We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 559: English reviews
hull
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We use holiday inn all the time as they are always clean and good value, but we found this one a bit tired. The staff were friendly especially the red haired lady in dining area she was so lovely and helpful. Our stay was spoilt by people slamming doors, talking down corridors early hours in the morning. Someone had put... More 

Helpful?
Thank oldgreycathull
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Clean rooms with comfortable beds and quiet rooms. Just what was needed after a hard day of doing a house move! The staff are friendly and happy to help in any way. Breakfast was good, it's a buffet style and standard hotel fair.

Helpful?
Thank Goldenhawkw
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

If you want a luxurious, comfortable, friendly stay in an easily accessible hotel then I recommend this one. Located just off of the A1, this hotel provided us with a lovely room, warm and comfortable bed, friendly staff and a warm continental breakfast to die for. There were no faults with this hotel, there was even a gym onsite and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhianna M
Glasgow UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Appears I'm running against the trend here. Firstly, the staff are very good. Friendly and attentive. No complaints here. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Nothing better than Premier Inn or similar. But the whole place is souleless. Went to dinner in what was more like a canteen than a restaurant. However, the worst thing was the food. Asked for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frazman
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Dear Frazman, Thank you for your review and positive comments regarding the hotel team and bedrooms. I am sorry the new modern open lobby concept was not to your liking. When specifying not to be served mushrooms with your steak you should not have received them, I have spoken with the food and beverage team to ensure each order is... More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for one night on route home to Scotland from France. Having stayed at a Holiday Inn in Ashford the previous evening which was an enjoyable stay, the main difference was the value for money at this Holiday Inn. We are a family of 4 who stayed in a family room with breakfast included for under £65! The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
HIDarlington, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Dear Fiona H, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review, we are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay on your long journey home. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Atwater, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Holiday Inn Darlington. Room 117. Nice room, staff is fine. Dinner was real good. The only drawback is that a couple of the lights were not working and there is no power outlet close enough to the bed for my cpap (the folks at the front desk were very quick to supply an extension cord though). Coach tour of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jpd43
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us while you were touring the British Isles. Our maintenance team have fixed the lights in your room. Thank you for reporting this. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were unable to book the Holiday Inn, Scotch Corner, which would have put us closer to the wedding venue and to be quite honest I was somewhat apprehensive as we pulled in to the car park. Security was clearly a little lacking with the CCTV and entry/exit barrier in disrepair Straight forward enough at reception and an upgrade to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter D
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are really pleased that you like our hotel and that we didn't let you down after what was an apprehensive start. Just to put your mind at rest all of our CCTV cameras are operational and are serviced regularly. The safety and security of our... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We previously stayed at this hotel when it was an Aston hotel and though it has been taken over by the Holiday Inn its still a great place to stay. The staff were very friendly and efficient, the hotel was spotless and the room spacious. The breakfast was excellent witha great variety of fresh cooked and cold food. We will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rozza20
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. It is great to hear from a returning guest especially one who stayed with us before our re-branding and refurbishment programme. To hear that you consider us to still be a great place to stay means a lot as our whole team work hard to maintain... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Short stay while we were visiting family ,couldn't fault it,immaculate,friendly and good value.Breakfast was plentiful and delicious,facilities were excellent.We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and friendly nature of all the staff. we will be making it a regular thing on our visits to Aycliffe.

Helpful?
Thank clinton b
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. It is absolutely great to hear that you couldn't fault our hotel. We always strive to create a friendly relaxing atmosphere for our valued guests. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Aycliffe and look forward to seeing you... More 

UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

We stayed here for 2 weekend nights with a dinner package on one of the nights. Bedroom was large and roomy with everything you needed. The restaurant served tasty food which was reasonably priced. All the staff we encountered were so friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

Helpful?
Thank spark26
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay. It is lovely to hear that you had an excellent break with us. Your comments genuinely mean so much to all of our team and we hope that you will come back to stay with us again when you are next in the area.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
3.0 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 stars 2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: $61 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay