We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wilpena Pound Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wilpena Pound Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 434: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in the Safari Tents on my last trip to Wilpena, and they were awesome. A bit on the pricey side, but they did come complete with everything you get in a hotel room including power and water. And the views of the Pound each afternoon as the sun sets on the side is absolutely stunning. Will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Steve W, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay, its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in our safari tents, and the amazing views that we have of Wilpena Pound. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Cameron Baker General Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing much to mention except that it is getting old and in need of maintenance or renovations. The swimming pool needs a good clean, the ordering for food and drinks in the restaurant is really long, long, long. Breakfast never changes? The bedroom are spacious but servicing the room daily would be appropriated. The term 'resort' is misleading, the surrounding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philclem61
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Philclem61, Thank you for providing feedback of your recent stay, while disappointing to read I do appreciate you making us aware, as only through feedback such as yours can we continue to improve upon our standards and service delivery for guests. I will most definitely share your feedback with our management team, to ensure we meet the expectations of...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Super area to spend time in, small pool was welcome on a very hot day. Motel room was ok, could do with being cleaned every day. On site shop useful. But no wifi anywhere on the site and it seems that this is an ongoing problem which is taking months to resolve.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroway
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Caroway, Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay, its great to hear you enjoyed our amazing location and the views we have available of the area. I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback regarding housekeeping and wifi, which are key areas of focus for the resort at all times and moving forward. We look...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had three lovely days in the Flinders Ranges and chose Wilpena Pound Resort as our base in order to support the indigenous business. Unfortunately it was not up to standard for $310 per night - the Edowie suite was very badly equipped and we had to request plates, glasses, tea towels,tea etc. the bath was very dirty, old deteriorated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Farnorthernexposure
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Farnorthernexposure, Thank you for sending through your feedback, it’s great to hear that you had three lovely enjoyable days in the Flinders ranges area. Please be aware your feedback regarding the equipment and maintenance issues within your room has been noted and actioned, with key emphasis on ensuring these rooms always present with quality and consistency for our guests....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was in the old section of the complex and was showing its age. No excuse for it being dirty though, light did not work in the bathroom and had to carry the standard lamp in there be able to see. Another light was not working either, when I advised a staff member of this he told me they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim H
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jim H, Thank you for your feedback, I do apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, and were not able to deliver the level of customer service that we hope to achieve on a daily basis. Please be aware your feedback has been taken on board, to ensure consistency moving forward with our delivery of...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff are very welcoming, rooms are clean and great food. It would be nice if they had traditional aboriginal meal options but either way the food was very tasty! Pool is surrounded by trees and wildlife made for quite the oasis. They have options to camp or rent safari tents, which looked amazing! if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelspace87
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear travelspace87, Thank you for taking the time to send through your fantastic feedback. It is great to read such positive feedback of your experience, and I will most definitely share the feedback with our team to continue to drive our high standards of customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wilpena Pound Resort in the future....

Australia
Reviewed December 2, 2016

We stayed in the Safari tents and thought they were very good. Booked through Wotif and got a cheaper price than booking directly, although we probably got the worst view of any of the safari tents - #13. Tent was well appointed, with tea and coffee making facilities and fridge. Great bed and good bathroom. It was everything that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hen302
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hen302, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience staying in our amazing safari tents. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that the experience was everything that you were hoping for. Thank you for your feedback also regarding our food offering throughout the resort. I will most definitely pass on your...

Reviewed November 26, 2016

This place was a complete let down. The owners of this place only care about $$$$. So prepare to keep putting your hand in your pocket for something that is not worth it. Firstly for myself, the food was a complete disgrace. Secondly all the hot spots you will need either 4WD or to go on a tour (which is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank littlemissgiggles379
Brisbane
Reviewed November 20, 2016

We stayed in Suite 58 - one of the 'luxury Heysen Suites' with the luxury price of $310 per night. Sadly the name is where the luxury stopped. I wrote a detailed letter to management - they chose not to acknoweldge or respond to the issues I raised so I guess its only fair to warn fellow travellers. Our suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
Munich, Germany
Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

Ok, this is in a national park and you have no other option. But even with this monopoly, I do expect to have at very least a clean room. 233 AUD per night is way to expensive. No WLAN at all. Average food in the restaurant. I would definitely come back because of the wonderful location. But I would as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KlausBaerbel2014
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

195 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (181)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Ranges National Park
8.3 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
373 reviews
27.3 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
14.5 mi away
Arkaba Station
Arkaba Station
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wilpena Pound Resort is the only accommodation in Ikara Flinders Ranges National Park. All rooms are non-smoking. Brachina and Aroona Rooms suit individuals and couples while the Heysen and Edeowie Suites are larger and suitable for families or people needing extra space. Some rooms offer cooking facilities. All rooms are en-suite, have TV, mini fridge, air-conditioning, tea/coffee tray. On site restaurant serving hot meals, bar and bistro. Resort also offers Ikara Safari tents for a great glamping experience as well as powered and unpowered sites for camping. An on site store sells supplies and a visitors center to advise on information about the area and guided walking as well as 4WD tours. Air Wilpena at our private air strip, takes you on air safaris around Flinders ranges and Lake Eyre. RESORT RECEPTION HOURS ARE 7AM TO 6PM DAILY. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wilpena Pound Resort

Address: Wilpena Road | via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park
Price Range: $112 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilpena Pound Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Wilpena Pound Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilpena Pound Hotel
Wilpena Pound Resort Flinders Ranges National Park, Australia - South Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Wilpena Pound Resort staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Wilpena Pound Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try to get the 2 person tents in the middle as they are the quietest”
 of 5 bubbles V1037LCstevew, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Stay in the normal rooms, wouldn't waste $$$ on the glamping.”
 of 5 bubbles littlemissgiggles379, Nov 26, 2016 | Read review
“Would recommend staying in the safari tents. Beautiful to wake up in nature with a little comfort.”
 of 5 bubbles karencM2204WV, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms further away from reception, facing sunrise as by afternoon rooms could be warm with so much glass.”
 of 5 bubbles varib, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
“don't waste money for a tent”
 of 5 bubbles mitchl442, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay