We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clifford House Bed and Breakfast

Save
Share
1810 W 28th St, Cleveland, OH 44113-3021
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (43)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (8)

About

#3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.8
Value
4.7
The separate self contained Madison Apt Suite is open at this time; the two rooms in main owner's quarters are closed at this time. We have contactless check-in, clean thoroughly and provide self serve breakfast in apartment. A charming "Private Home" place to stay at a reasonable price, handy to everything. Described as nice, casual, eclectic and more European B&B style because I live here; I work here. The guest rooms nice and tidy; the common areas organized and a little lived in at times. A perfect location In the heart of an urban, historic, trendy neighborhood across the river from downtown. In walking distance to nationally acclaimed locally owned restaurants and breweries. Walk to buses, train, the Cleveland Indians! Guest have walked to their conferences downtown. I have one cat, Wesley, and one dog, Sherlock; both guest certified, exceptional pets. The home is professionally cleaned by three housekeepers: Michelle, Debbie and Veronica. Ironed sheets and well made beds are noted. My private home since 1992 became Clifford House B&B in 1996. It evolved room by room: the Schneider Suite first, the Withington Room next and finally the Madison Apt Suite. Started on a shoestring budget after some corporate downsizing, there are still and always will be ongoing upgrades and improvements. It's never done! I like to collect stuff: new, used, consignment... And everything has its story. The guests have their story and become part the story.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Photo copier / fax In business center
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Outdoor furniture
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
81Reviews1Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 59
  • 17
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
AdventureDad wrote a review Jul 2022
Columbus, Ohio4 contributions
Our first stay in Cleveland and this B&B and we will be back. My wife and I wanted a weekend getaway and this looked to be in a fantastic location. The house rooms were already booked so we booked the apartment, which was much more space than we needed but the price was almost the same. We could park her car right in front of the door, up the steps and into a two-story apartment with living room, dining room, complete kitchen, upstairs bedroom and bathroom. The owner was fantastic, always available to direct you to the best places within walking distance, and all his recommendations were fantastic. The best part of this B&B is breakfast, can't put into words, it will likely be one of the best spoil yourself breakfasts served than you could've imagined. Thanks James for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clifford House Miner, Owner at Clifford House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jul 25, 2022
Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the kind review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pete JG wrote a review Sep 2021
Denver, Colorado1 contribution
Jim runs a great BNB close to the Heart of the City. Close to West25th, his home is a historic gem with clean sheets and a great place to spend time in Cleveland! Single or as a couple this is a nice comfortable home. Pete G
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clifford House Miner, Owner at Clifford House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jul 25, 2022
Thank you for the positive review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dennis C wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
This was our first time staying at the Clifford House B&B. We made a great choice! We stayed 3 nights and four day. The owner (Jim) was a joy along with Henry the dog. Jim is just so knowledgeable and full of information, from restaurants to places of interest to somewhere to get a good drink or glass of wine. Now to the important stuff, the accommodation were outstanding but breakfast was just crazy. Jim leaves no stone unturned, we had eggs, pancakes, potatoes, bacon, sausage, etc I think you get the idea. We found Jim to be kind, engaging, and just an all around good guy. We highly recommend - you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clifford House Miner, Owner at Clifford House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jul 25, 2022
Thank you for the kind comments!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EA906 wrote a review Jun 2021
Michigan44 contributions37 helpful votes
