We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Peschiera

Save
Share
Contrada Losciale 63, 70043 Capitolo, Monopoli Italy
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$465
View Deal
Booking.com
$581
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$581
$299
View Deal
SAVE $282
Hotels.com$465
Snaptravel$367
Orbitz.com$465
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (296)
360
Panoramas (71)
Room & Suite (210)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Capitolo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
La Peschiera is a unique and exclusive five star luxury hotel located directly on the Adriatic in Puglia, in the south of Italy. Originally built by the Bourbons as a fish hatchery it is now a spectacular seaside resort.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Beach
Airport transportation
Massage
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
227Reviews5Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 148
  • 41
  • 17
  • 7
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Brigitta wrote a review Sep 5
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Never wrote a negative review before, but this one is absolutely necessary to prevent other people to do the same mistake we did! The service at the reception was already very low level, but seeing our bedroom was an absolute disaster. For EUR 640 per night you get the lowest room-category in this hotel. The room is equipped with an absolute minimum and with furnitures of cheapest standards -we‘ve never seen sth like this before in any Small-Luxury-Hotel. You‘re situated next to the storage for pool material, a small little window is facing the sea, situated far away from the main area of the hotel. The manager didn‘t seem to hear our complaints the first time, switched us to a room of higher category - bigger and terrasse to the sea side. For this cat. you normally pay more than EUR 1000.- per night. Rooms are bigger, view and terrasse are nice - to be fair - but the rest of the room remains the same; not a single bit of quality in anything. This holds also true for the pool area (no pool service, cheapest equipment), for the service in general and the breakfast you get in the morning - a real disappointment. This hotel is an absolute rip-off and joke!! We also wrote to the SLH-Management to remove this hotel from their members-list, its not keeping up with their usual standards at all!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Serena Pignataro, Marketing at La Peschiera
Responded 1 week ago
DearBM011990, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We genuinely value and appreciate your feedback and apologise that your experience was less than perfect. I was most concerned to hear that you were disappointed with your room and Hotel experience and I am writing to express my apologies for any discomfort caused. Please be aware that I have discussed your comments with the appropriate heads of department to review some detail. You have booked a pool view room, so for a future stay I suggest to reserve a Sunshine or Sunrise room facing the Adriatic sea. Even if during your stay we could not meet your expectations, we hope to welcome you again and have the chance to show that we normally serve a high level of service Kind Regards Serena Pignataro Sales & Marketing Executive
Read more
ClaretBadger wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom47 contributions24 helpful votes
A lovely position on the edge of the sea with a boutique hotel feel and a great bar and restaurant to take in the stunning sea views. There is a large heated and unheated pool, with smaller pools dotted around the rooms so you can always find a pool to yourself! The room was bright, clean with two bathrooms and a picture window to take in the views. Lovely to hear the sound of the sea as you sleep. It would have been nice to have been offered drinks etc whilst sunbathing by the pool, but otherwise I cannot fault the place. Lovely friendly staff and an amazing choice of breakfast options.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Serena Pignataro, Marketing at La Peschiera
Responded Aug 10, 2020
Dear ClaretBadger, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience at La Pechiera, it is very much appreciated. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed at the best your stay with us and I hope to see you back soon in this corner of Apulian paradise. A presto, Serena Pignataro Sales& Marketing Executive
Read more
dagGothenburg_Sweden wrote a review Oct 2019
Gothenburg, Sweden47 contributions81 helpful votes
The hotel is beautifully located by the sea and all rooms are sea facing. The hotel is also conveniently located to explore Puglia by car. My wife and I visited a number of towns within an hour from the hotel, including Bari, Cisternino, Polignano a Mare, Ostuni, Monopoli, Alberobello and Locorotondo. There are two big outdoor pools at the hotel. One heated and one not. No children under the age of 12 welcome, which is good if one does not like having children around during vacation. The staff is very friendly but as there is no hotel manager present to orchestrate the running of the hotel one can get the feeling that things are run a bit ad hoc by instinct rather than by a certain common strategy or philosophy. Being experienced travellers the sense that stayed with us was that for the price we paid we expected much more. The rooms are not very well insolated so one hears everything the neighbors do in their room and on their terrace. Breakfast was served in the room or terrace. We always prefer a buffet but here one had to fill out a menu card the night before and we found it rather awkward not being able to choose from a buffet. The dinner was a disappointment. No new or creative dishes. Very traditional pasta and seafood/fish. We even had to complain about the meat the first time we ordered meat. Was impossible to eat and even the staff agreed that it should not have been served. Next day we told the staff that we wanted good meat for dinner and that evening the quality of the meat was very good, even though still very 70th -ish in preparation. If the dinner room/restaurant is busy service is slow. We have a feeling that the number of kitchen staff is the same whether 5 or 15 tables are occupied. Would we recommend this hotel? Definitely not for the price we paid. There are too many downsides and too few upsides. The hotel needs to really refurbish all rooms and make them better insolated. To hear the neighbour brush their teeth and flush the toilet is a little bit too much. We were lucky with the weather during our stay. We could sunbathe and also swim in the sea. If weather is bad there is nothing to do in the hotel. All facilities (SPA, sports etc) are located in a sister hotel some distance apart. Even if they arrange transport to the sister hotel, it is an inconvenience not having any facilities except swimming pools in the hotel. We stayed for 5 days. I am member of Small Luxury Hotels of the world and have the highest status level. But there was no recognition of this at all during our stay. Usually you are entitled to an upgrade, some perks etc. Unless the small fruit platter we received the first day was this recognition...... So, a beautifully located little `gem to be` with the above changes and a more involved management team with a clearer strategic purpose for the hotel and staff and a more modern menu, a beach side hotel 3.0 for the 21st century.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: All rooms basically equal
