Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection

Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection

Weird other stains on curtains, which were also all over
Traveler (385)
Suite Bathroom Amenities
Room & Suite (131)
Private Dining Room
Dining (40)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
$179
$179
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 5 left at
$179
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#10 of 36 hotels in Cleveland
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Metropolitan at The 9 is simply iconic! Built in the 1920's, this former bank building has been beautifully restored with luxury amenities, a splash of history and unique event space located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bowling offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Restaurant
Rooftop bar
Evening entertainment
Tennis court offsite
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Shoeshine
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Value
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

2017 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44115-1315
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
Hopkins Intl Airport
10.7 mi
See all flights
Burke Lakefront Airport
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles923 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection boasts a unique charm and an atmosphere that many guests find exquisite, despite some areas appearing dark or in need of rejuvenation. While the location earns high marks for its convenience to local attractions, opinions on value are divided; some visitors feel the cost is not reflective of the overall experience, particularly noting the expensive extras. Reviews frequently laud the professional service, although experiences with responsiveness vary. Amenities are generally appreciated, yet the absence of complimentary in-room coffee and transparent bathroom designs have raised some eyebrows. Room experiences are inconsistent, with comfort and maintenance issues being a concern for some guests.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Eclectic
Rooms
Unkempt
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
923Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 611
  • 149
  • 83
  • 50
  • 30
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tim wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been traveling for over 28 years, and the clear winner is Metroplitan at the 9! I am a loyal Marriott goer with lifetime status averaging >100 nights/year in hotels for business alone. That being said, I have made The 9 my second home since it opened. It has beaten out all other Marriott properties in northern Ohio by offering a unique blend of comfort and professionalism to meet all of my business needs. The multiple dining options far surpass that of any of the better brand hotel chains and the staff seals the deal! They always make me feel welcome and go out of their way to make sure my business needs are met. Additionally, they have several amenities like a shoeshine, high end fitness center and a specialty cocktail bar in the basement vault. Also, the location can’t be beat making it walking distance to nearly anything of importance downtown. Shout outs to Teddy at the front desk, Michael at the Ledger Bar, Noah in the Vault, Johnathan, Mike and Heather in the Haven, Johnathan the Shoeshine and Sami in Meeting Planning! They are the best of the best! Finally, if you have a chance make it a point to look up Maxwell! He’s one of the greatest historians on the city of Cleveland that you will find!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jrcarr2018 wrote a review Feb 2020
Dallas, Georgia5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nicest hotel room I’ve ever had! Two person soaking tub with wine holder, enclosed glass shower, both in the middle of the room. It was Exquisite!!!! The staff were great - and the hotel gym....say no more. Complete package!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
2020worldtraveler2020 wrote a review Mar 2022
Los Angeles, California961 contributions497 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with family one night in August 2021. Checkin was easy and we liked how they had adorned the hotel and room, with modernist furnishings and a fireplace in the sitting area of the room. We were also on the floor with the rooftop bar nearby, which I thought would be problematic because it would be loud, but it wasn't too bad. Bed was pretty comfortable.

Staff was largely helpful, including delivering a small refrigerator to our room upon request. Front desk staff was great.

Self-parking was kind of pain. It was a couple blocks away and a little sketch to get there (and leave the car there).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yalya P wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is bragging 4 diamonds. The personnel is friendly and helpful to the best they can. But all over experience is SAD. We had to wait for 30 min in line to check in. There was only one person at the reception. We booked an expensive suite. This is what you will get for $500 a night before tax: a room with a restaurant’s commercial AC behind our window making loud sound. It felt like you will sleep in an airplane or helicopter. After going back and forth, we got a regular room for the same price as a suite. I wish I could post pictures here. The design of the room is ridiculous, the bed’s headboard is one meter from the toilet bowl 😅.
The room is DIRTY! A dusty bottle of iced tea from people staying here probably a few months ago was under my night stand, a huge stain on the carpet in the middle of the room, ripped sheets, dirty stained blinds, dusty shelves. They are so cheap that they didn’t even put a bottle of water in the room. If you want to charge your phone on your nightstand, make sure you sleep on the right side of the bed, the other nightstand has no outlets. So, negative 3 stars is my rating for $500 per night. Dirty, cheap, old, noisy, poorly designed.
Second night, after talking with the manager who promised deep cleaning: sheets with holes, sticky carpet, the cleaning staff did not clean our room at all, they made the bed with the same ripped sheets, they did not dust, vacuum the room, did not even clean the sink. I had to wash my feet after accidentally stepping on carpet without shoes. Some light switches are not working properly, sometimes they switch fine, sometimes they don work. We hoped to sleep well and be rested for long drive back home, but in the middle of the night, around 3 am, our TV turned on itself and woke us up, we did not touch the remote, it was always by the TV on the stand.
We are very disappointed with our experience at this hotel. The people who work here are nice but extremely mismanaged.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Geis Marketing, Owner at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Responded Sep 6, 2022
Greetings yalyap, On behalf of the hotel leadership, I would like to thank you for giving us in-depth feedback regarding your hotel experience at our property. Providing all guests with an iconic experience is our top priority and we did not meet these expectations during your stay. I sincerely apologize for the challenges you experienced regarding noise, cleanliness, upkeep of room maintenance, and design of the room you were in during your visit. We failed to give you the excellent experience that we strive to give all of our guests, which is why we made the adjustments we did when these failures were brought to our attention. In the future, we hope to provide a better experience throughout your visit. Sincerely, Theodore Ostapack Director of Front Office
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachael P wrote a review Aug 2021
Darien, Connecticut47 contributions56 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We are currently staying at this hotel, it is charging us $240 / night plus tax. Location is great and staff is super friendly. Housekeeping service, however is under parr in that the hotel's excuse is: they are under-staffed. Ok fine, so either offer to pay better wages to get more housekeepers or don't charge your guests such high rates. Staying at a Hampton Inn or the equivalent would be the same.... It is inconceivable that you cannot have regular housekeeping, a regular service expected in any hotel, no matter the class of hotel.

