We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Sonar Bangla

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hotel Sonar Bangla
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 164: English reviews
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The one and only advantage of this property is its location. Almost all the rooms have immaculate sea views and the hotel is situated away from the overcrowded swargadwar but very much accessible. And here ends all the good things about this hotel. The food is just horrible and not even worthy of touching. Be it lunch dinner or snacks.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anindya D
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: 1- prompt service 2- two bed rooms have great sea view (four bed rooms have tangential sea view) 3- proximity to beach 4- the facing beach is safe and not crowded 5- fishermen can be spotted early morning, going about their chores 6- online booking available 7- rooms clean save for rust stains on sheets occasionally 8- breakfast included... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank food c
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla, responded to this review

Thank you sir for your valuable feedback. We will surely look into issues that you have mentioned and make sure we do not give you a chance to complain again. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again. More 

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed there twice and this is indeed one of the best places to stay in Puri. Each of their rooms offers a sea view( the front rooms are wonderful). The side rooms and back side rooms (all with sea view balcony) are bigger . However, if you get an option to stay at Front rooms , please stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Apratimmukhopadhyay
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla, responded to this review

Thank you guest for all the appreciation. We are happy to know that we could make your stay a pleasant one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us hope you give us a chance to serve you again. More 

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Things are good with this hotel are 1- Sea Facing rooms 2- Very quiet pkacr. away from noisy area. 3- Room is ok. Things are really bad are as follows:- 1- Dirty toilet 2- Zero maintenance 3- Watering dropping from AC. 4- Empty Mini bar, which they never refill. 5- At restaurant all food items are not available. 6- Frequent... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pigmi007
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla, responded to this review

Dear guest I'm not sure what exactly went wrong during your stay but that is surely not our hotel standard we give utmost priority to our guest needs and try to cooperate make their stay as comfortable as we can. However, we regret for the inconvenience caused and request your to give us another chance so that we can rectify... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Puri with our family. The hotel is located away from Puri's Main Beach. Hence there is less crowd in the area. The rooms are not too great as far as size and ambience is concerned but generally clean. Room Service and food is good. One of the issues is power cuts. During power cuts, Air Conditioning does not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla, responded to this review

Thank you sir for your valuable feedback. We will surely look into issues that you have mentioned and make sure we do not give you a chance to complain again. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again. More 

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This has almost become our family hotel. We stay 2-3 times a year whenever we feel like visiting puri. Special care is taken be it customizing food or special care. Specially would say the behavior or Chinmoy who is the hotel manager is extremely warm and courtasious. He is one of the main reason why visitors become a regular with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Susmit2014
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla, responded to this review

Thank you guest for all the appreciation. We are happy to know that we could make your stay a pleasant one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us hope you give us a chance to serve you again. More 

Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An okay place but with a great view of the sea, away from the hustle-bustle of the (main) marine drive. Location 4/5 : This hotel is all about location. Room 3/5 : For a deluxe AC room, nothing much to drive home about it. Would have been better if the washrooms were bigger, maybe a tad too much on trying... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shib_patel
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla, responded to this review

Dear guest first of all a very big thank you for taking out time to write a review for us and letting us know your valuable feedback. We are very grateful that you pointed out the issues that we need to work on to provide a better experience for our guests. We will surely look into issues that you have... More 

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

I reached Puri very early in the morning and hence waited at the railway station till sun rise due to security concerns as the hotel is far away from the locality - Swargadwar. But during the stay, it seemed to be safe area. Since the hotel is far away from the crowd, I liked it the most. Very peaceful. They... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank iayan
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla, responded to this review

Thank you guest for all the appreciation. We are happy to know that we could make your stay a pleasant one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us hope you give us a chance to serve you again. More 

Howrah, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

The hotel is very good and it is sea facing and the staffs are also very good and helpful and the rooms are fully well equipped and they have also attached our sightseeing tour. The price is little higher .

Helpful?
1 Thank Aritrabasu71
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla, responded to this review

Thank you guest for all the appreciation. We are happy to know that we could make your stay a pleasant one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us hope you give us a chance to serve you again. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

Blame our obtuse combo of fancy preference and a vapid likeness on Hotel Sonar Bangla be it in Mandarmani, Rishav, Darjeeling, Tarapith or Puri itself, that we could so easily be cut dead. Queuing up following to this was sheer negligence on the mails asking on the availability of the rooms and the confirmation of the booking, aiming for sheer... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shilpa1604
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla, responded to this review

Dear guest first of all a very big thank you for taking out time to write a review for us and letting us know your valuable feedback. We are very grateful that you pointed out the issues that we need to work on to provide a better experience for our guests. We will surely look into issues that you have... More 

Travelers are raving about these Puri hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pushpa (Berries Group of Hotels)
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shakti International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#7 of 75 in Puri
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#12 of 75 in Puri
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Dust
Hotel Golden Dust
#39 of 75 in Puri
3.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla

Address: New Marine Drive | Balipanda, Puri, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Price Range: $32 - $3,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonar Bangla 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sonar Bangla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay