We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Claverton Country House Hotel

Save
Share
Bluemans Lane off Kent Street, Battle TN33 0SE England
Lowest prices for your stay
$138
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/27/22
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.com$138
Travelocity$147
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (119)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (18)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Battle
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Claverton Country House Hotel combines Edwardian character with modern design. Offering luxury guest accommodation with free onsite car park and free WiFi and set in secluded landscaped gardens 3 miles from Battle Abbey.Claverton is perfectly positioned in a country lane, off Kent Street A21, to visit the many Castles and National Trust Gardens. Hastings seafront, Rye and Bodium Castle can all be reached after a 10 minute drive. Carr Taylor Vineyard is a 20 minute walk. London is a 1hour 10 minute train ride away and Brighton or Dover is a 1 hour drive.The Bedrooms are elegantly furnished with luxury mattresses, flat screen satellite LCD TV and Tea/Coffee making facilities.English breakfasts are freshly prepared to order using local produce with fine bone china and silver cutlery decorating the restaurant tables. Please note, breakfast is only free only if stated as included on your booking confirmation. Evening dining at Claverton includes the highly acclaimed "The Dining Room" restaurant on Friday and Saturday and a Bistro menu served in the Lounge Monday - Thursday.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Private check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
527Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 365
  • 123
  • 29
  • 7
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Andy G wrote a review Nov 2021
Lewes, United Kingdom42 contributions45 helpful votes
Overall, a really good experience. Rooms were made available early and all the staff we spoke with were friendly and welcoming. Just two points to make, one of which they may not be able to resolve i.e. very low water pressure, which made our shower feel like a very light sprinkle! The other was the lack of vegetarian options at breakfast - the omelettes were lovely, but nowadays it’s unusual to not be offered vegetarian sausages, for example. That should be easy enough to put right.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
rayh501 wrote a review Nov 2021
Dartford, United Kingdom93 contributions48 helpful votes
Great room and good service from the staff. We enjoyed the breakfast but was disappointed no meals on sunday evenings. Did not stop us enjoying our stay as we went out and them came back to the bar. We will return as my daughter lives in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
DebF45 wrote a review Oct 2021
Ware, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed on a Sunday night in a “luxury king size 4 poster room”. The room was spotless and perfectly adequate but did not have the “luxury” feel which we had expected. Breakfast was very good, all freshly made to order. The staff were polite and helpful. But 2 big cons for us: the mattress was very soft and sagged badly in the middle making it a very uncomfortable night as we kept rolling together, and secondly, we had, unprompted, been told that no food would be served in the evening. We checked again when we arrived and were told we could not eat at the hotel so went out to a pub about 5 miles away. So imagine our annoyance when we returned to see another couple clearly eating supper in the lounge area. They need to be consistent. All in all, an ok experience but memorable for the wrong reasons and definitely not the luxury experience we were charged for.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry Sainsbury, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel
Responded Oct 19, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are delighted you found the place spotless, the staff friendly and you enjoyed the breakfasts. You were due to arrive on a Wednesday in September and you had received a pre arrival email stating that Dinner was available. However on the day of arrival you asked us to move the reservation to a Sunday in October. We waived the cancellation fee due as a gesture of goodwill and highlighted that food is not available on Sundays. The guests in the Lounge brought in food from outside and asked our duty manager for plates and cutlery which we were happy to provide for them as we could not provide food. We apologise that we did not envisage that them eating there would cause annoyance for any other guests in the hotel as no one else was in the Lounge at that time. We hope that these guests were pleased with our helpfulness and maybe reflect this as a positive aspect in a review to negate this negative one. We will inspect the mattress however we have not received any other compaints about it. We will also look at maybe renamimg our room titles as the words "Luxury" and "Deluxe" can have different connotations to different guests.
Read more
mollystan wrote a review Oct 2021
United Kingdom21 contributions5 helpful votes
Celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary we had a less than overwhelming stay. The ‘luxury’ room was definitely not with an empty minibar no complimentary water, no herbal tea / lack of supplies, poor quality toiletries & stains on the carpet. The staff were polite but not friendly and strangely we never saw the owners who seemed to be remote from the business operation. Knowing it was our anniversary it would have been nice to place a couple of chocolates on our pillow! Food was acceptable but lack of choice. Lunch was offered in the beer garden (same as evening menu) and the tables were all joined together despite the amount of room to spread them out on the large terrace area. Finally there was a very noisy door under our room which when shut shook our room until late. Altogether disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry Sainsbury, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel
Responded Oct 19, 2021
Thank you for spending your wedding anniversary at Claverton and we regret you were disappointed. We apologise for not leaving a card in your room which we usually do. This was an oversight and it has been highlighted to the Reception and Housekeeping staff. To respond to your other points, the minibars were emptied due to Covid restrictions and have remained in the rooms for guests to use for their own items. There is a note to say the water from the taps are drinkable and we see no reason to pollute the environment with unnecessary plastic water bottles. The Tea tray has Teabags, 2 types of coffees with all the accompaniments plus biscuits and we are happy to add herbal or decaff Tea from the kitchen if requested. We provide Shampoo, Conditioner, Soap, Body Wash and Lotion and they are a popular brand in hotels. The carpets are cleaned during a deep clean every month. On Saturdays we have a all day menu. As it is now October the majority of outdoor tables have been bought in and the ones left are under cover with heating overhead if required. Guests do not have to eat in the Beer Garden outside as we have indoor Dining available too. We are happy to move any tables out from under cover if requested. Our staff are often described in reviews as friendly and we are pleased that you at least found them polite in dealing with your complaints. The hotel owners are very much involved in the business day to day operation and have upmost confidence in their staff to provide the front of house experience if they are absent. We see hundreds of customers each year who give us great feedback of their stay, if not on social media then verbally or by email or cards, and we are truly disappointed that your stay was not as you wished it to be on such a special occasion.
Read more
PFwanderer wrote a review Sep 2021
London, United Kingdom30 contributions24 helpful votes
A little gem of a hotel. Off the main road and easy to find. Central for exploring 1066 country. Covid aware and very well organised. A sympathetically refurbished and extended country house. The Grounds are extremely well kept. The hotel was also very clean and tidy. We stayed in room 10. A good sized well furnished and decorated room with a large sleigh style bed. A seating area overlooking the garden. A modern en suite shower room. A small fridge also in the room - handy for cold drinks etc., Breakfast is ordered the night before and freshly cooked for you. Usual UK breakfast menu with a continental option. The restaurant/ dining room is very well decorated in a 'lounge bar' style. All the tables are well spaced out. We ate in the restaurant for a few nights. Varied menu with DF,GF & V options. The food was freshly prepared, presented really well and tasty. All of the staff were happy and delightful, attentive but not intrusive and happy to help . They all know their job well. A well stocked bar in the dining area and also one outside in the garden dining area. A lovely few days. Thanks to the staff for making our stay enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry Sainsbury, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel
Responded Oct 19, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive feedback. We appreciate the time you have spent to share a detailed account of your stay and I will pass on your comments to the staff who work so hard to make guests experience a happy one.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$100 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexBattle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Claverton Country House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Claverton Country House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include 1066 Target Sports (1.7 miles), Xcape Station (4.0 miles), and Adventure Golf Hastings (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Claverton Country House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Claverton Country House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Claverton Country House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Claverton Country House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include MONELLIS Sourdough Pizza, Yaaze Bistro Cafe And Meze Bar, and Remy's Cafe Kulinarya.
Is Claverton Country House Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Battle.
Are there any historical sites close to Claverton Country House Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Smugglers Adventure (4.1 miles), Hastings Castle (4.0 miles), and Hastings Pier (4.1 miles).