We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Lion Hotel

Save
Share
The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (143)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (13)

About

#4 of 4 hotels in Hunstanton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Free internet
Internet
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Great View
635Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 162
  • 206
  • 106
  • 78
  • 83
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Carol T wrote a review Nov 11
Leicester, United Kingdom2 contributions
Yes the building is a little tired, but the excellent staff made up for any short falls. Particularly a young lady called Kaycee who served our meal on the Tuesday evening. Extremely helpful, polite and characterful.Difficult times for them all, and they worked really hard to make our stay safe.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Carol T Thank you so much for your review and your kind comments. I am sure Kaycee will be delighted with her special mention and we will probably not hear the end of it!!! We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kind regards Giles General Manager
Read more
Louisa JL wrote a review Nov 1
Lincoln, United Kingdom28 contributions37 helpful votes
Some good points, some not so good. When we arrived at reception on Saturday 31st October we found the receptionist to be quite brash in her demeanour. She definitely needs to develop her customer service skills as she is the first person that customers meet. We found our room to be lovely and spacious and we were pleased with this (room 304) BUT during the night it was windy and the old, poorly maintained window frame constantly rattled. This led to a very disturbed sleep. Such a shame because the beds were lovely and comfy. Breakfast was lovely and the young staff on duty were prompt to serve us and are a real asset to the hotel; the receptionist could definitely learn a few things from their approach to customers. Would we stay here again? Yes, we would but we’d avoid room 304 unless they decide to sort out the window rattling.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear LOUISA200 Thank you for your review regarding your stay here with us. Firstly, I would like to apologise if my Receptionist came across as "quite brash" Saturdays are extremely busy especially with check in`s and my first thought is that you unfortunately caught her at "bad moment" as normally I receive nothing but praise for my staff. This of course is no excuse and obviously I have spoken to her and she apologises profusely for any inconvenience caused. Secondly, I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding breakfast and the Restaurant team these will be passed on to them Lastly, I apologise for the issues you had with the windows during the night, these have been noted and will be looked into. I am so pleased to hear that you would stay with us again, If I can suggest that you contact me directly when you decide to return I would be happy to personally deal with your booking. Kind regards Giles General Manager
Read more
Catriona M wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
Hotel generally a bit dated and in need of care and attention to detail, with some fittings and fixtures not working or hanging of the wall. A large area of exposed mould/mildew in one of the bedroom corridors is a health and safety concern. Breakfast was ok, but hard work getting everything you needed from the waiting staff who would have benefitted from better training or supervision. Generally just not good enough.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 615catrionam Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay here with us. I must agree that the hotel is in need of some TLC. With regards to the area in the corridor repairs have been carried out and will be re-decorated when the wall has dried out sufficiently and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. Your breakfast issues have been noted and will be discussed with my team. As always all feedback is welcomed and thank you once again for your review. Kind regards Giles General Manager
Read more
haylz wrote a review Oct 2020
Peterborough, United Kingdom69 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
We have recently returned from a two night stay (23rd-25th). I honestly don't know where to start, the hotel blew my expectations. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely member of the reception team and immediately made to feel welcome. We stayed in room 106 and all I can say is wow. The size of the room was amazing. A huge four poster bed, a sofa and an arm chair by the window, plenty of room to store our clothes and luggage and the biggest bathroom I think I've ever seen. The shower was big enough for about 5 people, double sinks and a nice big bath. The room was spotlessly clean, I didn't find a shred of dust or dirt anywhere. We had such a fabulous view over the sea, I very much enjoyed sitting at the bay window in the morning watching the sun rise. We had a couple of drinks in the bar on our first night, the service was quick and it was a very relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious and the service again was very quick. Both mornings we had such a lovely view over the gardens. On the day we were leaving we had another lovely receptionist help us out by storing our luggage in the office so that we could go out and enjoy our last few hours without having to take our cases. All in all we couldn't find a single thing to fault and will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Hayley 0805 Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review regarding your stay here with us. I was delighted to read we went over and above your expectations. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and will be passed on to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards Giles General Manager
Read more
DK_AC wrote a review Oct 2020
London60 contributions50 helpful votes
Just returned from a two night stay at the Golden Lion Very good and central location - private parking is available for an additional fee Reception staff friendly Our double room with a sea room was fine - bedroom was a little small and a little dated but bathroom was large and modern Breakfast on each morning was a little erratic - staff are generally young and very eager to please but lots of mistakes happening with our orders as well as orders on adjoining tables such as wrong food being delivered, missing items, delays etc. More supervision is needed on this front especially as the buffet is not available due to Covid restrictions
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear DK_AC Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. All feedback is welcomed and will help us to improve and move forward, so I thank you for your comments. Kind regards Giles General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$69 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden lion hunstanton, golden lion hotel hunstanton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkHunstanton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Golden Lion Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Golden Lion Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hunstanton Beach (0.2 miles), Princess Theatre (0.06 miles), and Hunstanton Heritage Centre (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Golden Lion Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at The Golden Lion Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Golden Lion Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Golden Lion Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Berni Beans, The Coffee Pot, and The Copper Kettle.
Is The Golden Lion Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Hunstanton.
Are there any historical sites close to The Golden Lion Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bircham Windmill (7.6 miles) and Appleton Water Tower (8.5 miles).
Does The Golden Lion Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.