We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lees Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lees Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed there for one night .this morel was very clean an comforty. This motel was where slim dusty wrote pub with no beer. The room was very small but cosy. Would stay there again. We were in a twin room . Bathroom was clean also.

Helpful?
Thank Joanne A
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed our night at such an iconic hotel. Meals here included a range of $12-14 offers so enjoyed a nice steak which was not bad for the price. Many local families were here for a Saturday night out and it did not strike me as a dingy pub at all. Very pleasant night had here

Helpful?
Thank TravellerPete82
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2016 via mobile

Traveling for work our accommodation is booked by others so you never know what to expect. The mixed reviews on Lees didn't help much either. We were met by Vanessa at reception who swapped us from single to double bed rooms, which we thought was a great start. The room itself was quite compact, but for just myself it worked... More 

Helpful?
Thank STIXO
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

It was a great place to stay. The lady at reception was so nice and understanding. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and roomy. Loved that we had a balcony room too. Would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Moana1115
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015 via mobile

After we finally got checked in after a stupid amount of time waiting for the person behind the bar to finish making a coffee and come to see us, we went up stairs to the "room". Extremely small with a wire racking system on the wall next to the bed which held the blankets. You had to bend over the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debra B

Travelers are raving about these Ingham hotels

Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 via mobile

This is the kind of accommodation that should be banned from tourism association of Australia. I just dropped the bag in the room and went out to take a light adaptor from the car when I realized that I was locked out. No reception after 10 pM, no door bell and a phone number diverting to a message center. I... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SIDDYGM
Helen P, Manager at Lees Hotel, responded to this review

Every guest is requested at check-in to make sure that they keep the keys with them so that they don't get locked out after hours. In every single room there is a sign on the inside of the door reminding you to please take your keys with you. This notice is A4 size so that guests don't miss it. You... More 

Cairns, Queensland, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

I was excited to visit the legendary pub with no beer recently. It was very quiet as it was Monday lunch time. I ordered a Pure Blonde & yes I was brought a pure blonde but it was a mid strength not the normal pure blonde premium I am served everywhere else. I did complain & they replaced the beer.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimberley D
Helen P, Manager at Lees Hotel, responded to this review

we are sorry you were not happy with your wedges, if you had mentioned this to the server they would have immediately replaced them for you at no cost, and would probably have given you a discount as well. In regard to the cost of $15.33, that sounds like $8 for the wedges and $7 for the sparkling wine poured... More 

Toowoomba Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for two nights. This property offers something special to the traveller who has any passing interest in Slim Dusty...."The Pub With No Beer" is a must see for any fan. The Hotel itself is certainly unpretentious....simple foyer and public areas but well maintained and simply decorated. The room we were allocated contained... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toowoombatourist
Helen P, Manager at Lees Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind and considered response, it is always good to get reviews from seasoned experienced travellers and we always welcome these comments . More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We were touring the area while staying in Townsville. Lees Hotel is an iconic hotel, restaurant and bar. We stopped for a beer and a bite to eat. The service was excellent and everyone was keen to make us welcome. The proprietor is very sociable and eager to share both his establishment and all that this area offers. The fish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steveandchristine
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Rooms very small, didn't like the fact that you needed a key to access foyer first to get to rooms. Average decor. Music downstairs and next door very loud. Staff we're very nice. Prices did agree with service provided

Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
Helen P, Manager at Lees Hotel, responded to this review

If you, or any other guest is not happy with the room size – we have seven different types of rooms – you only have to mention it to the management, or any of the staff, and provided we have the availability, we will always try and move you to a room that you do like. You just have to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingham
0.4 mi away
Tropixx Motel & Restaurant
22.7 mi away
Orpheus Island Resort
Orpheus Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Orpheus Island
5.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Herbert Valley Motel
Herbert Valley Motel
#2 of 3 in Ingham
3.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Veron Bed and Breakfast
13.9 mi away
Hinchinbrook Marine Cove Resort
0.3 mi away
Noorla Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Food & drink at the hotel
Lees Hotel
Lees Hotel
Cuisines: Australian
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free Wi-Fi and a warm welcome awaits you with clean comfortable budget accommodation. Lunch and dinner 6 1/2days, packed lunch available Lavazza coffee, bar service everyday. Pillow top beds, air con, tiled art Deco style ensuite, lockup and secure car parking available-please book. In 2014 the hotel received the Australian Good Food Guide Readers Award for accommodation in the greater Townsville area. Not because it is a five-star high-rise, which it isn't, it received the award for the memorabilia, the artwork, the history and the warm welcome from the staff. 2012 North Queensland Tourism Awards , Lees received the Finalist Award for "Unique Accommodation",something to be proud of when you consider the number of motels in North Queensland. The Motel accommodation Is built over the site of the "Day Dawn Hotel' made famous by Slim Dusty .The entire Motel has been extensively refurbished throughout 2011/2012. Some interesting guests and visitors over the years include the Governor of Queensland in 2007. The American Ambassador, complete with bodyguards, made a special trip in 2010 and has featured on Channel 7's Sunrise as well as Channel 10's travel magazine program.Within the recently refurbished Motel we have 20 ensuite motel rooms. All of our beds are Sealy ensembles for absolute comfort with pillow top mattresses and colour-coded finishes . Rooms are fully carpeted with tea and coffee making facilities and the air conditioning systems that run in almost complete silence.Facilities include a restaurant with seating for over 120 people (just great for family or business functions), a Beer garden/Garden bar with a lawn area for the children to play, Cafe bistro with a la carte and alfresco dining . The Motel and Restaurant house the largest permanent arts exhibition of the natural wonders of the Hinchinbrook Shire as well as an extensive display of memorabilia covering the sugarcane industry and local history dating back to 1883.The Lounge area has comfortable individual lounge seating, air conditioning, full carpeting and wide screen TV. Location: The Hotel is in an excellent location in the middle of the CBD, directly across from Hinchinbrook Shire Council Hall, just 60m to Coles supermarket as well as the Post Office.Style: a substantial building with large verandahs and open-air decks, although there has been accommodation on this site since 1875, the current upgrade has withstood the test of time over the last 50 years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lees Hotel

Address: 58 Lannercost Street, Ingham, Queensland 4850, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Ingham
Price Range: $71 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay