We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Contrada Losciale 63, 70043 Capitolo, Monopoli Italy
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (355)
360
Panoramas (71)
Room & Suite (215)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Capitolo
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
3.4
La Peschiera is a unique and exclusive five star luxury hotel located directly on the Adriatic in Puglia, in the south of Italy. Originally built by the Bourbons as a fish hatchery it is now a spectacular seaside resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Beach
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Massage
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian

Location

Full view
51Somewhat walkable
Grade: 51 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
258Reviews5Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 162
  • 48
  • 20
  • 11
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Louise H wrote a review Oct 2022
Cambridge90 contributions43 helpful votes
All though this has potential, it was certainly very expensive, it appeared ready for season closure. The rooms, towels, staff were not up to scratch. Great location, but poor in every other respect. Breakfast was good, but needed to be served on our patio as they had stopped serving buffets. We paid 865 euros per night a rip off. Needs to move off Mr and Mrs Smith Hotels. Furniture was cheap,towels threadbare.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Denise M wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions
+1
Unique location in front of the sea It is one of the few places in Puglia where you can enjoy the sea directly from your room. The breakfast service in the room ‘s terrace in front of the sea are the only two good points of this hotel. The room (560€/night) is oldish with a terrible decoration taste. Specially the furniture, but that is irrelevant in front of the service. The availability to help and do their best is inexistent . We ask for a two hour late check out that was not provided. We stayed in the pool while watching the ladies coming to our room late in the afternoon to clean… I was supposed to be coming at the end of September for a beneficent party in another very famous masseria close from here. I did the reservation in the morning and in the afternoon the party was cancelled because an accident happened to the organizer. I email the hotel to cancel the room, after only 6 hours from the reservation. Instead, they charged my credit card with 100% of the amount. When I called to explain the situation they didn’t accept any excuse form my part but at the end I could manage to change the date and paying 200€ for the upgrade and one person more. Even the restaurant is expensive with Michelin star prices, without the stars. With an standard ambience, quality of food and service. The only thing remarkable is the massage performed at the sister hotel. I won’t be coming back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Элла И wrote a review Sep 2021
Northern Portugal, Portugal9 contributions7 helpful votes
This hotel is good because of the location directly on the seafront and because of the idea, sure it was perfect in the past. Now it is good three stars hotel, do not expect more. The friendly staff seemed embarrassed that there is no internet, no hot water, the room smells bad, the sauna with holes in the walls, the restaurant looks more like a cafe and the catch of the day was clearly not today, but three days ago. It was shabby but was not chic But it is nevertheless the unique place, because of the sea near you room, that you may swim like on Maldives from the door. Because an excellent breakfast on you terras, unforgettable. Because of the brilliant enormous swimming pool. If you agree to pay three time more for it - it is a must to come.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Quality of evening meal depend of the fisherman arriving
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Brigitta wrote a review Sep 2020
8 contributions6 helpful votes
Never wrote a negative review before, but this one is absolutely necessary to prevent other people to do the same mistake we did! The service at the reception was already very low level, but seeing our bedroom was an absolute disaster. For EUR 640 per night you get the lowest room-category in this hotel. The room is equipped with an absolute minimum and with furnitures of cheapest standards -we‘ve never seen sth like this before in any Small-Luxury-Hotel. You‘re situated next to the storage for pool material, a small little window is facing the sea, situated far away from the main area of the hotel. The manager didn‘t seem to hear our complaints the first time, switched us to a room of higher category - bigger and terrasse to the sea side. For this cat. you normally pay more than EUR 1000.- per night. Rooms are bigger, view and terrasse are nice - to be fair - but the rest of the room remains the same; not a single bit of quality in anything. This holds also true for the pool area (no pool service, cheapest equipment), for the service in general and the breakfast you get in the morning - a real disappointment. This hotel is an absolute rip-off and joke!! We also wrote to the SLH-Management to remove this hotel from their members-list, its not keeping up with their usual standards at all!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Serena Pignataro, Marketing at La Peschiera
Responded Sep 18, 2020
DearBM011990, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We genuinely value and appreciate your feedback and apologise that your experience was less than perfect. I was most concerned to hear that you were disappointed with your room and Hotel experience and I am writing to express my apologies for any discomfort caused. Please be aware that I have discussed your comments with the appropriate heads of department to review some detail. You have booked a pool view room, so for a future stay I suggest to reserve a Sunshine or Sunrise room facing the Adriatic sea. Even if during your stay we could not meet your expectations, we hope to welcome you again and have the chance to show that we normally serve a high level of service Kind Regards Serena Pignataro Sales & Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ClaretBadger wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom48 contributions25 helpful votes
