels the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ljkr
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ljkr, Thank you very much for your lovely review , we are pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Row
2.2 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
7.0 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
5.5 mi away
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
3.8 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Roebuck Hotel

Address: Wych Cross 1, Forest Row RH185JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Forest Row
Price Range: $78 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Roebuck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Forest Row, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay