We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Lion Hotel

Save
Share
The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ England
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$101
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$101
View deal
Hotels.com
$106
$91
View deal
SAVE $15
Expedia.com$91
Official Hotel$106
Travelocity$91
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (168)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (13)

About

#4 of 4 hotels in Hunstanton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Free internet
Internet
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
648Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 168
  • 210
  • 108
  • 79
  • 84
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lindy G wrote a review Yesterday
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom1 contribution
Just stayed for a week in 2nd floor room with sea view as a single occupancy. Room very comfortable but not large for a couple. Very compfy bed with good quality linen and towels. Breakfast good with excellent table service. But what made the stay special was the friendliness of all of the staff who seemed to work really well together as a team and made you feel very welcome. Bar staff good also but shame that no bar meals served after 6. I will definitely be returning for another stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I had 2nd floor room which was quite small but I would guess that 1st floor sea view room would...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Loonic wrote a review Jun 15
London, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Great location in middle of the town which was buzzing, and free parking outside. Very friendly, attentive and hard working staff in reception, dining room, bar and the lovely cleaner. Loved sitting in the garden with a beer… those views. We will return
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Shane J wrote a review Jun 12
Wisbech, United Kingdom1 contribution
Went there Thursday evening to sit outside the front in the sun. Large white wine and a glass of lemonade, charged £10.45. In plastic glasses! Absolute rip off. That's more expensive than London and Dubai! Won't be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear shanej918 Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your visit here. As you are probably aware a reply to you original message via our Facebook page has been sent, explaining that for a large glass of wine and a pint of coke was £10.45. I am disappointed that you did not raise your concerns at the time of your visit, but I thank you for your review. Kind regards Giles
Read more
Trudy P wrote a review Jun 11
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked in for a 4 night break. Thoroughly enjoyed it and meals were lovely and lots of choice each night. The rooms were spacious. Enjoyed using the garden in the lovely weather. Will definitely be coming back again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Trudy P Thank you so much for your review, I was delighted to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to seeing you again vey soon. Kind regards Giles
Read more
Ian G wrote a review Jun 7
Bedford, United Kingdom51 contributions43 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights, weather was disgusting but can't blame them for that. Building is (was) very impressive in a commanding position overlooking the sea, but unfortunately now well passed its best with repairs to the fabric and internal refurbishment urgently needed. I gather it has recently changed hands, well the new owners certainly have a lot to do to bring this place up to a decent modern standard, although it's probably worth the money and effort. No lift so if you struggle with stairs best to look elsewhere, although the staff were very willing to help with bags and anything else. It's last coat of paint inside (whenever that was )was a very a uniform grey which just adds to the overall drab interior. Our room was like stepping back into the thirties, although the beds were clean and comfortable and the radiator was warm. It had however a glorious sea view. Breakfast was a laugh, - normally it was buffet service but due to covid it was table service only and clearly the staff (whilst always friendly) were obviously not used to this, - we never once got everything we had ordered, and the food varied from hot to cold and dry on the same plate. Perhaps here I'm being a little harsh as they had only been open for three days, and given their obvious keenness this may well improve. We did not eat dinner here so can't comment on this. The lounge and bar area was like a draughty corridor with old uncomfortable furniture which should have been thrown out long ago. The one enormous advantage this hotel has is the staff, - they are young, friendly and helpful, - we never saw a sulky or unhappy face the whole time we were there and nothing was too much trouble. Good luck with the refurbishments ! .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get a sea view room, great views - beware of stairs, as some sea views are on the second floor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ian G Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. All points raised have been noted. I apologise if the breakfast service was not up to standard, we did encounter some teething problems in the first couple of weeks of opening. However I can assure you I have implemented new procedures and we are seeing improvements. Your kind comments regarding the staff are very much appreciated an I will pass these on, they have done amazingly well in extremely difficult circumstances. We hope to see you again sometime in the future. Kind regards Giles
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$69 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden lion hunstanton, golden lion hotel hunstanton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkHunstanton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Golden Lion Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Golden Lion Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hunstanton Beach (0.2 miles), Princess Theatre (0.05 miles), and Hunstanton Heritage Centre (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Golden Lion Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at The Golden Lion Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Golden Lion Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Golden Lion Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Berni Beans, The Coffee Pot, and The Copper Kettle.
Is The Golden Lion Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Hunstanton.
Are there any historical sites close to The Golden Lion Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bircham Windmill (7.6 miles) and Appleton Water Tower (8.5 miles).
Does The Golden Lion Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.