We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Abbey Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Abbey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 84: English reviews
Start your review of The Abbey Hotel
 Click to rate
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just spent 2 nights here and had a wonderful stay. Very friendly welcome from Charlie and a well appointed comfortable bedroom with a lovely en-suite. Dinner each night was well presented and Lauren looked after us superbly. The restaurant was busy on the Saturday evening but the service from Charlie,Lauren and their team was faultless. Breakfast was equally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazelmike1
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was beautiful with an amazing view of Battle Abbey. The room was clean, well furnished with a lovely en-suite. It was quite a small room but it didn't feel small. The food in the restaurant was really, really good. The breakfast was included in the price and there was a lot of choice from yogurt with fruit which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

Visited here for first time after friends recommended. I understand it's under new management. Staff really friendly and some great beers on tap. Lunch was really good with some great music playing in the background. Would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stujames84
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing review we all work incredibly hard to give great service and it's great when our efforts are appreciated. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future. Regards Sharon Thompson Owner

kent
Reviewed February 17, 2017

We stayed last night in room 2 with a view of the Abbey. The room was lovely, clean and tastefully decorated, modern but in keeping with the hotel's era. A very comfortable bed and everything we needed was provided at a good standard and made for a very good night. We ate in the restaurant and Charlie was very attentive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luvsun2013
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you guys for your great review, I'll pass on on your comments to Charlie our manager and I'm sure that he will be please that his efforts are appreciated. We do work very hard to improve our service all the time and honest feedback is always appreciated. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you in the future...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

We had to book very last minute but we were fitted in, no bother. We stayed in room three, overlooking the Abbey, the view was great. The room was a nice size, clean and the bed comfy. We had a few drinks and then ate in the restaurant. The portions are very generous and we really didn't need starters as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mose72
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we do work incredibly hard to maintain our high standards and it's great when customers appreciate our efforts. Sorry that all your drinks were not to the same standard as we endeavour to achieve high standard in every area of the hotel, I will be speaking with the bar staff to identify where...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 12, 2017

The Abbey Hotel is under new ownership, and has had a total makeover since we were last there. The result is the small hotel experience one always hopes to find. The owner and staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The room exceeded expectations - comfortable bed with crisp linen, well-appointed ensuite with fluffy towels and bathrobes, and a lovely iconic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BruceRoyan
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, it was an absolute pleasure to serve you both as you were so polite and complementary. It is always a pleasure to receive such great reviews and it gives the staff a moral boost as they all work very hard. Thanks again and if your in our area in the future it will be...

Clapham, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile

We popped in for dinner on a Friday evening. We were seated by who seemed to be the owner/landlady. Neither her or the waitress had knowledge of the menu or beers on offer. The restaurant was quiet with no atmosphere. Our food took 50 minutes to arrive. When it did it looked awful, grey (obviously out of date ) potato...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Shabecca1
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly I am sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our restaurant as we do endeavour to give a high service in all areas of the hotel and restaurant. Unfortunately I do feel I need to respond to a few of your points as I consider them to completely unfair and unjustified. Firstly on arrival I greeted...

Reviewed January 27, 2017 via mobile

We have just stayed four nights because or house is being refurbished. Room small. nowhere to sit apart from one uncomfortable wooden chair. Only hooks on wall for clothes. bathroom fittings somewhat loose and extractor not working. II could go on! Unacceptable noise from staff on floor above after midnight. Staff and customers smoking outside bedroom window so smell coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dontdoreviews
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly can I apologise that your stay with us wasn't up to your expectations, we do endeavour to give our customers a great stay with attentive service. I would like to address some of your points, firstly remember that the hotel is very old so the rooms are not going to be Travelodge size, although I wouldn't consider the room...

london
Reviewed January 21, 2017

This hotel is a real find. The staff were charming, efficient (because of the eagle - eyed but extremely pleasant manager) and super - friendly. The wine list is good and reasonably priced. I couldn't get through the gin selection in one evening! The food (evening menu) was excellent and there was a good choice. The room (abbey view) was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frankie065
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review, we do work very hard to keep the standards to a high level at the hotel, and put a lot of effort into staff training. Really pleased you enjoyed the wine list and food menu as again we all work very hard to make these interesting and of a high standard. Thanks...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 11, 2017

The recently refurbished bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms look 'trendy' and are tastefully done in muted colours. Comfortable room, as was the bed in our room when we stayed recently. The hotel has an old style British 'character' as you would expect in an historic town like Battle. Our room got an extra star from my wife as the hairdryer provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martyn304
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, a lot of thought has been put into the design of the rooms , so its wonderful when these efforts are appreciated. I love the comment about British character as this is exactly what we are trying to achieve. Its also great to know that the staff looked after you, all that...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
2.7 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
184 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
255 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedlescombe
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Abbey Hotel Restaurant
The Abbey Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At The Abbey Hotel we aim to capture the essence of a country inn, we are located in the center of the charming market town of Battle in East Sussex. Sitting directly opposite the Abbey which is the impressive gateway of the medieval Battle (the Country's most famous battlefield). Our beautiful newly refurbished hotel is a British home from home, offering a forty cover restaurant, relaxing bar area for drinking and dining with a range of individually designed rooms, there is a space and time here for you to relax and enjoy. In keeping with our contemporary classic interiors, our service is calm but focused, and dedicated to ensuring that you thoroughly enjoy your time as our guest. Seven bedrooms, with many overlooking the Abbey, beautiful, well equipped facilities, big sumptuously comfortable beds with the softest duvets and pillows. A place to relax and enjoy amazing food, great wines & cocktails or a pint of English Beer at its best. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: 84 High Street, Battle TN33 0AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Price Range: $122 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Abbey Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Roseville, California
Exeter, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Abbey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms at the front have views of the Abbey”
 of 5 bubbles Hazelmike1, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 2 has a great view of Battle Abbey”
 of 5 bubbles BruceRoyan, Feb 12, 2017 | Read review
“Abbey view rooms do what they say.”
 of 5 bubbles frankie065, Jan 21, 2017 | Read review
“We didn't stay here, only ate”
 of 5 bubbles Cateycustard, Dec 9, 2016 | Read review
“If you're a light sleeper you might a back room, its not overly noisy so don't be put off a front room, the view is great”
 of 5 bubbles 527richardo, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question