We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cedar Park Rainforest Resort

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Gold level
Unplug and relax - Escape the crowds and enjoy a retreat to the rainforest. Cedar Park is isolated but not far. We are a place to step back from the push of technology. Rooms and public areas have no television. You will not see or hear it here. Instead you listen to the sounds of nature, from bird life during the day to frogs, cicadas and curlews in the evening. Each large suite has a private verandah overlooking wilderness. All suites feature a new air conditioning and heating system. Free high speed internet througout. Breakfast is included in the room rates.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Business Center with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Cairns Airport10 mi
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
91Reviews
109Photos
1Q+A
14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 59
  • 22
  • 2
  • 0
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
With the world so full of homogeneous resorts and accommodation, Cedar Park was certainly very refreshing in more ways than one. Our room was very large and clean, and "one-of-a-kind" with most things handmade and some quirky touches. Knowing that the food is mostly grown onsite
Read more
Response from Peter D, Owner at Cedar Park Rainforest Resort
Responded Apr 5, 2018
Thank you, we look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Quiet, restful accommodations. The bird and wildlife viewing from the restaurant deck will bring you hours of viewing enjoyment. This stay is within an easy drive to many sites and hikes. The breakfast is well stocked with many choices. The atmosphere is laidback and friendly.
Read more
We had planned a much needed family getaway as we hadn’t spent much time together over Christmas as the kids’ Dad was away. After our initial greeting ‘are ya right?’ when trying to find someone to check in with, we were pretty keen on heading down to the creek to swim. We got
Read more
Response from Peter D, Owner at Cedar Park Rainforest Resort
Responded Jan 2, 2018
You had one year to use your certificate and waited until the day before it expired. Seemed you were here under duress. You said stressful personal issues had prevented you using it before now. I offered to give you a reprieve until later but you declined. We gave you free late check out as you asked. If you had put a fraction of the energy you have put into writing this review into communicating with us while you were here the whole problem could have been averted. Had you done so I would have removed my 2 year old and 6 year old from your presence. But I cannot read your mind and your kids seemed to be having fun with ours, so I left it. My mistake I guess. Now I read your words, cutting at me and my children just for being friendly and am saddened. Many people enjoy seeing our children, others don’t. Both are fine. But I am not a mind reader. If you can only be venomous after the fact and not let us know while you are here that something is not right, then you will never have a good stay anyplace. If you had said to the kids, “time to go, be on your way”, they would have left you. Had you said to me, “we want some private family time” you would have received it. Not that hard and your kids were enjoying ours so I assumed all was well. Your words about the breakfast are simply untrue. You cooked free range eggs for breakfast, we saw this. Did you not see the local yogurt, fruit salad from our orchard, mangos, watermelon, pawpaw? Four kinds of bread, honey from our bees. There was salami, ham, three kinds of cheeses. Three kinds of juice. Fresh mango smoothly. Fresh coffee, assorted teas, milo. It was a busy morning and things were getting restocked if something was momentarily used up. I mentioned the wine and chocolates when I checked you in. But you disappeared and locked yourself in your suite. I was not sure which of the five wines you wanted to choose. When your husband came out and asked for it he was given it by me. You were not short changed. Sorry about the gas issue. We turn it off at the cylinder. We turned it on before you used it and a valve may have been left on partially. We will watch this more carefully in the future, thank you for letting us know. I’m sorry for your issues but everyone is different. We do our best and I think your one star rating is the same as I’d give you as a guest. Poor communication skills, negative about everything, needs to spend some time in a war zone to appreciate what she has. Sends her husband to do everything and he sayes all is well when asked. Then stabs us in the back when it’s over.
Read more
Beautiful retreat run by a friendly and welcoming family. Access to river within grounds for bathing and platypus spotting,great welcome and friendly atmosphere.
large rooms and comfortable.nice home cooked food.
Read more
Response from Peter D, Owner at Cedar Park Rainforest Resort
Responded Nov 8, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your time at Cedar Park. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
Read more
Keep following the bumpy road and you will come across a wild heaven. We only stayed one night due to time restraints, but I wished it had been a week. I was in heaven. I walked in a forest, tiptoed across streams, and appreciated the wildness of the location. The accommodati
Read more
Response from Peter D, Owner at Cedar Park Rainforest Resort
Responded Nov 8, 2017
Thank you for visiting and enjoying it so much. This is what we work for. Hope to see you again for a longer stay!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerDining Room & Suite
Photo provided by managementCedar Park Rainforest Resort
King bed romantic room
Patio
Patio looking towards veranda
Previous
Do u have a massage therapist there... And if the answer no .would you like one . Possibly buying home in kuranda . Currently owner n manager of day spa in port douglas love n light Cathy williams
Hi Cathy, come visit us when you get settled in here and we can talk about it. Thank you for asking.
0 votes
"The quad room is wonderfully roomy for a family, but has a couple of skylights, so no daytime napping."
"If you want quiet, choose away from banquet area."
"All rooms are perfect"
"King size bed"
"We had room 4 which was close to everything"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$152 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cedar park rainforest hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandKuranda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing