We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bushland Cottages & Lodge

3, Penda Street, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884 Australia
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (8)
Room & Suite (12)
Pool & Beach (4)


#6 of 6 Specialty lodging in Yungaburra
Yungaburra, Atherton Tablelands, North Queensland, Australia - Bushland Cottages and Lodge are situated in 8 acres of forest, bordering Peterson Creek, 100m to the historical village of Yungaburra, and all facilities. Peace, tranquility and privacy. Kingfisher cottage; 1 bedroom up to 4 guests Birdwing cottage 2 bedrooms; up to 6 guests The Lodge 3 bedrooms; up to 10 guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Table tennis
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French
24Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 13
  • 8
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Patty W wrote a review Nov 2020
18 contributions
We live in Nth Qld and booked a last minute getaway after covid lockdown. We stayed in the Kingfisher cottage and for the price were surprised that there wasn't more care taken with the cleanliness of the cottage. The bones are good and this place could be awesome if some care was taken to clean glasses, windows, cobwebs and clothes drawers. It's the small things that make a big difference such as plush bath sheets instead of kiddie sized old thin, stained/bleached towels. 3 ply toilet paper instead of 1 ply. Not supplying the sickly sweet scent of the cheapest hand soap on the market. The main lounge is so soggy to sit in your knees are above your hips making it difficult to get out of. All the furniture is tired. This cottage with the right dressing could be spectacular and cosy instead of looking like a good sized cabin with low quality furnishings. A plush rug instead of an outdoor door mat would be a welcomed addition. Instead of offering a bottle of champagne for your next stay, why not supply it on the first stay? Add a few creature comforts and get some assistance to decorate for a nice homely feel and you guys have a gold mine. But at the moment clients should not have to rewash all the dishes because they've found the glasses dirty and they can't be seen through so not trusting any dish is clean. Good location to town amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Colin and Tina wrote a review Jun 2019
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia59 contributions23 helpful votes
Birdwing Cottage...reasonably priced for what you get. Cosy, well appointed little hideaway, wonderful setting with balcony backing into the forest. Lots of birds and Butterfly's visiting, Platypus in the nearby placid Peterson Creek. The walk along Peterson Creek is an easy short stroll from the cottage, and is a bit of magic. Along with suspension bridge and seating here and there it's an easy walk with lots of information plaques along the way...a credit to the workers who maintain it. Township is a short 5 minute walk with numerous cafes, supermarket. etc, including the classic Yungaburra Hotel. Plus a 5 minute walk to the beautiful Botanical Gardens. Nicely located with only short drives to some of the Tablelands most scenic tourist attractions such as waterfalls, lakes, Rainforest walks etc. If I had to nitpic the only fault I could find would be the parking is a bit awkward to access, especially for a large vehicle...{ and I wish someone would shoot the bugga with the very loud V8 hoon car haha } Thanks for the memories, hope to return someday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Either Birdwing or Kingfisher Cottage equally as nice
See more room tips
Susan H wrote a review Nov 2018
Townsville, Australia52 contributions14 helpful votes
Booked 3 night last minute trip away not much left available bit more than I would of paid per night but that said the Kingfisher cottage had everything I needed peaceful surrounds and close to the hotel were we had tea Saturday night buffet $25 p.p. and whistle stop cafe Sunday morning bacon and eggs $12 p.p.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Bushland2016, Owner at Bushland Cottages & Lodge
Responded Nov 6, 2018
I am sorry if you thought it was too expensive, we try to be in line with other accommodation venues in Yungaburra, hope you enjoyed your meals I have had good reports from guests about the Lake Eacham hotel, regards, Claudine
Read more
polobear99 wrote a review Oct 2018
Redlands, California101 contributions44 helpful votes
I highly recommend this place especially if you have a family. We stayed in "birdwing cottage". The two bedrooms and large bathroom is wonderful and the deck outside provides a gorgeous view while dining. We felt at home for sure. The kitchen is adequate and there is also laundry facilities in the cottage.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Response from Bushland2016, Owner at Bushland Cottages & Lodge
Responded Oct 8, 2018
Thank you for your great review, regards, Claudine
Read more
Helen F wrote a review Jul 2017
Townsville, Australia11 contributions2 helpful votes
Being from NQld, our family of 4 wanted to find some winter weather and escape to a cosy retreat. We always loved the charm of Yungaburra and decided to book a short stay at the Bushland Cottages. We stayed in the Birdwing Cottage. It appealed to us as it was modern rustic, detached, spacious, had two bedrooms, iron clad, timber floors and a fire which is a bit of a novelty for our children. Initially the property presented well, however on unpacking the childrens room, we found the rattan draws (which I intended to store my children clothes in) where quite caked with thick dust on the sides on the outside. I then thought I would try the other set of draws that had the bedroom lamp on it (between the two beds) and found empty twisty and chip packets, an item of childs clothing and a very stale biscuit. Not impressed. The linen was clean, quite lovely and had a warm country feeling. The windows could of done with a clean. On returning from dinner we opened a bottle of wine. On selecting our glasses we found that ALL the glasses required washing and where either dusty or not very well washed. We also found this with the lid of the electric frying pan the next morning. On making a cup of tea and filling the electric kettle, we found the inside base of the kettle to be rusted. On showering that evening, we found mould on the inside of the shower curtain and the towels could of been updated / they where quite old (we have better quality in our garage). The individual soaps provided looked like they had seen better days and we promptly put them in the bin. The bathroom walls and light switches looked like they could all do with a good wipe over. There was also a spiders web (with spider) in the corner above the spa bath. The lamps in the main bedroom (whilst very pretty) could do with a good dust - we found the tops of the bases coated in thick dust and spider webs. As it rained over the period of our booking, we found our outside stored firewood to be quite wet and only just enough fire starters supplied. Overall our stay was quite pleasant and we really enjoyed the fire, the beds and pillows nice and soft, however, given the cost paid per night, we expected much better quality and cleanliness. Not recommended for asthmatics.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Close to a road, but little traffic in the area.
See more room tips
Response from Bushland2016, Owner at Bushland Cottages & Lodge
Responded Jul 5, 2017
I am very sorry to hear that it was so dirty, will tell the cleaners, I am amazed as it is the first time we have had negative comments on cleanliness. Best regards and apologies, Claudine
Read more
$125 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bushland Cottages & Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Bushland Cottages & Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Peterson Creek Walking Track (0.1 miles), Artistree Gallery (0.2 miles), and The Gem Gallery (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bushland Cottages & Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, barbeque facilities, and a clothes dryer.
Which room amenities are available at Bushland Cottages & Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bushland Cottages & Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Bushland Cottages & Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bushland Cottages & Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whistle Stop Cafe, Our Place Restaurant, and Mad Hatterz.
Is Bushland Cottages & Lodge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Yungaburra.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bushland Cottages & Lodge?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Bushland Cottages & Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bushland Cottages & Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.