Basically you are told on check-in not to expect housekeeping, the most they can do is give you fresh towels and take out the garbage. Really??? Fo r$240/night/?? Rooms are cursorily cleaned, there are layers of dust on the upholstery and the baseboards throughout the rooms. The rooms are smelly they are not freshly aired. Even the floor hallway carpets are not well cleaned and baseboards full of dust.

To the hotel managers: if you want to get good housekeeping hire and pay people what they deserve. DON"T charge you guests high fees for sub-par cleanliness. When speaking to management about this the response was a shrug of the shoulders stating 'we are understaffed and can't hire enough housekeepers." In other words, deal with it. Happy to share photos
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: great location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alice C wrote a review Jul 2022
Houston95 contributions54 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I just returned from three nights at the Metropolitan at the 9 in Cleveland. The location was perfect--blocks from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Progressive Field, and the theater district. The front desk staff was very pleasant. However, housekeeping was so bad, I would not recommend the hotel.
We asked for housekeeping service both Tuesday and Wednesday. On Tuesday, a housekeeper arrived at 4:45 pm and spent less than 5 minutes in our room. She changed the towels and soap (which was unnecessary). She asked, "Did you want your bed made? despite our asking for maid service at the front desk that morning. The next morning, I specified with the front desk, "Please have housekeeping change our sheets." The bed was made some time during the day but sheets were not changed. It also appeared that the room was not straightened, wiped down nor vacuumed during our stay. My recommendation: stay somewhere else if you want better housekeeping or stay some place much less expensive if you don't care about housekeeping. Also, sadly, at least one fly spent the entire three days in our room and in bed with us at night.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Ohio Family wrote a review Aug 2021
Columbus, Ohio10 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, we were very satisfied with this property. The service from all staff was tremendous, starting with the ease of valet parking, to checking in at the front desk, to the staff on the rooftop bar and lounge. Location is within walking distance or a quick ride to most attractions downtown which makes this hotel ideal. Would not recommend this hotel for families though (which it was just the two of us for this trip so it was great for us), as the rooms have a modern touch with open floor plans in the suites with living room, bedroom, and shower all in an open area. Very clean, helpful team members, and great location so we recommend you try the Met at the 9 for your next couple retreat to Cleveland.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Geis Marketing, Owner at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Responded Aug 22, 2021
Ohio Family - Thank you for choosing The 9 for your couples excursion to Cleveland and the kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again when your travels bring you back our way...M
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Faye S wrote a review Aug 2022
Seattle, Washington87 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed staying here! Great location downtown Cleveland and lots to see and do within walking distance. Check in was quick and the associates were very nice and helpful. We met Ryan and Holly and they both were very friendly, professional and we could tell that they enjoy their roles. We received a comp upgrade as Gold members and that was appreciated. Our room was nice and clean. We did not have a good view since we were on the 12 floor which was not high enough over other tall bldgs. Unfortunately, while the room was clean, it was a bit dusty and seemed like it needed a good, deep cleaning. We were only provided one small bar of soap so we had to use it at the sink and the shower. That was quite disappointing! The rooftop bar/restaurant was great! We didn't eat there but I would have enjoyed a few of the happy hour appetizers which were priced right, however, we ate at a local restaurant since there are many places downtown to eat! The elevators are modern and it feels safe at the hotel.
Oh, the shower set up is quite different and not private at all, so, if you are not a couple, that would likely be a problem. It was just fine for us, though, and I actually liked the modern design. There was no coffee maker in the room which was disappointing and we didn't know about the comp coffee/tea in the lobby until we checked out. I did go to the grocery store for a salad and snacks that is directly next door which is very convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sinatralis wrote a review Jan 2020
Rocky River, Ohio1,168 contribution200 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We live in Cleveland and I used to work in this building when it was Cleveland Trust- Ameritrust and wanted to stay here for our wedding anniversary. It was absolutely beautiful the service was very good as the staff was very attentive. The rooms were absolutely beautiful, beds were extremely comfortable bathrooms were huge and our room was a queen suite room with two queen beds and it also had a sectional with a faux fireplace and two TVs and very modern. I like the fact that there’s several options for food Including the Heinen’s right next-door. Valet parking is extremely easy there is a parking garage but it’s not connected. The bars are very nice the cocktails are wonderful and the food is very good as well. We will definitely come back to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeisHospitalityGroup, General Manager at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Sintralis - Welcome back...! We are so glad that you were able to experience the property from a completely different perspective. Thank you for the very kind words and we hope to welcome you back again soon...M
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott B wrote a review Jul 2022
Redondo Beach, California23 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently went to Cleveland to visit family and tour the city. Staying at Metropolitan at the 9 made my trip spectacular. First, the location couldn't be better, right in the middle of Cleveland and in walking distance to most of Cleveland's many attractions. The awesome Heinen's market is literally adjacent, just a few steps away. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and very chic! The service is amazing! Sorry I cannot remember more names but Kendra and Holly both a stars and made me, my partner and our doggie feel very welcome. There are four bars that all serve delicious food but Adega is the only actual restaurant and it is EXCELLENT! From their delicious breakfasts, lunches and dinners, the food was top-quality, many unique choices including several vegetarian, the presentation and service are top-notch, yet the prices are great. The guest suite was impeccably cleaned, very spacious, comfortable with living room and excellent modern styles. The valet guys are also excellent, very courteous, provided great directions and recommendations and they along with much of the staff look like models, including the amazing staff at the EPIC rooftop club/bar Garden of Eden and the super-elegant underground bar Vault. This was our 3rd of 4 Marriott brand hotels in an eleven day trip and though all were excellent, The 9 is at the absolute top. This is the only place I plan to stay on my future trips to Cleveland.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Higher floors with beautiful city views.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Golfen R asked a question Mar 2021
Cleveland, Ohio52 contributions8 helpful votes
1. Is there a lounge for Elite members? 2. Is there a close by garage for self parking?
Gwenevere M asked a question Dec 2020
Beach City, Ohio75 contributions21 helpful votes
Are all their dining and bar venues open during covid at this time?
JLHT asked a question Oct 2018
Strongsville, Ohio327 contributions79 helpful votes
What sort of breakfast options are available?
Answer from ShuGirl6
Perrysburg, Ohio2,596 contributions180 helpful votes
They have a darling restaurant right on the first floor with trendy healthy options.
Answer from Kenny D
Cleveland, Ohio
It is seperate.
Juanita R wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a $3 charge to use a K-Cup. I think that is ridiculous and I can by a box of K-Cups and pack extra cups to take home."
Read full review
Bernadette P wrote a tip Jul 2023
12 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request your car more than 30 minutes in advance if you need to check out during baseball games"
Read full review
Shawna S wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upscale hotel that offers luxury rooms with restaurants and multiple lounges for cocktails & all pay such close attention to detail! 10/10"
Read full review
Joseph D wrote a tip Jul 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fantastic place"
Read full review
steffiep33 wrote a tip May 2023
Dumfries, Virginia413 contributions47 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walking distance to baseball stadium, plan for valet as we didn't see any other parking. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cleveland area.
PRICE RANGE
$239 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesOhioClevelandPlayhouse Square
NUMBER OF ROOMS
156
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

METROPOLITAN AT THE 9, AUTOGRAPH COLLECTION - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Heinen's Downtown (0.02 miles), PlayhouseSquare (0.3 miles), and Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Marble Room Steaks and Raw Bar, Butcher and the Brewer, and Mabel's BBQ.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Cleveland.
Are pets allowed at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Many travelers enjoy visiting USS Cod Submarine Memorial (0.7 miles), Heinen's Downtown (0.02 miles), and West Side Market (1.4 miles).
All Cleveland HotelsCleveland Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ClevelandHotels near Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars