We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Anchor

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Anchor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 258: English reviews
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really good pub. Quirky. Friendly. Homely. Food was excellent. I had smoked mackerel pate with toast and side salad followed by Boozy Orange pancakes, with a lovely warm sauce and orange sorbet. Yum. The staff were very helpful and service very quick and food well presented. Lovely garden front and back if weather warmer. Coped with my two year old... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicat13
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Splendid pub with excellent food menu, good wines, local beers and wide range of interesting bottled beers. Rooms in the main building and "chalets" to rear. We stayed in two rooms in the pub, both well equipped. Nice outside terrace for breakfast. Service from all staff was really good and appreciated. I'm sure to many The Anchor is well known,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place lovely staff friendly and helpful. Quiet and peaceful Large and comfortable Near stonham raptor centre 5 mins walk from the beach Little shop 5 mins away too Beds comfortable Food very very good Area stunning. Nice beach.

Helpful?
Thank Vicky J
AnchorSophie, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this review

Thank you! We'd love to see you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in Room 4 at The Anchor for one night before moving to our self catering booking. Excellent. We had a marvellous dinner: crab for me and belly of pork for my companion. The service was efficient, the Adnams beer excellent, and the atmosphere relaxed and stylish. The room overlooked the road and tables outside, but people were civilised... More 

Helpful?
Thank JNHQ
AnchorSophie, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this review

Thank you! We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Please visit again! More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Super seaside village pub. Lots of tables inside and out in the garden. Tuesday is pizza night with an oven in the garden. Also outdoor barbecue lunches. Helpful staff, interesting menus with local produce, full range of drinks. Looking forward to visiting again soon!

Helpful?
Thank CareFree5
AnchorSophie, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting The Anchor. We'd love to know what we could do to improve on 3 out of 5. More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited with friends earlier in the year we returned for a post walk lunch on Sunday. Seven of us had fish and chips, unfortunately the portions varied massively with some of our party receiving having almost double of others. On our previous visit the staff were all very attentive and friendly, unfortunately on this visit the staff were generally... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon B
AnchorSophie, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that you had a disappointing experience visiting the Anchor. It would be enormously helpful to us if you were able to send us an email, confirming the date and time of your recent lunch. You're right, of course, that portion size is important. Also, it matters greatly to us that all staff take proper care of our... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We travel around Europe every year and we love pizza, I have to say that on Wednesday I had one of the best pizzas ever...... Very thin base and crisp crusts, cooked in a wood fired oven, and with a nice glass of wine could of been anywhere! Can't wait to return.

Helpful?
Thank cruelladamole
AnchorSophie, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this review

Fantastic! Thanks very much for taking the time to tell us about it - all best wishes for your travels. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed three nights with our two children. Garden rooms were great as we could leave crabbing and beach kit outside!! Breakfasts were lovely. Main beds were v comfortable. Kids were on sofa beds. Rooms were clean and tidy. Staff friendly. We have booked for next year!

Helpful?
Thank Katie P
AnchorSophie, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this review

We're so pleased that you have chosen to book with us again for next year. Please let us know what we could do to get a 5 out of 5 rating. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived about two o'clock on wednesday 31st August after Bank holiday the restaurant was in complete melt down , after 10 mins waiting for attention somebody informed us the gas had run out. The waiting time for food could not be given , so we ordered drinks to contemplate the situation , after 15 min these had not arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank farnham911
AnchorSophie, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this review

I'm sincerely sorry that you had a disappointing experience at the Anchor. If you could email me on the address given on our website http://www.anchoratwalberswick.com , we could perhaps arrange another time for you to visit and for us to do better. More 

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived with our 15 cars and about 28 people. We were allowed to park on the lawn and our tables were ready. What wonderful afternoon tea, which included sandwiches, scones (with jam and cream), home made chocolate brownies and lemon drizze cake. And as much tea and coffee as you wanted. The staff were very attentive and professional and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Juliette C
AnchorSophie, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this review

Wonderful! It was great having you at the Anchor, thank you for choosing us. Please let us know what we could do differently to score a 5 out of 5. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walberswick
2.8 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
11.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,316 reviews
1.7 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A village pub with a difference. Our addiction to fresh, top quality, locally sourced where possible produce, combined with a thirst for excellence have evolved into what has been described as a "must go to place on the Suffolk coast." Our approach to food is robust; we want to put on each plate satisfying combinations of flavours and textures. We have a good range of characterful draught beers, and numerous world class bottled beers, organic soft drinks and over 150 drop dead lovely wines from some of the earth’s most inspired winemakers. We offer the same menu throughout, with more formal Restaurant dining on a bookings basis and more relaxed walk-ins, in the Bar. We also have seating for 150 outside on three terraces, with table service available for those warmer days. Our renovated flint barn is a highly versatile space, equipped with a drop-down screen and a projector, ideal for business meetings, strategy reviews, team building exercises, corporate training, presentations, film showings or private parties to mention just a few of its uses. It has been put to good use in the cause of village based charity fund raising projects as well as providing the theatre for Food Safari events, cask beer festivals and the Aldebrough Doc. Fest. fringe event weekend November 2011. Free time relaxation can include everything from Golf at several well established Courses, to Horse Riding at Bramfield Equestrian Centre, Sky Diving for all levels at Beccels, Aromatherapy in walking distance or sea fishing of Walberswick Coast with Mark Felton. Beer Academy and WSCT (Wine and Spirits) educational courses are available by arrangement. Our Hotel Accommodation: We have just undergone a thorough renovation of our Now Cedar Clad Chalets, enhancing the environment in which to enjoy the Sea View. We offer 10 rooms in total, 6 spacious en suite room garden chalets, as well as several room options in the main building. All the rooms have a large flat screen TV, with Freeview and IPod Alarm Clock docking Stations. Ample free parking is provided with direct access to the beach, Dunwich Forest or the Marshes. RSPB Minsmere, Southwold and Aldeburgh are all close by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Anchor

Address: The Street, Walberswick IP18 6UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Walberswick
Price Range: $142 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Walberswick
The Anchor Walberswick, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay