We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Roebuck Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Roebuck Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 484: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have now stayed in all the local hotels in the area, and time and time again I return here...why? because the rooms are confortable, but most importantly the food never disappoints and the staff are always friendly and helpful. staying here you will feel so wecome!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jomcpherson-2014
Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have just been to the restaurant at this hotel, my son ordered pate for a starter, it was inedible mainly because it had gone off and smelt absolutely dreadful. We ordered the burgers and both mine and my sons were cold, my fries tasted of fish so obviously the oil used was old and should have been thrown away!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denise
Southend-on-Sea
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

WE stayed at the Roebuck (our 10th or 11th visit) and decided to eat in. The hotel had already 'phoned to ask if we wanted to book a table as it was Valentines weekend. Both of us elected to go for the Beef Rib with Pulled Pork. We both agreed that it was the tenderest piece of meat we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SirRobert_12
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SirRobert_12, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Really glad we booked a meal here. Great food, good size portions and friendly, efficient and professional service. Having driven past this more times than I have hot dinners but not visited the mrs booked it for Valentine's Day, Boy was I glad she did. The menus available offered exceptional choices and apparently great value, so what would the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil T
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil T, Thank you very much for your great review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Valentine's dinner with us and we look forward to welcoming you again at The Roebuck. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed a weekend break here last weekend with our small dog. We had a comfortable room on the ground floor with easy access to the garden. The staff were helpful and friendly. Although we could not eat in the restaurant with the dog, they made us up a table in the lounge bar which was fine. Breakfast, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Purp1ejules
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Purp1ejules, Thank you very much for such a lovely review on our hotel and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pub is a very good place as a base for a visit to the area of the New Forest. The staff are extremely polite and make you feel at home. The Roebuck has a bar area where food is served by the staff. The restaurant has a varied breakfast menu and an excellent evening menu where the staff wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul A, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

Hartley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an average little hotel from the Old English Inns chain. Good value for money in winter with a special offer break we had an excellent two night stay with good food and wine. Good restaurant, bar and seating area with open log fire. Welcoming staff and good service. However let down by the tired accommodation, stained bath, old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julia R, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. Greene King are planning a full refurbishment in the near future at the hotel which I am sure will address the highlighted issues. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful hotel with super friendly staff. This place is a wonderful hotel to just chill out and relax. No loud music, no tvs in public areas. Pure relaxation. However, if you're used to instant service , this is not your hotel. You do have to track the staff down for everything.... but that is not because they are not working...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TracyLove45
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TracyLove45, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very friendly hotel, we had our dog with us which excluded us from the restaurant, OK,but also from the bar area. We were offered a table on its own in the lounge fine but a bit isolated. The staff were very helpful, our room was of a decent size and near the garden for the dog, thanks....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreddieM1
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FreddieM1, Thank you for your review on our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Driving on a wet foggy night, I was so happy to find The Roebuck. Warm comfy room, yes in need of a little titivating but made for a restful sleep and nice hot bath. Good dinner and breakfast the next morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soozlefish
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear soozlefish, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. It has been a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (99)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Row
0.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.2 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
199 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge
Crowne Plaza Felbridge
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,176 reviews
3.8 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
9.5 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Roebuck Hotel

Address: Wych Cross 1, Forest Row RH18 5JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Forest Row
Price Range: $68 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your The Roebuck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Forest Row, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Roebuck Hotel staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Hartford, Kentucky
10 months ago
Hartford, Kentucky
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Fairfield, Connecticut

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Roebuck Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“just let the staff know what you want and they will do theeir best to help you”
 of 5 bubbles Jomcpherson-2014, 3 days ago | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles SirRobert_12, 1 week ago | Read review
“Although double glazed windows you may wish to chose a room not on the main road side”
 of 5 bubbles I7496OJpaula, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We went for the superior good value for money”
 of 5 bubbles Patsy366, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are in a quiet location.”
 of 5 bubbles crissward, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question