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Epicureously wrote a review Oct 2019
London, United Kingdom918 contributions306 helpful votes
We stayed here for a couple of days during the last weekend of September. The weather was great and we had a fabulous time. The hotel had only 13 rooms and therefore exclusivity is the primary selling point. The hotel is in a wonderful location right on top of the sea with its own private beach and even has created a private swimming area in the sea due to the rocky entry. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. They have a private patio area at both ends, one overlooking the sea and the other end looking at the pool area. There is also steps up to a roof terrace. There are several pools but the main one is massive for a hotel of this size. Why then you may ask have I only scored it average. The key areas of concern are around service. First issue, is the breakfast idea is completely flawed. The idea being the night before you tick the things you want and leave the list outside. In the morning at your stated time you open your doors and the breakfast is set up for you in your terrace overlooking the sea. Nice idea but in reality if anything needs changing, for example poached eggs like cricket balls, cold coffee or lack of butter etc, then you either have to find someone or wait for whenever one of the other rooms have their breakfast at some point. On top of this we had the misfortune to be next to a room with two very boisterous Australian ladies who puffed cigs and screeched throughout our breakfast. Not exactly the exclusive romantic breakfast I was expecting. In addition, the raw materials used were very average. We then went to the small private beach which is lovely. Very difficult to enter the beautiful sea though due to very sharp and slippy rocks. Quite relaxing for a while until not only did our Aussie friends turn up but half a dozen more Aussies also turned up from their sister hotel. Getting a drink on the beach also requires you getting your shirt and shoes on and walking to the bar to order it. No prospect of anyone coming to you. We took an 800m walk along the public beach where you will find a decent bar and a very sandy and easy access to a turquoise Adriatic Sea. Clean and clear. On our last evening we booked at a Michelin restaurant 3miles down the road. Due Camini-go there if you want to see top service. When we enquired about a taxi we were told it was €40 each way. Since you’ve got no choice unless you want to drive, we did it. That’s just taking advantage. I have reviewed separately the Saleblu restaurant but I must just mention we had Sunday lunch there also which was rubbish in every way. Won’t bore you with details. There’s a few other things but you get the drift. It may be that in peak season when all the Italians come its a different story but for us this is no way an exclusive venue. It’s a nice venue and worth the money just for location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Matthew T wrote a review Jul 2019
4 contributions2 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed in La Peschiera for two nights in July 2019. Aesthetically, the property is pleasant, but it is NOT the five star hotel it claims to be. We encountered the following issues: - Blood on bed sheets (see photos). Hotel management initially claimed this was rust (unclear how rust would appear in the middle of a white bedsheet) and refused to take any action until I made clear that clean bed sheets are a fairly basic requirement for any hotel - A lot of debris floating in the sea and on the beach on our first day. This was cleared on the second day - A toilet that stank every time it was flushed - Pools that initially look nice but actually have crumbling walls and debris all over the bottom that clings to your feet The staff are generally very nice - particularly the breakfast staff. The breakfast is a highlight. Watch out for a BIG upsell in the restaurant too. My wife was given an entire $120 lobster alongside some pasta because the waiter claimed to have misunderstood her request for a half lobster, which we specifically made very clear. The hotel is not terrible, but it is a 3/4* hotel with 5* prices. If you can get a comparable rate in a 5* hotel in the area (eg. Borgo Egnazia is excellent and has comparable rates if you book in advance), my suggestion would be to do that.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DirettoreMelograno, Direttore vendite at La Peschiera
Responded Jul 22, 2019
Dear Matthew, We are very sorry to hearing that your experience at La Peschiera was somehow spoiled by your mentioned issues. We are quite surprised to read this review considering that our Team tried to solve all problems and was at our complete disposal. (we have applied also a reduction on your stay) If you want do discuss further the matter I am at your disposal, I will be waiting your e-mail. Best regards Serena Pignataro Sales & Marketing Executive
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$354 - $1,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyPugliaProvince of BariMonopoliCapitolo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Peschiera
Which popular attractions are close to La Peschiera?
Nearby attractions include Sabbiadoro Beach (0.3 miles), Alborada S.a.s (0.6 miles), and Lido Marina Grande (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at La Peschiera?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at La Peschiera?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at La Peschiera?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Peschiera?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Peschiera?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dono Restaurant - Masseria Garrappa, Gran Pavese, and Lido Bambu'.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Peschiera?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does La Peschiera have an airport shuttle?
Yes, La Peschiera offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is La Peschiera located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Capitolo.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Peschiera?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to La Peschiera?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Centro Storico di Monopoli (4.6 miles), Parco Rupestre Lama D'Antico (3.8 miles), and Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi (4.6 miles).