We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 273: English reviews
Osterville, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel worked out just fine. It was clean, friendly staff and I felt safe traveling alone. They have a restaurant downstairs that was busy. However, I did not get a chance to eat there. There is a pool and exercise room too. The showers are nice and the bathrooms have great mirrors and lighting for make-up application. Ample parking.

Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
Management response:

Dear Melissa, Thank you so much for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown Columbus. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience at our newly renovated property. The next time your in town, please join me in our new restaurant, Burger Theory as we are receiving fantastic feedback from our guests. We look... More 

Ridgeley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in town for a Birding Expo. There may have been some recent renovations; our room was very clean with comfortable beds and a choice of soft or firm pillows. Front desk person at check in was very helpful and we took advantage of the shuttle two evenings to go to dinner. Russel the driver was very helpful and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roveen
Management response:

Dear Roveen, Thank you for recent stay with us. The entire team truly appreciates your kind remarks regarding our room cleanliness, check-in experience and of course, Russell our prized Shuttle Driver. We look forward to seeing you again if your ever in town. At your service, P. Andrew Hurles Director of Operations. More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was nice as well. It was a little loud because our room was right next to the elevator. They did allow us to have a later check out and an early check in, which was nice. I do not recommend eating at the burger joint inside the lobby. Very unprofessional service and food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saradee925
Management response:

Dear Saradee925, Thank you for your recent stay with us! We were very pleased to learn that you had a positive room cleanliness experience and I apologize for noise due to the elevator. I have alerted the culinary/restaurant team regarding your comment's and I'm sure they will work very hard so that this does not happen again. If your ever... More 

Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came to Columbus to attend the American birding expo. Selected the holiday inn because of its proximity to the expo. When we checked in we were greeted by a very friendly guest service agent named mike. Mike then surprised me with some great news, that I was the IHG guest of the day. There was a sign on the counter... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian T
Management response:

Dear Brian T. Thank you so much for your kind remarks regarding your stay with us. Recognizing our loyalty guests are very important to us and we truly look forward to seeing you again. More 

Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well, most know already, that middle eastern management is terrible. ALSO, can anyone please explain to me WHY .. ASSIGNING ROOMS to a GROUP before THOSE ROOMS are vacant, then making your PAYING GUESTS, which by the way, are paying your SALARIES, and without the "GUESTS" you would not be open or have a J.O.B... WAIT UNTIL THAT PARTICULAR ROOM... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pro Coach O
Management response:

Dear Pro Coach: I sincerely apologize for the poor service and long wait your experienced during your recent stay with us. Our newly renovated room's and restaurant, Burger Theory have been completed and we have been making great strides with improving our service standards. I have alerted the Management Team regarding your remarks and if there is anything that I... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed at many Holiday Inn Expresses before and this is by far the worst one. First of all when I booked this hotel there was a restaurant listed as something that the hotel has. However the hotel does not have a restaurant. They don't have free breakfast. There's no way to eat in this hotel. My family and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank PrincessFarrah
Management response:

Dear Princess Farrah: Thank you for your recent stay at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Downtown Columbus Ohio. I truly apologize for the substandard service and lack of options you experienced. Fortunately our new restaurant, Burger Theory has announced it's Grand Opening and has received great reviews from our guests. I have alerted the Management Team regarding your other comment's... More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked here for a conference because I had to make my reservations at the last minute. I was pleasantly surprised as this place was much better than expected. Recently updated, the room was clean and modern. The downside is that there isn't much around the hotel although there is a CVS just down the street at High Street. Quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank C
Management response:

Thank you so much for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with us. Our new restaurant, Burger Theory is now open and we look forward to seeing you again when you are in Columbus Ohio. More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am a Spire Elite Member with Holiday Inn, staying at many different Of their hotels across the country. We booked 5 days at Holiday Inn Columbus downtown. The place was so filthy dirty we had to leave early and finish our stay at a competitor's hotel. There was a note in our room that they were renovating and if... More 

Helpful?
Thank dough626
Management response:

Dear Dough626: As the new Director of Operations at the Holiday Inn Downtown Columbus Ohio, I truly apologize for the substandard service and room experience you encountered during your stay. I have alerted all of the Management Team regarding your remarks. We recently have opened our new restaurant, Burger Theory which is receiving fantastic reviews. If your ever in our... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As others have mentioned, they are currently renovating the hotel, so the ground floor is full of construction and there's no restaurant or bar, though they do have breakfast and it looked like room service was still available. The front desk staff noted there may be people working on the exterior of the building (which could use an update, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Koyangi
Management response:

Dear Koyangi: Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy to announce that our room renovations have been completed along with the Grand Opening of our new restaurant, Burger Theory! The outside renovation's are near finished and we have are very pleased with the positive guest experience feedback. We look forward to your... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Staff was very accommodating and extremely friendly. I have food and mobility issues and they took care to assist me with both. Room was extremely clean and comfortable. Well worth the money! A great place to stay away from home!

Helpful?
Thank 1ThePenguinLady
Management response:

Thank you so much for kind and positive remarks regarding your stay with us. I am very pleased to announce the Grand Opening of our new restaurant, Burger Theory. We look forward to seeing you again if you are ever in our city. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (42)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#29 of 141 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#61 of 141 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover all that downtown Columbus has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capitol Square. You are at the heart of everything; shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within a short distance of German Village, Short North Arts District, The Arena District, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets, and the new Huntington Park, home of the Columbus Clippers. We offer a complimentary airport shuttle to get you back and forth to Port Columbus International Airport, just 8 miles away. The Capital building, Federal building, Grant Hospital, Children's Hospital, and Nationwide are all less than five minutes away. The hotel is ideally situated whether you are traveling on business or pleasure. The professional and friendly staff of this Columbus hotel is waiting to make your stay away from home as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square

Address: 175 E Town St, Columbus, OH 43215-4609
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Price Range: $146 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Hotel Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay