We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Columbus Downtown

Show Prices
#27 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel has convenient location. For an upscale price, it did not have a restaurant associated with it, only a bistro with limited hours. The room as clean and well kept. The staff was helpful and courteous. Unless I needed to be downtown, I don't think I would spend the money for a downtown hotel again.

Helpful?
Thank Robert N
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here seven nights on business in August 2016. I am always leery about staying at converted properties such as this, even a flagged property--"converted" in that the building's original purpose was not one related to the lodging industry. It was converted into a hotel well over 40 years ago (there's a brief history of the property in each... More 

Helpful?
Thank jsterben
GbradleyAGM, Manager at Courtyard Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings jsterben, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the areas we fell short in. These will be addressed appropriately. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your visit to our city and look forward to welcoming you back! Warm Regards, George Bradley - Assistant General... More 

Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

You would of course expect quality at a Marriott property, but this location works hard at getting it done right. The lift for the carts to get to the first floor was out, but the staff loaded at the valet and then transferred up a flight a of stairs to another bell cart without missing a beat. All the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim D
GbradleyAGM, Manager at Courtyard Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Jim, Thank you so much for the kind feedback. I would like to apologize on behalf of us all for the lift being out of order but I am delighted to hear this did not cause too much trouble. Please come back and see us soon! Warm Regards, George Bradley - Assistant General Manager More 

Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we checked out we didn't know our youngest had left his blanket. On our way back through Ohio, we stopped at the hotel to see if they had found it. The Housekeeping Manager, Rashid personally went and looked for it. He brought it back and I was thrilled! I appreciate the extra care he took to hold onto the... More 

Helpful?
Thank treasured4givenfree
GbradleyAGM, Manager at Courtyard Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to share this with Rashid. We appreciate you staying with us! Regards, George Bradley - Assistant General Manager More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a second time this year. The location is great but the rooms are not a favorite of mine. I absolutely hate hotels with in room air conditioners/ heaters as they are noisy and make it difficult to get restful night s sleep. Unfortunately these rooms have air conditioners in the room, so if you are... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnDiane1982
GbradleyAGM, Manager at Courtyard Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving a review of our property. Our building was built in 1911 and is one of the oldest buildings in downtown Columbus. Obviously this was long before the days of built-in air conditioning so regretfully this modern convenience is not possible in a building of our age. Nevertheless I absolutely understand that our property is... More 

Syracuse
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown Columbus and is in walking distance to so many area businesses and attractions. Its on the bus line that takes you to many restaurants and bars, too. The staff is great, so many to mention. Jayvon, Terrance, Brie, Kiera, Sam, the entire front desk group I see when I check in... More 

Helpful?
Thank bltbb51
GbradleyAGM, Manager at Courtyard Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave another wonderful review of our property. We are extremely grateful for your repeated patronage of our property and are extremely happy to hear so many of our team members consistently excel in service. With a spirit to serve, we look forward to continuing to earn your much-valued loyalty to our... More 

Columbus , Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

When we pulled up to the valet parking, we were greeted by a friendly guy who got someone to help us with our bags. He answered a few questions we had, and treated us like royalty. Check in was smooth and efficient, and she made us feel like we were truly welcome. The lobby smelled great...I wish I knew how... More 

Helpful?
Thank buckeyetraveler75
GbradleyAGM, Manager at Courtyard Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that the service culture we strive for was demonstrated on your most recent stay. We hope you come back and see us soon! Warm Regards, George Bradley - Assistant General Manager More 

New Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

I stayed with my boyfriend at this hotel for 4th of July weekend. He is in Columbus studying at OSU for a 2 month summer program. About the Hotel: The hotel was okay, but it was way too pricey for what we got. Our room was relatively clean but it was very small and there was no luxury about it,... More 

Helpful?
Thank chanellydian
GbradleyAGM, Manager at Courtyard Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. On behalf of us all I apologize that you were clearly underwhelmed by our location and accommodations. I'm not sure on which specific night(s) you stayed with us but I can assure you Columbus does fully participate in fourth of July celebrations! On Friday night the annual Red, White and Boom! celebration was... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

First time staying downtown for red white and boom it was so much fun. Jevon made us feel welcomed and helped us with directions, he was awesome! The room was beautifully cleaned, everything looked new. Our family had no complaints. We will be returning next year.

Helpful?
Thank Taylor O
GbradleyAGM, Manager at Courtyard Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Taylor, Glad you enjoyed the awesomeness that is Red, White and BOOM! We enjoyed hosting you and your family and look forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards, George Bradley - Assistant General Manager More 

West Alexandria, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience everyone who worked here was very friendly and helpful. But one employee stuck out he most Jevon was awesome he was the best he helped us with extra towels and the other things we needed for out room. I will definitely be coming back to this hotel because of the exceptional customer service the Jevon... More 

Helpful?
Thank smashash25
GbradleyAGM, Manager at Courtyard Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for acknowledging Jevon, one of the hardest working and kindest members of our amazing team here. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you again. Warm Regards, George Bradley - Assistant General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to one of Columbus' oldest surviving hotels! Built atop a plot of land dating back to the birth of the city in 1800, the history of our hotel follows closely the transformation of Columbus, Ohio, from a sleepy pioneer town inhabited by the peace-loving Wyandot Indians and our nation's earliest settlers into today's sprawling urban conurbation and capital of our state. Built in 1911, our building has always been one of stark contrasts. Ostensibly constructed as a dry goods store, the United States Government secretly commissioned the building as a clandestine producer of uniforms and helmets in anticipation of World War I. It was around this time that the lower level of the lobby became a factory for the Wolfe Brothers' successful shoe business. Meanwhile, thousands of prison inmates from the nearby Ohio State Penitentiary were forced into unsafe and unsanitary forced labor, transported at gunpoint down an elaborate network of tunnels connecting the prison to industrial plants around the city. The remnants of this tunnel still survive today, entombed beneath the first floor bedrooms, used as storage for maintenance and housekeeping supplies. From 1954, Gene Schiller purchased the dry goods store and transformed it into a hotel, which he named "The Victorian Inn" after his daughter, Victoria, who had recently passed away. After later losing his beloved wife, Schiller committed suicide, whereupon the hotel was acquired by a bank and renamed "The Emory Inn". In 1985, the "Emory Inn" was purchased by the Best Western Company who later rebranded as a Courtyard by Marriott. All historical features and furnishings have been preserved where possible We hope you enjoy your stay with us here at the Historic Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbus Downtown

Address: 35 W Spring St, Columbus, OH 43215-2215
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Price Range: $166 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Marriott
Columbus Courtyard
Courtyard Columbus Downtown Ohio
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Columbus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay