We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

508 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 330: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were in Longyearbyen for one night prior to joining an Expedition ship for an Arctic adventure, and Radisson Blu was the hotel where our group was to meet... so we selected it as the place to also spend the night. There are a number of other accommodation options in this town..... the most Northern town in the World.... but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogeria l
Solna
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with an exceptional location in the town centre of Longyearbyen. The hotel is quite modern and stylish. As in many other hotels in Longyearbyen, you need to take of your shoes when entering the hotel (unfortunately not all visitors respects this tradition which results in wet floor and socks from time-to-time). The breakfast, served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anders S
Spitsbergen T, Resepsjonssjef at Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Svalbard, Anders. We were more than happy to be of assistance during your stay and it is lovely to read that you found value in the hotel's facilities. We are indeed proud of the view the hotel and restuarant offers over Adventfjorden and always enjoy hearing that our guests appreciated it as...

Buskerud, Norway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room 101-123, odd numbers, is placed in the cellar with a view upwards to the parking lot. Avoid these rooms. The shower runs all over the floor, and the drain is located on the highest level. The cleaning of the room wasn't to good, the same empty beer bottle, from the last guest I guess, was still on the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BTSwang
CarlsonRezidor, Customer Support Specialist at Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen, responded to this review

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review and it is great to hear that you liked our staff's service and our location. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room in terms of the cleaning and the view. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Landed for the second time above the Artic Circle first stop Tromsö and finally Longyearbyen, Svalbard. We were greeted by the super friendly shuttlebus driver “Wille” I believe a super friendly and funny person sat I very high standard for the rest of the inhabitants at Longyearbyen. We all started to laugh when we saw the logo of Radison sat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John A
Spitsbergen T, Marketing Cooridnator at Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen, responded to this review

Thanks for your very nice review. Your stay gets an extra good start, if you get picked up by Willy at the airport! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit in the Arctic, and your stay at Radisson Blu Polar Hotel :-) Welcome back in another season! Anne

Tromso, Norway
Reviewed October 11, 2016

The location of the hotel is good: close to the main street in Longyearbyen. The rooms are nice, although mine was quite cold when I arrived. The breakfast was very nice, and overall the staff was friendly and service-minded.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AasneOeH
Spitsbergen T, Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen, responded to this review

Hi Aasne Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back to the island :-) Anne

Klaksvik, Faroe Islands
Reviewed October 3, 2016

Radisson Blu keeps the standard high even on top of the world. The hotel is modern, well-maintained and centrally located. Fantastic breakfasts! Spacious rooms with a convenient kitchenette. It is THE place to stay in Longyearbyen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eysturland
Spitsbergen T, Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen, responded to this review

Thanks for a nice review! The Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, at the beginning (end :-) ) of the city, with at nice view of Adventcalley, is a good place to stay! Welcome back! Anne

rye
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We stayed here as our expedition was leaving from this hotel the next day. It was really central, the room was good, free wifi,and a really good breakfast. Near to all the 'sights' in Longyearbyen, so very happy with our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathy27
Grimsby
Reviewed September 14, 2016

The Radison Blu is a good hotel with lovely views. Staff very friendly and extremely helpful. Room was of a good standard but sadly not much of a view. We had an evening meal which was from the Buffett and the choice was excellent, breakfast the following morning was also buffett and just as good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GinnyGrimsby
Illinois
Reviewed September 9, 2016

This is an excellent larger facility in the far northern Island of Spitsbergen and in the village of Longyearbyen. It is at latitude 78.13 north, so it is on the tunda. It is a full service hotel with a staff that are very helpful and caring. The rooms are nice with amenities that you might expect of a good hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IdaIllinois
Hyderabad, India
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

This is a 3 star hotel with very limited services. We had a junior suite which was situated in another building. Crossing over in the august weather was fine but i would hate to do that in the extreme weather. The suite itself felt like a basic room with very basic amenities. Breakfast spread is good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SidJHyd
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

256 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (247)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 3 in Longyearbyen
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#4 of 6 in Longyearbyen
94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Address: Road 500, PO Box 554, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Price Range: $157 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Jaipur, India
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid rooms in the basement.”
 of 5 bubbles BTSwang, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Try the Gastro Bar! And the Local IPA, Ale, Lager”
 of 5 bubbles johnaH735XC, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms on the west side”
 of 5 bubbles eysturland, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
“Stay on first floor main building; no elevators available for luggage”
 of 5 bubbles IdaIllinois, Sep 9, 2016 | Read review
“You are expected to take your shoes off throughout the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 261JamesC261, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay