We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Let me start off by saying, there is nothing really wrong with this hotel. I am just used to staying at nicer places. The front desk staff was friendly and semi-knowledgeable in certain aspects. Melvin the maintenance guy was a great help to us locating a cart (no bell staff) so we could lug our luggage to our room. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank NellieBoo
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, responded to this review

NellieBoo, Thank you for your comments regarding our facility. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please allow us host your next visit to Columbus, Ohio. Sincerely, Broderick Cook Business Development Manager More 

Williamstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We arrived around 3:30 and our room wasn't ready but they were very apologetic and went ahead and let us park and got us a room in about 5 minutes. The lobby was nice, as well as the pool area. The room was very clean and comfortable. The grounds were well maintained and the shuttle was very helpful. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Garrett G
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, responded to this review

Garrett G, Thank you for you review of Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please allow us to host your next visit to Columbus, Ohio! Sincerely, Broderick Cook Business Development Manager More 

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Not sure where all of these negative reviews come from at this hotel. It is an old hotel and they've done their best to clean it up. It's very typical of what Holiday Inn is doing to rebrand these properties. The staff was fantastic (special shout out to Russell the van driver - GREAT GUY!!) Everyone was very pleasant, helpful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Backstreets1250
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, responded to this review

Backstreet1250, Thank you for your comments regarding Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please allow us to host your next visit to Columbus, Ohio. Sincerely, Broderick Cook Business Development Manager More 

Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
301 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

From some of the other reviews of this hotel, we were not expecting much. Indeed, the location in the midst of an asphalt wasteland is not very attractive. BUT - we were met by a staff which gave us a welcome surprise. The people who work here are invariably friendly, helpful,and eager to make us comfortable. No, the restaurant is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank George E
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, responded to this review

George E, Thank you for your comments regarding Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be able to host your next visit to Columbus, Ohio. Sincerely, Broderick Cook Business Development Manager More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were there for 3 nights for an event at the convention center. The hotel room had ample space, two beds, large tv, desk, refrigerator. Housekeeping did a good job of cleaning each day and straightening the mess of a teenager. Front desk was always helpful when asked and usually greeted you coming and going. We tried the restaurant twice,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank clbl999
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, responded to this review

clbl999, Thank you for you review of the Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please allow us to host your next stay in Columbus, Ohio! Sincerely, Broderick Cook Business Development Manager More 

Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
200 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I am a seminar leader and had the great fortune to work with the hotel staff at the Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown. Tourrus set up my meeting room and made sure everything was perfect. He brought me coffee while I was getting ready for the class I was teaching. Jeff from the hotel staff also greeted me in the morning... More 

Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
Salem, Ohio
Level Contributor
216 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I booked a night here because we were in town for a concert at the Bluestone which is walking distance from the Holiday Inn. If you mention you are going to Bluestone, they will give you a discounted rate. Very nice! We booked the hotel and were happy that we did because we are members of their... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christa H
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, responded to this review

Christa H, Thank you so much for your review of the Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please allow us to host your next visit to Columbus, Ohio. Sincerely, Broderick Cook Business Development Manager More 

Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the passed weekend (04/21 to 04/23) for a cheerleading competition. The hotel rooms could use an update. Very basic rooms that look somewhat worn down. The bathroom needs the most attention due to mold. The staff were very friendly and helpful, however they are understaffed. They do try their hardest and overall I'd say... More 

Helpful?
Thank IvyBean22
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, responded to this review

IvyBean22, Thank you for your comments regarding our property. We are very fortunate for your comments, as it helps our staff provide the best possible customer experience. On behalf of the restaurant, we do apologize about the service you received during your stay. I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate departments for their further evaluation. Thank you so much... More 

Sylvania, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

While the customer services staff was very friendly and attempted to help out as much as possible. There were some issues. The room was clean, however, paint was chipped and in some spots starting to come off. We ate dinner at the hotel our first night there and the server was nice but we had to wait very long to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, responded to this review

Dear Danielle S, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in... More 

Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Good location with plenty of parking however I was disappointed in the quality of the hotel. Had to plug my laptop into the bathroom as the outlets were old and not very accessible. Bed was pretty comfortable but decor was dated in the room, bathroom and in the hallways. I probably would pay more to stay somewhere nicer next time.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AdrienneAnnArbor_MI
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, responded to this review

Dear AdrienneAnnArbor_MI, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review about your experience. We truly regret to see the layout of the room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We appreciate the high scores for Cleanliness and Sleep Quality. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#28 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#55 of 142 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover all that downtown Columbus has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capitol Square. You are at the heart of everything; shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within a short distance of German Village, Short North Arts District, The Arena District, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets, and the new Huntington Park, home of the Columbus Clippers. We offer a complimentary airport shuttle to get you back and forth to Port Columbus International Airport, just 8 miles away. The Capital building, Federal building, Grant Hospital, Children's Hospital, and Nationwide are all less than five minutes away. The hotel is ideally situated whether you are traveling on business or pleasure. The professional and friendly staff of this Columbus hotel is waiting to make your stay away from home as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square

Address: 175 E Town St, Columbus, OH 43215-4609
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Price Range: $126 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Hotel Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay