We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Anchor Motel and Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva on the Lake
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Anchor Motel and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Zelienople, Pennsylvania
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I recently returned from another trip to thr Anchor. The hosts Phil and Kathy make you feel like you are at home with family. There attention to detail from spotlessly clean rooms to making sure you have enough sweetner to your complementary coffee (which is in your room) is the best I have ever experienced and I have travled coast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arthur K
Painesville Twp., Ohio
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay in Geneva on the Lake that was clean and close to the strip. I found the Anchor Motel and saw that it had just been remodeled. I made my reservation and was pleasently surprised when I checked in. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the rooms were nice and clean. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was desperate for a room in the area when I called the Anchor Motel. My son had qualified for a big swim meet at The Spire Institute in Geneva, and I had 5 days to find a room--in August! I talked to Phil, the owner, and he was able to squeeze us in, although we had to change rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SharZ_11
Willowick, Ohio
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We came here last year and had a great time. The owners are so nice and helpful. If there is anything you need and you ASK, they will do everything they can to help you out. They also know the strip better than anyone and you can get some great advice on where to eat/what to do. We stayed here...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JasonO90
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband booked this place after reading all of these rave reviews. But really people, I am confused!!! All this about the rooms being clean. Our room was so dark, dated and small that I really couldn't tell if it was clean. We would not have been so upset if we paid $89 to stay there, but at $120...no way...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Dee M
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our first trip to Geneva and staying at a motel! Gave the rooms a 4 star because they are small and outdated furniture. Also, bring blow drier and soap (small bar in room) Didn't realize motels don't provide. :) However, compared to some of the motels we passed this motel was one of the nicest on the strip. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo-Ella M
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place was awesome!!!! I will refer this place to everyone.... We had such a great time! The place was very clean, very well equipped, close to the lake & to the strip...If you had a bad experience I cant see how....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patti-toth
Massillon, Ohio, United States
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This little gem is the best value at GOTL. The owners are on premise and interact with the customers to insure a great stay. Rooms are CLEAN and the linen, towels etc are nice quality. These are not large rooms but if u have ever been to GOTL they are the nicest around. Plus the prices are great. Grounds are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hotdogs1
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our second trip back to Geneva. We stayed at the Lodge the first time and loved it. Unfortunately the lodge was booked the weekend we visited, so we settled for the Anchor Motel. According to trip advisor the motel had recently been updated. The motel may have been updated on the outside with new siding but the room...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank a h
44041Anchor, Owner at Anchor Motel and Cottages, responded to this review

As always, we at the Anchor Motel and Cottages take all guest concerns seriously. That said, we find it necessary to respond to this review. Admittedly, as it turned out, there was an error in the credit transaction as this guest checked-in. However, when the problem was later identified and "confirmed", the error was rectified with a full refund of...

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Me and my fiance stayed here over this last weekend. It was her first time in geneva and this place made it so we never wanted to leave. We had a king sized bed wich took up more then half the room but was worth it seeing as if there was only 2 of us. Very clean, very friendly, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TimRedwine
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
#1 of 6 in Geneva on the Lake
1,303 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#3 of 5 in Austinburg
23 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Anchor Motel and Cottages are located in historic Geneva on the Lake, Ohio, one of Ohio's oldest and most exciting resort towns, and as a resort town, Geneva on the Lake offers something for everyone! Located in Ashtabula County, just minutes from Ashtabula Harbor, the shores of Lake Erie offer unlimited water activities. Whether you prefer swimming at Breakwater Beach, fishing for Walleye, Steelhead, Bass or Perch, sailing, scuba diving, jet skiing, beach walking, sunset watching, charter fishing trips... Well, you get the idea. For the landlubber there are many parks, wineries, arcades, restaurants and night clubs within walking distance, not to mention our eight 18-hole golf courses. You can sit and people watch, or enjoy the classic hot rods and motorcycles cruise the strip daily. Geneva on the Lake is without equal, and it's the perfect getaway for everyone! The highly rated Anchor Motel and Cottages offers 42 exceptionally clean, newly renovated rooms and fully equipped cottages all conveniently located on the Strip. You will be within walking distance of all of the area attractions. Just minutes from Geneva State Park and Marina, you will be centrally located to all of the fun and activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor Motel and Cottages

Address: 5196 Lake Road (State Route 531), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Price Range: $69 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Anchor Motel And Cottages Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Anchor Motel And Cottages Geneva On The Lake, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Anchor Motel and Cottages staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Anchor Motel and Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The entire facility is clean, but if you can, get a cottage. The cottage's are just like a little slice of home.”
 of 5 bubbles Avonladypam, Jul 26, 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room that faces the road, so you can sit outside and people watch”
 of 5 bubbles W7908BDerict, Jul 14, 2016 | Read review
“Don't forget towels”
 of 5 bubbles Jjgrl522, Apr 18, 2016 | Read review
“Get a cottage, this way you have your own space. No neighbors.”
 of 5 bubbles 833tina, Nov 2, 2015 | Read review
“try to get a newer cottage”
 of 5 bubbles lynda052, Oct 14, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question