We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Lion Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Golden Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 303: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff on arrival couldn't have been more helpful. Room lovely, newly decorated and spotlessly clean. Very friendly bar manager. Breakfast was self service on our stay which was a step back but the evening meals were good. This was our second visit this year and we have just booked our third.

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The site of this old hotel looking out over a great expanse of sea towards Lincolnshire is breathtaking . Just sitting out on the trestle tables at the front of the hotel watching the world go by is great. The staff are also extremely helpful and friendly. However the food is seriously dire and its hard to understand why they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank onewarren
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We went to the Golden Lion Hotel with some friends for Sunday lunch a couple of weeks ago and It has to be one of the worst if not worst Sunday roast I've ever had. The beef was chewy, the vegetables were over cooked and mushy and the roast potatoes had an odd taste. The best part was the gravy.... More 

Helpful?
Thank koozakidd

Travelers are raving about these Hunstanton hotels

Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thought the outside of this hotel looked good so called in for a meal one Saturday afternoon . We chose to sit in the bar as the restaurant looked very dull and boring . We ordered burgers ...... after half an hour the waitress said the chef had decided the first burgers he cooked were substandard so he was doing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DavidRogers3
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food inedible tasteless or tough, steaks tough and over cooked. Even breakfast was bad, hash browns cooked in chip pan dripping with fat, sausages cooked on one side, eggs were fatty and clearly been cooked much earlier, Did complain so didn't have to pay for food

Helpful?
Thank Billybill60
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its got to be the best eating in Hunstanton and the warmest welcome. Sunday roast is great, the weekly menu is fab. The view from the rooms is lovely, over the sea, on a full moon is the best ever. A recommend to all

Helpful?
1 Thank CLIVE P
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Clive P. Thank you for such a lovely review. Regards, Zoe. More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

while staying in Hunstanton we decided instead of visting other venues we would have Sunday Roast at the Golden Lion. Never again. we were in at 11.40 & enquired about lunch evenually we found out it was roast beef (one 1 option) we got drinks at 12 & ordered from the bar, there was only 1 table being used when... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank C P
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon C P. Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you had such a bad experience on your recent visit with us. Hannah my Duty Manager who saw you on the day did explain that we had a problem with one of our tills and that is why she refunded your meals without hesitation. I would... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

The Golden Lion is an excellent hotel.On arriving we were greeted by really friendly staff.Our room 304 was a good size and nicely decorated.We had a wet room which so nice. The food was very good and as with everyone else in the hotel the staff were excellent. We would not hesitate to visit the hotel again.Thankyou to everyone .

Helpful?
Thank chris-elliott30
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon chris-elliott30. Thank you for such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Zoe. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

Ok, I haven't actually stayed at the Golden Lion, but I have visited for a drink and my parents stay regularly. The rooms are clean and fairly basic and my parents love the food which is a simple fare definitely aimed at the more budget conscious traveler. They have just very cleverly refurbed all of the downstairs and it has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Faith13-13
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Faith13-13. Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you like our refurbishment. We have recently launched our new a'la carte menu which you may find is to your liking instead of our daily table d'hote menu. Regards, Zoe. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Having visited previously we again called in for the Sunday Roast, my how standards have slipped. Having placed the order and getting drinks from the bar, we were still waiting for the meal fifty minutes later, there were only two couples and a small family in the restaurant, so it wasn't busy. Having waited long enough I returned to the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Bob S. Thank you for your comments. It is correct that we had a problem with the tills on Sunday that affected two tables. Technology did let us down on this occasion and we tried to rectify the problem with the best solution we could by providing your meals free of charge. I hope that you decide to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
1.1 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond House B&B and Restaurant
14.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Lynn Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Lynn Hotel
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
Food & drink at the hotel
The Golden Lion hotel
The Golden Lion hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Address: The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Price Range: $112 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hunstanton
Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton
The Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay