We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Castle Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Felixstowe
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Castle Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2015

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. A beautiful building and interior. So quiet - a great night's sleep. A short walk away from the sea front and shops. Lots of choice at breakfast including gluten free.

Helpful?
Thank Angela C
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

We had a large room with a sea view. Clean and well decorated if a little old fashioned. It was nice to have two easy chairs and an occasional table with plenty of space to watch TV or have a cuppa. The shower room was small but well appointed and supplied with Cole & Lewis soap shampoo and conditioner in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rvdrive
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2015

We have made several visits to Castle Lodge Hotel both as a couple and with friends who have young children and always enjoyed our stay there. The couple who have run it for many years are most friendly and welcoming to everyone. They offer bed and breakfast with on suite rooms. Breakfasts are generous and cooked to specific order. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Max B
castlelodge503747, Owner at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Birmingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2015

We had a family room for my husband and myself and our granddaughter. This was a very spacious room, with tea and coffee making facilities, bath and shower cubicle, very clean and comfortable. The cooked breakfast was loveley and hot, not large, but plenty if you have cereals too. The lady who runs the hotel was very friendly and helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BhamQueenie
castlelodge503747, Owner at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am surprised you thought the breakfast was small and wonder what you would have liked in addition? Perhaps if you stay again, you can tell me. More 

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

Normally we try to book the Fludyers when we go to Felixstowe but they were fully booked. Found the Castle Lodge on Booking.com and at just £80 inc a fabulous breakfast, we found it clean, excellently equipped, friendly, comfortable, spacious and really quite delightful. The hotel is a short walk from the town centre and beach. Parking is limited but... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank KeithTonbridge
castlelodge503747, Owner at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and gave us full marks!. More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2015

Quiet stay despite the building works opposite but these will soon be finished. Still gives some rooms a coastal view.It is welcoming, clean, plenty of hot water, wonderful breakfast. Near to both the town and the coast, and can offer parking.

Helpful?
Thank Baytree2014
castlelodge503747, Owner at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which is always much appreciated to know what guests think. We are pleased you found everything to your satisfaction Many thanks. More 

Wisbech, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2015

We recently returned from a ship-spotting trip to Felixstowe and stayed overnight at the Castle Lodge Hotel. This was booked on line and we asked for several things to suit our needs, we are slightly disabled, before our arrival. We booked in at 4.15 pm after arriving at 7.15 am after spending the day visiting the Viewpoint area. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
castlelodge503747, Owner at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in July. More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2015

After an administrative issue we were shown to the room we had requested and had a pleasant stay. Was not made aware of major building work opposite giving the occupant a restricted sea view. Room was clean and bright. Felixstowe is divided into two parts nice to see both sides of the area.

Helpful?
Thank jewelledflipflop
castlelodge503747, Owner at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. More 

Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2015

For our night away from home this month we threw a dart at the map and it landed on Felixstowe. We didn't know anything about the town and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. We stayed at the Castle Lodge which had the added bonus of a big apartment block being built in front of it. We spent... More 

Helpful?
Thank shan b
castlelodge503747, Owner at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2014

I have now stayed here on business twice. Last time was just a week back. Despite the cold damp weather outside it was lovely and toasty inside. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast (although I don't tend to eat breakfast much) is served at whatever time it is requested and is hot when it arrives.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hollywood91210
castlelodge503747, Owner at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very nice comments following your recent stay with us. It is really important to us to know that guests are pleased with the service we offer. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felixstowe
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Felixstowe Town Centre
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe
0.2 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Felixstowe
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
10.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
21.0 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Castle Lodge Hotel

Address: Chevalier Road, Felixstowe IP11 7EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Felixstowe
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Castle Lodge Hotel Felixstowe, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Castle Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We had a family room overlooking the side of hotel, this was fine by us.”
 of 5 bubbles BhamQueenie, Aug 23, 2015 | Read review
“Contact the proprietor and discuss your needs, if any.”
 of 5 bubbles brianmY3600UE, May 22, 2015 | Read review
“Go for the back if you don't like construction work”
 of 5 bubbles 831shanb, Mar 9, 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms my colleagues and I stayed in were good.”
 of 5 bubbles hollywood91210, Dec 6, 2014 | Read review
“The rooms on the ocean front will soon have their view blocked by a new building. However, it is only one block from the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles LeomaG, Dec 1, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question