We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1-3 Shirehall Plain, Holt NR25 6BG England
Booking.com
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (186)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (373)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Holt
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Holt, North Norfolk, 5 Star Gold Award Posh B&B, thriving restaurant & award-winning deli. Huge Vi Spring beds, Bang & Olufsen TV / DVD / Stereo, marble bathrooms & masses of character. 4 Miles from beach.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Desk
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
525Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 360
  • 128
  • 26
  • 8
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jude99 wrote a review Jun 2020
Cambridge UK87 contributions31 helpful votes
I have had the pleasure, albeit a lonely one of having free accomodation , YES FREE! provided at Byfords during the last 3 months of lockdown. I am a manager of a local nursing home having to travel in from Cambridge and for the last 4 years have been a genuine paying guest when working. With the closure of hotels due to Covid, I was facing a 170 mile round trip to get to work. That is until Byfords stepped in with this incredibly generous gesture. Given a key to come and go. Living off takeaways unfortunately but , without this place to stay I would not have been able to support my staff and residents. My home has remained Covid free, but in the event of an outbreak I would have self isolated at Byfords. I cannot express enough how incredibly grateful I am for this support and I wish you all well with the re-opening and hope to return soon as a paying guest on holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: All rooms provide top quality accomodation.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Kaz wrote a review Mar 2020
Norfolk22 contributions17 helpful votes
We had a 2 night winter warmer stay in room 9. The room was very clean, warm and comfortable with a huge bed and a lovely bathroom. Upon arrival we had a complimentary coffee and cake in the cafe which was a nice surprise. We had a meal included on the first night, afternoon tea the following day and breakfast included on both mornings. All the food we ate was delicious and very good quality. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. This was our first stay at Byfords but definitely won't be our last.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Pete. wrote a review Feb 2020
Stevenage, United Kingdom2 contributions
Spent two nights 9/10 Feb at Byfords. What a great place to spend some time, even with the worst weather raging outside. Welcomed with tea and cake and smiling faces from all the staff. The room we had 16 which was huge with the room and bathroom the same size, wow. The Breakfasts, Lunch and Dinners were great all served by attentive staff. I will return to this super place again and a very big thank you to all the team at Byfords for making our stay so special.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Barbara Lane wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom14 contributions5 helpful votes
Again a wonderful stay,Holt in the run up to Christmas is wonderful,town is exceptionally pretty at night,fantastic room,very clean and fresh flowers a nice touch,very spacious,staff are wonderful all around the place,food is a big hit,pizza in the evening from the deli was wonderful,let’s hope the next stay in February is as good as previous stays.I booked a stay for my sister and she thoroughly enjoyed it too,see you soon
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Nicki B wrote a review Jan 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom245 contributions65 helpful votes
+1
Stayed overnight in Room 7 and although the room is lovely, well furnished and spacious - noise was an issue and if I were to return I wouldn’t wish to stay in that particular room again. The staff on duty and in particular the receptionist were fantastic and couldn’t do enough for us, very friendly, helpful and courteous. Unfortunately we were unable to dine in the restaurant due to sewage problem so unable to comment about the ambience but normal service was resumed at breakfast which was both plentiful and of good quality. As I write this I am still awaiting a response from the manager with regards to the noise issue and sewage problem. Unfortunately both those issues left us feeling tired and deflated after having looked forward to our stay so much and a little short changed in that we were unable to enjoy the ambiance and experience as a whole.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$200 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
byfords hotel holt
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaHolt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Byfords
Which popular attractions are close to Byfords?
Nearby attractions include Bakers and Larners of Holt (0.06 miles), Holt Owl Trail (0.03 miles), and The Gallery (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Byfords?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Byfords?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Byfords?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Black Apollo Coffee House, The Folly Tearoom, and Horatio's.
Is Byfords located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.02 miles away from the center of Holt.
Are there any historical sites close to Byfords?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Letheringsett Watermill (0.9 miles).
Is Byfords accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.