We picked this B&B because of its good reviews and excellent location. It is within walking distance to many restaurants and breweries that we wanted to visit, and is in a pretty, pleasant neighborhood. We were very pleased with those aspects. Also, Jim is a friendly and pleasant host. He is very knowledgeable about the area and seems happy to answer questions or make recommendations. He makes an excellent breakfast as well. However, we would not return to his establishment because of the dog Henry. We knew there was a dog on site and respected that we, as guests, had to be “dog friendly.” To me this means I can expect there to be some pet hair here or there; that a friendly dog might want pets and press a wet nose into my hand or trod on my feet for attention; that there might be some dog-related noise. But Henry was NOT a friendly dog to us. He growled and barked at us when Jim wasn’t present, both when we came downstairs in the morning and when we returned in the evening. In Jim’s presence the dog jumped up on myself and my partner multiple times. Jim said he “only growled at non-dog people,” which made me reluctant to voice my discomfort with Henry’s behavior. I like dogs just fine and came in respectful of the dog’s place in the home, but I don’t like a large dog who barks and growls at me. (Jim says Henry is “half German shepherd” and he also has pit bull-type features.) It was very uncomfortable. This establishment has many positive reviews and some guests have good things to say about Henry. But this was our experience and I would not choose to repeat it. Hopefully it will help someone else make an informed choice about whether they want to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Miner, Owner at Clifford House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jul 9, 2021
All said, the guest and I are in agreement, they should not return, given their discomfort with the dog. I would not let them return. The guest were nice, informed and pleasant enough conversationalists, fine at the dog-less breakfast once Henry was locked up. At other times, guests' reactions to the dog made me uncomfortable as well. Henry's youthful attempts to be friendly were met by fear, annoyance and discomfort.... a partly prejudice reaction I felt (and was later informed) to his "pit bull-type features" noted buy the guest guest. Henry is a dog that requires positive acknowledgment.....and while jumping is something we are still working on, neighbors, friends and return guests comment how well he has settled in since living here. I am very sensitive to guest comfort and happiness but find it a two way street, and do agree, each guest choice to stay here must also consider the sweet but assertive dog. Henry and I deserve to be comfortable our own home too.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kit W wrote a review Mar 2021
Chillicothe, Ohio2 contributions
You won't be sorry picking The Clifford House for a very personal experience with a fantastic host. All of Ohio City is within walking distance, & Jim knows the area like the back of his hand - there is something for anyone's preferences there. We had always stayed in downtown Cleveland before, & it seemed like we were Uber-ing to Ohio City all the time, so our decision to actually stay in Ohio City this time was a no-brainer, & Jim's B&B was the best choice for an accommodation - the amenities were out of this world (blueberry muffins - mmmmmm). We would/will stay there again without hesitation. Thanks, Jim!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Baguette-and-Alpaca wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
Only stayed one night but enjoyed our time. Host was accommodating, and cooked a great breakfast with a lot of local ingredients. Room was cozy with a lot of amenities. Close to a trendy area with lots of restaurants, microbreweries and markets.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from James M, Owner at Clifford House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
funinthesun377 wrote a review Oct 2019
Virginia Beach, Virginia13 contributions6 helpful votes
Within walking distances of numerous restaurants, bars, and the central market. The Bed and Breakfast is smaller than expected, but overall is very well kept. The dog was friendly with the owner present; however, with the owner away the dog was very aggressive -- growling as if a stranger was breaking into his house -- which made me very nervous. With that said, don't expect to enjoy the common areas of the B&B.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from James M, Owner at Clifford House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Mar 2, 2020
An honest review and response. The dog, Henry, is/was a rescue in 2019. It took Henry a few months to adapt to friendly, non threatening surroundings and I am pleased to say that he has turned out to be quite sweet and popular among neighbors and guests! He can be shut off from guests, restricting guest use of pubic areas of my home when I am not here.....Most guest find their rooms to be more than enough space anyway. The few guests who had an issue and Henry "reacted too" during his probationary period were not really pet friendly and the dog knew it! To be fair, I do advise guests who are not pet friendly or afraid or dogs to please look elsewhere....do not stay here!!! Most of my guest are very pet friendly and appreciate the fact I "rescued " a dog and give him a better life than he had. The dog reacts very well to "dog people". The Madison Apt Suite by the way is separate with no pets. This is Henry's and my home, not a hotel and most guests are pleasantly surprised by how comfortable and well located it is.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael P wrote a review Sep 2019
Penfield, New York5 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed in the stand-alone apartment, which was quite beautifully done, spacious, and comfortable. Just two caveats: There is a fair amount of climbing - the apt is on the second and third floors. If you have concerns/doubts about this, you might want to contact the host (owner, who lives on-site), Jim. The other caveat is the window A/C unit near the bed. We hit a particularly unseasonably hot time, and so it was either too noisy or too hot to sleep - I had my choice. My wife, though, wasn't bothered, and this would not be an issue in cooler weather, so I didn't knock the rating Jim is a wonderful host - very welcoming, and very committed to the Ohio City neighborhood. He also puts together a great breakfast, full of local artisanal stuff from the nearby West Side Market.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James M, Owner at Clifford House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Thank you for the review. Good point. It is impossible to micro-tune the AC temperature in this 12 room, 150 year old home....although it is comfortable the majority of the time. The Madison Apt suite has three newer window units which, yes, still make some minimal noise. The main house with Schneider Suite and Withington room are cooled by an older central air system. The Withington Room has one strong vent; both it and my own room seem cool in order to keep upstairs Schneider attic room comfortable. Most guest are happy that in these hotter summers I have AC!!! Temperature is the single biggest complaint category in any people based venture!! Great heating system. Europeans as a rule do not like American AC and are the biggest critics. I have survived here 28 years and given my reasonable rates, just don't expect to invest $20,000 pus for new central air!!!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shiredweller50 wrote a review Aug 2019
Richmond, Virginia53 contributions50 helpful votes
My wife and I were lucky enough to stay in what is essrntially a two-story apartment for several nights at a very reasonable rate. Jim, the proprietor, has done a nice job, and he provides a tasty, filling breakfast. His helpers, Henry the dog and Wesley the cat, welcome the guests and were glad to see us whenever we got up for breakfast or came back from our day's outing. Our suite included a big kitchen a dining room, and living room on the first floor (actually, it was 2 floors up), with a bedroom, closet, and big closet and bathroom upstairs (the 3rd floor). Great location on a quiet treelined street in Cleveland's Ohio City neighborhood. Parking in driveway and on the street. West Side market and Mitchell's Ice Cream are 2 blocks away. Big modern supermarket (Dave's) is one block. Lots of restaurants, at least one of which (Great Lakes Brewing Company) provides a free shuttle to the Indians' ballgames. A good time, great location!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from James M, Owner at Clifford House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Thank you for the kind remarks. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom T wrote a review Jul 2019
San Diego, California54 contributions61 helpful votes
Our trip to Cleveland in June culminated with a 2 night stay at the Clifford House. We were made to feel so at home by the owner/proprietor, Jim Miner, that we wished we could have stayed a few more days before heading home. We stayed in the Madison Apartment Suite which was very spacious and well-maintained. Jim prepared a sumptuous hot breakfast each morning with an abundance of options. The Clifford House is well located in the gentrified Ohio City section of Cleveland and within walking distance of the historic West Side Market and several fine restaurants. Also nearby is an excellent cocktail lounge, Velvet Tango Room, which was a speakeasy during Prohibition and is now decorated in an art deco style. A $5 Uber ride delivered us to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame! We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay with Jim and will definitely visit the Clifford House again on our next Midwest trip.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from James M, Owner at Clifford House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Thank you for the positive review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$175 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesOhioClevelandOhio City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLIFFORD HOUSE BED AND BREAKFAST - Updated 2022 Prices & B&B Reviews (Cleveland, Ohio)

Frequently Asked Questions about Clifford House Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Clifford House Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Perplexity Games Escape Room Cleveland (0.07 miles), West Side Market (0.2 miles), and Glass Bubble Project (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Clifford House Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Clifford House Bed and Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Clifford House Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Clifford House Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clifford House Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mitchell's Ice Cream, Steve's Gyros, and Momocho.
Are there any historical sites close to Clifford House Bed and Breakfast?
Many travelers enjoy visiting USS Cod Submarine Memorial (1.8 miles), Heinen's Downtown (1.5 miles), and West Side Market (0.2 miles).
Does Clifford House Bed and Breakfast have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.