A lovely position on the edge of the sea with a boutique hotel feel and a great bar and restaurant to take in the stunning sea views. There is a large heated and unheated pool, with smaller pools dotted around the rooms so you can always find a pool to yourself! The room was bright, clean with two bathrooms and a picture window to take in the views. Lovely to hear the sound of the sea as you sleep. It would have been nice to have been offered drinks etc whilst sunbathing by the pool, but otherwise I cannot fault the place. Lovely friendly staff and an amazing choice of breakfast options.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Serena Pignataro, Marketing at La Peschiera
Responded Aug 10, 2020
Dear ClaretBadger, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience at La Pechiera, it is very much appreciated. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed at the best your stay with us and I hope to see you back soon in this corner of Apulian paradise. A presto, Serena Pignataro Sales& Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dagGothenburg_Sweden wrote a review Oct 2019
Gothenburg, Sweden52 contributions109 helpful votes
The hotel is beautifully located by the sea and all rooms are sea facing. The hotel is also conveniently located to explore Puglia by car. My wife and I visited a number of towns within an hour from the hotel, including Bari, Cisternino, Polignano a Mare, Ostuni, Monopoli, Alberobello and Locorotondo. There are two big outdoor pools at the hotel. One heated and one not. No children under the age of 12 welcome, which is good if one does not like having children around during vacation. The staff is very friendly but as there is no hotel manager present to orchestrate the running of the hotel one can get the feeling that things are run a bit ad hoc by instinct rather than by a certain common strategy or philosophy. Being experienced travellers the sense that stayed with us was that for the price we paid we expected much more. The rooms are not very well insolated so one hears everything the neighbors do in their room and on their terrace. Breakfast was served in the room or terrace. We always prefer a buffet but here one had to fill out a menu card the night before and we found it rather awkward not being able to choose from a buffet. The dinner was a disappointment. No new or creative dishes. Very traditional pasta and seafood/fish. We even had to complain about the meat the first time we ordered meat. Was impossible to eat and even the staff agreed that it should not have been served. Next day we told the staff that we wanted good meat for dinner and that evening the quality of the meat was very good, even though still very 70th -ish in preparation. If the dinner room/restaurant is busy service is slow. We have a feeling that the number of kitchen staff is the same whether 5 or 15 tables are occupied. Would we recommend this hotel? Definitely not for the price we paid. There are too many downsides and too few upsides. The hotel needs to really refurbish all rooms and make them better insolated. To hear the neighbour brush their teeth and flush the toilet is a little bit too much. We were lucky with the weather during our stay. We could sunbathe and also swim in the sea. If weather is bad there is nothing to do in the hotel. All facilities (SPA, sports etc) are located in a sister hotel some distance apart. Even if they arrange transport to the sister hotel, it is an inconvenience not having any facilities except swimming pools in the hotel. We stayed for 5 days. I am member of Small Luxury Hotels of the world and have the highest status level. But there was no recognition of this at all during our stay. Usually you are entitled to an upgrade, some perks etc. Unless the small fruit platter we received the first day was this recognition...... So, a beautifully located little `gem to be` with the above changes and a more involved management team with a clearer strategic purpose for the hotel and staff and a more modern menu, a beach side hotel 3.0 for the 21st century.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: All rooms basically equal
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Epicureously wrote a review Oct 2019
London, United Kingdom1143 contributions550 helpful votes
We stayed here for a couple of days during the last weekend of September. The weather was great and we had a fabulous time. The hotel had only 13 rooms and therefore exclusivity is the primary selling point. The hotel is in a wonderful location right on top of the sea with its own private beach and even has created a private swimming area in the sea due to the rocky entry. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. They have a private patio area at both ends, one overlooking the sea and the other end looking at the pool area. There is also steps up to a roof terrace. There are several pools but the main one is massive for a hotel of this size. Why then you may ask have I only scored it average. The key areas of concern are around service. First issue, is the breakfast idea is completely flawed. The idea being the night before you tick the things you want and leave the list outside. In the morning at your stated time you open your doors and the breakfast is set up for you in your terrace overlooking the sea. Nice idea but in reality if anything needs changing, for example poached eggs like cricket balls, cold coffee or lack of butter etc, then you either have to find someone or wait for whenever one of the other rooms have their breakfast at some point. On top of this we had the misfortune to be next to a room with two very boisterous Australian ladies who puffed cigs and screeched throughout our breakfast. Not exactly the exclusive romantic breakfast I was expecting. In addition, the raw materials used were very average. We then went to the small private beach which is lovely. Very difficult to enter the beautiful sea though due to very sharp and slippy rocks. Quite relaxing for a while until not only did our Aussie friends turn up but half a dozen more Aussies also turned up from their sister hotel. Getting a drink on the beach also requires you getting your shirt and shoes on and walking to the bar to order it. No prospect of anyone coming to you. We took an 800m walk along the public beach where you will find a decent bar and a very sandy and easy access to a turquoise Adriatic Sea. Clean and clear. On our last evening we booked at a Michelin restaurant 3miles down the road. Due Camini-go there if you want to see top service. When we enquired about a taxi we were told it was €40 each way. Since you’ve got no choice unless you want to drive, we did it. That’s just taking advantage. I have reviewed separately the Saleblu restaurant but I must just mention we had Sunday lunch there also which was rubbish in every way. Won’t bore you with details. There’s a few other things but you get the drift. It may be that in peak season when all the Italians come its a different story but for us this is no way an exclusive venue. It’s a nice venue and worth the money just for location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Matthew T wrote a review Jul 2019
4 contributions2 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed in La Peschiera for two nights in July 2019. Aesthetically, the property is pleasant, but it is NOT the five star hotel it claims to be. We encountered the following issues: - Blood on bed sheets (see photos). Hotel management initially claimed this was rust (unclear how rust would appear in the middle of a white bedsheet) and refused to take any action until I made clear that clean bed sheets are a fairly basic requirement for any hotel - A lot of debris floating in the sea and on the beach on our first day. This was cleared on the second day - A toilet that stank every time it was flushed - Pools that initially look nice but actually have crumbling walls and debris all over the bottom that clings to your feet The staff are generally very nice - particularly the breakfast staff. The breakfast is a highlight. Watch out for a BIG upsell in the restaurant too. My wife was given an entire $120 lobster alongside some pasta because the waiter claimed to have misunderstood her request for a half lobster, which we specifically made very clear. The hotel is not terrible, but it is a 3/4* hotel with 5* prices. If you can get a comparable rate in a 5* hotel in the area (eg. Borgo Egnazia is excellent and has comparable rates if you book in advance), my suggestion would be to do that.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DirettoreMelograno, Direttore vendite at La Peschiera
Responded Jul 22, 2019
Dear Matthew, We are very sorry to hearing that your experience at La Peschiera was somehow spoiled by your mentioned issues. We are quite surprised to read this review considering that our Team tried to solve all problems and was at our complete disposal. (we have applied also a reduction on your stay) If you want do discuss further the matter I am at your disposal, I will be waiting your e-mail. Best regards Serena Pignataro Sales & Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jumps63 wrote a review Jul 2019
venezia41 contributions14 helpful votes
No enough good words to describe this beautiful hotel with only 13 rooms all facing the sea . The location, the attitude of the staff, the quality of the food, the cleaness of the rooms and during night only slight noise of the sea to accompany your dreams...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DirettoreMelograno, Direttore vendite at La Peschiera
Responded Jul 18, 2019
Dear Jumps63, Grazie for your splendid review, which is really much appreciated. I am glad to know that you enjoyed at the best your apulian experience at La Peschiera. Reviews like yours are something to be proud of. Our location "pieds dans l'eau" is unique one and we work daily to make everything perfect for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon Best Regards, Serena Pignataro Sales & Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Climber825444 wrote a review Jul 2019
6 contributions
+1
Probably one of the best hotel I ever stayed. Only few rooms, all facing the sea with direct access to the water on one side and to the big swimming pool on the other side. Best restaurant of fish specialities direct on the water. Only slight sound of waves during night with breakfast prepared on your terrace upon your awakening. Great staff that provide an excellent service
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Any rooms in front of the sea
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DirettoreMelograno, Direttore vendite at La Peschiera
Responded Jul 18, 2019
Dear Guest, A HUGE THANK YOU from the heart for sharing your lovely feedback, we really much appreciate it. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed every single moment at La Peschiera. It is always a pleasure to satisfy all our guest’s needs and expectation You are correct...the sound of waves is a memorable apulian experience. We all look forward to welcoming you back for another apulian journey. Best regards Serena Pignataro Sales & Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$436 - $911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyPugliaProvince of BariMonopoliCapitolo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LA PESCHIERA - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Capitolo, Italy)

Frequently Asked Questions about La Peschiera
Which popular attractions are close to La Peschiera?
Nearby attractions include Sabbiadoro Beach (0.6 miles), Alborada S.a.s (0.6 miles), and Lido Marina Grande (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at La Peschiera?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at La Peschiera?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at La Peschiera?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Peschiera?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Peschiera?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Dono - Masseria Garrappa, Gran Pavese, and Lido Bambù.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Peschiera?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does La Peschiera have airport transportation?
Yes, La Peschiera offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is La Peschiera located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Capitolo.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Peschiera?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to La Peschiera?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Centro Storico di Monopoli (4.6 miles), Parco Rupestre Lama D'Antico (3.8 miles), and Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi (4.6 miles).