We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Anchor Motel and Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva on the Lake
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Anchor Motel and Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Anchor Motel and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was desperate for a room in the area when I called the Anchor Motel. My son had qualified for a big swim meet at The Spire Institute in Geneva, and I had 5 days to find a room--in August! I talked to Phil, the owner, and he was able to squeeze us in, although we had to change rooms... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SharZ_11
Willowick, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We came here last year and had a great time. The owners are so nice and helpful. If there is anything you need and you ASK, they will do everything they can to help you out. They also know the strip better than anyone and you can get some great advice on where to eat/what to do. We stayed here... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JasonO90
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband booked this place after reading all of these rave reviews. But really people, I am confused!!! All this about the rooms being clean. Our room was so dark, dated and small that I really couldn't tell if it was clean. We would not have been so upset if we paid $89 to stay there, but at $120...no way... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Dee M
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our first trip to Geneva and staying at a motel! Gave the rooms a 4 star because they are small and outdated furniture. Also, bring blow drier and soap (small bar in room) Didn't realize motels don't provide. :) However, compared to some of the motels we passed this motel was one of the nicest on the strip. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Ella M
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place was awesome!!!! I will refer this place to everyone.... We had such a great time! The place was very clean, very well equipped, close to the lake & to the strip...If you had a bad experience I cant see how....

Helpful?
Thank Patti-toth
Massillon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This little gem is the best value at GOTL. The owners are on premise and interact with the customers to insure a great stay. Rooms are CLEAN and the linen, towels etc are nice quality. These are not large rooms but if u have ever been to GOTL they are the nicest around. Plus the prices are great. Grounds are... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hotdogs1
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our second trip back to Geneva. We stayed at the Lodge the first time and loved it. Unfortunately the lodge was booked the weekend we visited, so we settled for the Anchor Motel. According to trip advisor the motel had recently been updated. The motel may have been updated on the outside with new siding but the room... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank a h
44041Anchor, Owner at Anchor Motel and Cottages, responded to this review

As always, we at the Anchor Motel and Cottages take all guest concerns seriously. That said, we find it necessary to respond to this review. Admittedly, as it turned out, there was an error in the credit transaction as this guest checked-in. However, when the problem was later identified and "confirmed", the error was rectified with a full refund of... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Me and my fiance stayed here over this last weekend. It was her first time in geneva and this place made it so we never wanted to leave. We had a king sized bed wich took up more then half the room but was worth it seeing as if there was only 2 of us. Very clean, very friendly, and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TimRedwine
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband & I spent this weekend in Geneva on the Lake and stayed at the Anchor Motel. Even though the room was small, it was clean & comfy!! We will stay here again!! Friendly service. The only thing missing was a swimming pool, but we still had a relaxing weekend.

Helpful?
Thank betty2203
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My girl friend and I at the last moment were able to get away for the weekend after the fourth and were lucky enough to get a room at the Anchor. Place is clean clean , great water pressure in shower. Super clean new linens coffee pot. The down side? My girlfriend fell the second night , hurting her knee... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyangelrose
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
#1 of 6 in Geneva on the Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
24.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Anchor Motel and Cottages are located in historic Geneva on the Lake, Ohio, one of Ohio's oldest and most exciting resort towns, and as a resort town, Geneva on the Lake offers something for everyone! Located in Ashtabula County, just minutes from Ashtabula Harbor, the shores of Lake Erie offer unlimited water activities. Whether you prefer swimming at Breakwater Beach, fishing for Walleye, Steelhead, Bass or Perch, sailing, scuba diving, jet skiing, beach walking, sunset watching, charter fishing trips... Well, you get the idea. For the landlubber there are many parks, wineries, arcades, restaurants and night clubs within walking distance, not to mention our eight 18-hole golf courses. You can sit and people watch, or enjoy the classic hot rods and motorcycles cruise the strip daily. Geneva on the Lake is without equal, and it's the perfect getaway for everyone! The highly rated Anchor Motel and Cottages offers 42 exceptionally clean, newly renovated rooms and fully equipped cottages all conveniently located on the Strip. You will be within walking distance of all of the area attractions. Just minutes from Geneva State Park and Marina, you will be centrally located to all of the fun and activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor Motel and Cottages

Address: 5196 Lake Road (State Route 531), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Price Range: $69 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Anchor Motel And Cottages Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Anchor Motel And Cottages Geneva On The Lake, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing