We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
310 S High St, Columbus, OH 43215-4508
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Booking.com
FindHotel
$178
View deal
Hotels.com
Westin.com
Algotels$188
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (158)
Room & Suite (108)
Dining (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Great Southern Columbus
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#52 of 175 hotels in Columbus
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
3.7
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
744Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 247
  • 204
  • 166
  • 80
  • 47
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Seiko2022 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I had a confirmed reservation, and when I arrived, I was told there were no rooms because they’d oversold. I was forced to go to a partner hotel at midnight, capping off a 12 hour day of travel. I’ve submitted my complaint to the hotel, and will report back how it is resolved.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ameer Abdul, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Great Southern Columbus
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Seiko, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize to hear about your recent experience. I understand how frustrating this might've been for you after a long day of travel- and I sincerely apologize. I regret that our team couldn't reach you prior to your arrival to advise of the unexpected relocation, as we understand traveling is already tiring in itself. It is always our priority to take care of our guests, even when unexpected challenges arise. It is to my knowledge that our Front Office team has taken the necessary actions to address your unpleasant experience. If you have any additional questions or concerns, feel free to reach me directly. Be well, and safe travels. Ameer Abdul Director of Operations The Westin Great Southern Columbus AmeerAbdul@WestinColumbus.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SVRyder wrote a review Aug 2022
Mountain View, California288 contributions61 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Updated original review with updated photos: One night stay in the king suite and it was great! One of the few times i hoped for a longer stay. Check in was smooth and very friendly. The room is very large with a round table and 4 chairs and walk in closet. This is a historic hotel so there are some imperfections but nothing major that distracted from the overall positive experience. Bed was very comfortable with a nice thick blanket. AC is a bit noisy but didn't keep me awake. Location isn't that central but close to German village. Overall, a great hotel experience in a fabulous room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: room over High Street can be noisy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ameer Abdul, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Great Southern Columbus
Responded 1 week ago
Dear SVRyder, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate the kind feedback and we certainly hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon! It was a pleasure to have you as our guests! Sincerely, Ameer A Director of Operations The Westin Great Southern Columbus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SciGuyMrD wrote a review Aug 2022
Park Ridge, Illinois229 contributions164 helpful votes
Visited for a wedding and although the building is old and beautiful, our room was small and simply average - no different than a Hampton Inn although we paid much more. Lobby is nice but loud and there is a nice lobby bar. On our Saturday check-in, the only parking options given to us were $32 for valet or $32 for self-park. We found surface lots all over (including across the street from the hotel) that charge $10. Spot Hero found us one a block away for $5 overnight. Not a bad hotel but you could do better for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Use Spot Hero for parking instead of hotel lot.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ameer Abdul, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Great Southern Columbus
Responded Aug 15, 2022
Dear SciGuyMrD, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Columbus. Although we would have loved to provide you with a perfect stay, we always appreciate honest feedback to assist us in improving our overall guest experience. I sincerely apologize and understand the parking rate may seem a bit expensive, however, I do want to assure you that we offer extremely competitive pricing compared to other hotels in our area, as Downtown parking is very limited. Once again thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we hope to have another opportunity to better serve you should your travels bring you back to the Columbus area. Sincerely, Ameer A Director of Operations The Westin Great Southern Columbus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Glpme wrote a review Aug 2022
Chicago, Illinois3 contributions
My stay at the Columbus Westin Hotel was so beneath my expectations til I Had to write this review. Normally the Westin is my favorite hotel brand but the assigned jr. suite they gave me had a window in the bed area that looked out into the interior of the hotel and that was the only window in the suite creating a very Real feel of being in a dungeon! Nothing like the pictures in the hotel promotion !! The carpet was not clean and the bedroom area consisted of the bed and a TV. When I called the front desk, I was told that there were no other rooms available and was rudely hung up on. I finally ended up in a regular room, with the help of our planner but did not receive any housekeeping service until the 5th of my 6 day stay, even after calling earlier to schedule cleaning . I was attending a conference and was sadly disappointed with the services and the treatment received at the hotel !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Be sure to ask for room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ameer Abdul, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Great Southern Columbus
Responded Aug 3, 2022
Dear Glpme, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet not only your expectations, but ours as well. Please accept my sincerest apologies and regret for your experience as this is certainly not the standards we hold for our team. Your feedback has been shared with the leaders of our hotel to ensure this is an isolated experience, and to ensure we are offering the highest level of hospitality for all present and future guests moving forward. Our team has also taken the time to review our standards in an effort to improve the way we resolve and respond to guest concerns with immediate solutions and efficiency. Your feedback means a lot to us and I hope we have the opportunity to speak on your experience further soon. Be well, Ameer Abdul Director of Operations The Westin Great Southern Columbus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark E wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I just finished the first of two nights at the Westin Great Southern. My wife and I had attended an event here in the past and thought it was beautiful. On a positive note, the common areas of the hotel are still stunning. And the location in downtown Columbus could not be better. Also, the bed is very comfortable and sleeps well. On the flip side, the room is not nearly as nice as the common areas. One is met with a damp, musty smell upon exiting the elevator. The furniture in the room is dated and worn. The color pallette is inconsistent, uninviting, and odd. The carpet is stained. The white shower liner contains a black spot with a hair sticking out of it. There is a spot on the ceiling that may have been wet at one time. At any rate, it was poorly repaired and gives the impression that it might still have moisture in it. Ultimately, I would expect more from a hotel in this price range. I will finish my stay here, but will not likely return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ameer Abdul, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Great Southern Columbus
Responded Jul 26, 2022
Dear Mark E, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you've stayed with us in the past, and enjoy our newly remodeled lobby. We are also very happy to hear that our location meets the needs of your trip. However, I sincerely apologize for the description you've shared with us regarding the hallways. Columbus has been experiencing higher than normal humidity levels that is tough for our AC to compete with, however, this has exposed a flaw that our team has been looking into upgrading in the future. I also sincerely apologize for the condition and cleanliness you've shared with us from the room you've stayed in. This is certainly not the expectations we hold nor want our guests to experience, and I want to assure you that our team has reviewed and have taken the necessary actions to address your comments. Your feedback means a lot to us, and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet not only your expectations, but ours as well during your stay with us this time around. I'm confident that our team has taken the necessary actions to ensure all present and future guests have a much more valuable and more enjoyable stay with us in the future. Sincerely, Ameer Abdul Director of Operations The Westin Great Southern Columbus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JRob wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions
Visited for a wedding last month and stayed for one night. The ballroom was awesome. There was a lot of construction going on in the lobby and restaurant which was unfortunate but it didn't really impact us much.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ameer Abdul, Other at The Westin Great Southern Columbus
Responded Apr 2, 2022
Dear jrob11801180 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate the kind comments- our construction is so close to being finished but I'm delighted to hear of the little impact it was on you during your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back with our soon to be refreshed lobby and Restaurant! Sincerely, Ameer A Director of Operations The Westin Great Southern Columbus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark wrote a review Mar 2022
Charleston, South Carolina1 contribution
Rooms are super clean and comfortable. Tricia at the front desk couldn’t have been more personable or accommodating if she tried. Great location and close to everything downtown. Unique hotel with great people. I am super impressed and will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ameer Abdul, Other at The Westin Great Southern Columbus
Responded Apr 2, 2022
Dear Sunshine42969479569, Thank you for the great feedback again! Trish was absolutely grateful to hear about the kind comments- we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Ameer A
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bobbi58 wrote a review Dec 2021
Lancaster, Ohio773 contributions153 helpful votes
First time returning to the Westin after Covid year and very disappointed ! A ghost town! The beautiful bar is now under construction until March…the small room by the street now hosts a restaurant and a temporary bar lol that closes at 8 pm….one glass of Cabernet wine $19 lol….I gave it back! Only saw 3 employees throughout the entire hotel…. OMG …. What used to be The Holiday Gathering Venue is now a boring, ghost town! Tired of Covid being an excuse! Westin! You are now on the SAD list😔
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jeff C wrote a review Nov 2021
Auburn, Maine57 contributions63 helpful votes
No restauraunts open,no bar open, no breakfast offered, no pool and location not ideal. Was not recognized as Marriott platinum member. Get the same services here as Motel 6 , stay further downtown. Staff never at front desk always hiding out back watching tv. Not what a Westin should be. When checked in Tv did not work nor did heat in room. Maint did fix later on and was nice.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
NAB wrote a review Aug 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia296 contributions117 helpful votes
Excellent stay for business travel. Rasheeda at front desk was wonderful. Room was upgraded with my Bonvoy status. Ample space in king corner suite. Clean and huge room with lots of natural light. Would return. Easy access to river front for walking and running.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$189 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the westin columbus hotel columbus, westin columbus, columbus westin
LOCATION
United StatesOhioColumbus
NUMBER OF ROOMS
189
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Great Southern Columbus
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Great Southern Columbus?
Nearby attractions include Ohio Theater (0.3 miles), Columbus Commons (0.2 miles), and Southern Theater (0.01 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Great Southern Columbus?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Great Southern Columbus?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Great Southern Columbus?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Great Southern Columbus?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Great Southern Columbus?
Conveniently located restaurants include Katzinger's Delicatessen, Dirty Frank's Hot Dog Palace, and Milestone 229.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Great Southern Columbus?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Westin Great Southern Columbus located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Columbus.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Great Southern Columbus?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Great Southern Columbus?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Great Southern Columbus offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.