We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Coal Miners’ Cabins

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Coal Miners’ Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 141: English reviews
Helsingborg, Sweden
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. Had dinner twice. I liked the hamburger best, juicy and with added potatoes a very good coalgrilled meal. Breakfast is ok, with alternative for allergics. Good, glad and friendly service from the combined reception and bar. Clean rooms and clean and nice showers/toilets. No problems with shared toilets. 30 min easy walk to center...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Birgitta E
Astorp, Sweden
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The rooms and cleaning are just fine. Just do not expect great food. We looked at the reviews and thought that it wold be good. The hamburgers were ok, but the spareribbs did not smell ok, I think they were littli old. The staff is to few and unexperiened, but they try, but sometimes it does not help. My tip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camper201010
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The airport shuttle dropped us off at reception, & a fabulous 4 day trip began. The room was simple but spotless, warm & quiet, the shared facilities excellent. There was a comfortable lounge & a kitchen which was simple but adequate. The reception & restaurant was very comfortable, with a typical Scandinavian breakfast of cereals, breads, cheeses & meats. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
Hurtigruten S, Marketing Coordinator at Coal Miners’ Cabins, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hei Beklager denne opplevelsen. Saken er allerede tatt opp med vårt kjøkken og våre ledere. Dersom du har mulighet ønsker...

Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good draft local beer. Average prices in Svalbard. Also you can have some dishes if you want. We've visited it with 9 friends. Also, you can check the Aurora prediction right there, because they have a big TV

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taras D
Hurtigruten S, Marketing Coordinator at Coal Miners’ Cabins, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your visit at Coal Miners' Cabins. Coal Miners' Cabins is a great place to spot the Northen Lights, since you get a little away from the city lights. Anne

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed December 20, 2016

I recommend this place 100%. Our experience was absolutely amazing. Our main goal was to see some Northern Lights, and that is why this spot is perfect, 4 minutes walk to a dark area where it is easy to see them. The staff is well prepared and customer service orientated: Very professional I would say. Our party of 6 people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrés F M
Spitsbergen T, Resepsjonssjef at Coal Miners’ Cabins, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to read your review Andres and I can assure you we all appreciate your comments. We have been very lucky this season with the Northern lights displays and are pleased to find out that you all saw them during your stay. We take great pride in the standard of our accomodation and our customer service, and...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

Wasn't expecting much as it was a budget hotel but very pleased with our three night stay . We stayed in bock one which was a bit of a walk from reception so dragging luggage through the snow and up to the third floor wasn't much fun - don't expect any help as it is a budget hotel . It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markoBRISTOL
Spitsbergen T, Resepsjonssjef at Coal Miners’ Cabins, responded to this review

Our team at Coal Miners' is happy to hear you enjoyed your arctic adventure. Our rooms are located in historical though recently renovated barracks external from the main building but I assure you we are more than happy to assist guests that have diffciulty with carrying luggage should they require. Our single beds may easily be pushed together and this...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed November 4, 2016

The "hotel" is a series of mine worker´s barracks, situated in the near proximity of the main building, where you´ll find a reception, gift shop and restaurant. The rooms are very basic and not up to a traditional definition of a hotel room. Bed linens, pillows, etc. are low quality and uncomfortable. The only furniture in our room – other...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Morten B
Spitsbergen T, Resepsjonssjef at Coal Miners’ Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Morten and we are sorry you felt that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We are currently in the process of completing refurbishment on our final barrack which will re-open early next year though have made a note of your comment regarding the broken light. We are...

Los Altos
Reviewed October 3, 2016

Staying in Longyearbyen can be expensive. The Coal Miners Cabins offers a very good value for the area. Good - Though the rooms have shared bathrooms there were always plenty of bathrooms available for the number of rooms on each floor. Also a common sitting area in the building. - Rooms comfortable, clean, and warm - Staff extremely helpful -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TCCMember
Spitsbergen T, Marketing Cooridnator at Coal Miners’ Cabins, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed Coal Miners Cabin's, and that you received your wallet! Anne

Brescia, Italy
Reviewed September 28, 2016

We didn't enjoy our stay there because we could not sleep there. We paid for the night however we could not use the room because the smell of mold or humidity (we don't know what it was) was too much and one of us had an asthma attack. It was the first time we had this kind of problem, however...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kalispera2014
Spitsbergen T, Marketing Cooridnator at Coal Miners’ Cabins, responded to this review

Dear Kalispera. We are sorry to hear about this. I will check this out. Best Regards Anne

essex
Reviewed September 20, 2016

I booked in here for 2 days before an Arctic expedition of Svalbard and Greenland and wish I'd stayed longer. It's actually not in Longyearbyen but in Nybyen, about a 10 mins walk out of town. The only problem with walking in or out of town is the risk of polar bears at certain times of the year but shuttle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EssexDiane
Hurtigruten S, Marketing Coordinator at Coal Miners’ Cabins, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing with us :-) Welcome back!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

199 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (181)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (109)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
1.2 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
292 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
1.3 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#3 of 6 in Longyearbyen
102 reviews
1.8 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Coal Miners' Cabins offers reasonably priced accommodation, located in the upper part of the Longyear valley and within reach of mountains and glaciers. The place is an excellent starting point for hiking, skiing and snowmobile trips. Coal Miners' Cabins is the place to stay for those who want to get the real experience of the mining period on Svalbard. Coal Miners' Cabins is located in Nybyen, Longyearbyen's small "suburb" is within walking distance from downtown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coal Miners’ Cabins

Address: Nybyen, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway (Formerly Spitsbergen Guesthouse)
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Price Range: $122 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coal Miners’ Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coal Miners’ Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spitsbergen Guesthouse Hotel Longyearbyen
Coal Miners’ Cabins Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen, Svalbard
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Coal Miners’ Cabins staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Coal Miners’ Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“From previous reviews, request rooms away from the lounge & kitchen if you prefer the quiet, though it was very quiet when we were there.”
 of 5 bubbles lorrainebP4284WW, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“The cabin closest to the reception build means you don't have to carry your luggage as far and are close the the restaurant too.”
 of 5 bubbles TCCMember, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have magnificent views so I'd recommend any.”
 of 5 bubbles EssexDiane, Sep 20, 2016 | Read review
“Block 2 is the closest to the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 529SimonM, Sep 8, 2016 | Read review
“You will most likely stay in one of the cabins outside of the main reception and bar/grill and the cabins are pretty much all the same”
 of 5 bubbles C9643UKdonnag, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question