We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveler (49)
Room & Suite (10)
Storyboard
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good20%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“trips”(2 reviews)
“airport”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Funken Lodge
Special Offer: Package Deal
Offers from Funken Lodge
Special Offer: Package Deal
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveler rating
10
3
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
10
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspitsbergen hoteltripsairportguestsarcticbedssvalbard
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 14 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I wish I didnt have to write this but matter in fact this is among the two worst food experiences I have ever had! I have dinned at six continents but never have the food been so bad. I haven’t got anything bad to say...More

Thank Vimal K
Hotel's Favorite
Reviewed March 1, 2018

This is perhaps the best hotel where I have stayed in till date. The hotel is very nicely located with the shops very easily accessible. I stayed here with my wife for three nights. The room was extremely comfortable with a very clean bathroom. We...More

1  Thank Mrinmoy_Datta
Response from Hurtigruten S, 1 receptionist at Funken LodgeResponded March 7, 2018

Hello, This was such a nice review to read! I am so happy that you enjoyed your time in Funken Lodge and we are looking forward to welcome you back when you return one day. Hope you have also brought back home some wonderful memories...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Loved this hotel, so quiet, lovely comfortable rooms and good bathroom with a big bath. Not many TV channels, but who needs TV is a place like this? The food is very good, try the breakfast. The lounge is pleasant to have a drink it...More

1  Thank Wraxall_Travellers
Response from Hurtigruten S, Resepsjon at Funken LodgeResponded 5 days ago

Hi, I'm verry happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Funken Lodge and hope you had a wonderful trip to Svalbard in general. We're very lucky to live in such a place with the amazing nature surrounding us and to have the windows in...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Excellent restaurant, excellent bar and very quiet. The rooms are Scandinavian grey but a bit small. The bathroom is great with a shower. The beds comfortable. Very nice big towels, slippers and lots of amenities. It is a recently renovated hotel and has yet to...More

Thank teafree
Response from Hurtigruten S, Resepsjon at Funken LodgeResponded 5 days ago

Hi, Thank you for a nice and detailed review. We always appreciate constructive criticism and we'll keep that in mind. All in genereal I hope you had a wonderfull stay in Svalbard, it's amazing what Svalbard has to offer. We hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is undoubtably deeply luxurious - great beds, restaurant, leisure suite etc, BUT it’s the staff who made our stay so great. Endlessly cheerful and kind, although we often saw them at 5am and again at 7pm after our days work. All credit to...More

Thank mjr10122016
Response from Hurtigruten S, Resepsjon at Funken LodgeResponded 5 days ago

Hi, And thank you for this wonderful review! We're very happy we made your stay great and deeply appreciate your kind respond to us. Hope to see you again, maybe during the summer when the snow is gone? We will always be here to wish...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Room amenities
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
$304 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
$304 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (49)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Gloucsj
January 31, 2017|
Answer
Response from SpitsbergenTravelCSR | Property representative |
Hi Gloucsj, The hotel has been closed in December and January for foundation works. It is a historic building from the 1950s, and needed some tender loving care. Spitsbergen Hotel will reopen tomorrow, February 1, and we... More
0
Votes
Gill H
August 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from AnneFrank75 | Reviewed this property |
Yes in the bathroom
0
Votes
scott46
January 18, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 1Norwegian | Reviewed this property |
You get a telephone number for the taxis from everywhere. Small cars and maxis. :) Enjoy that place with its strangely quiet atmosphere.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I was on the front and that was fine. I would ask to be on the 1st floor. That is the same floor as the..."
Read review
"ask for a room with view"
Read review
"great views, close to city center"
Read review
"You need to walk a little bit to center town but is a pleasant walk"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing